PDA

View Full Version : 435 edgetracker or hornet ?????

NIZ
18-01-2005, 10:30 AM
I posted this in another thread and didn't get any replies so I thought I'd start a new one.

I have been tossing it up between the 435 hornet trophy aswell as the edgetracker tournament and am still unsure which would suit me best.

I will be fishing the estuaries 9 times out of 10 but would still like to venture out in moreton bay on a calm day. As I'm reletively new to boats would any of you guys be able to help me choose which one would suit best?

Also what are the benfits of having a side console? I originally was going for a tiller 60hp on the stessl and 50hp on the hornet but am thinking of reconsidering to a side console. Do people find that the console gets in the way? or do the benefits out way the cons?

thx for your help guys as I'm new to all this boat stuff so bear with me.

Jethro
18-01-2005, 10:47 AM
G'day Niz

I can't comment on either of these boats as I have not had a great deal to do with them. I looked briefly at a 435 Hornet but managed to talk the missus into a few extra $$$ and I ended up with an Elegant Boat. All's I can suggest is have a ride in both if possible and make your decision from there.

As for the side console question. If you are looking at doing any sort of long hauls in the boat the side console is worth its weight in gold. You do loose a bit of fishing space but you will appreciate it when you are doing an hour run to one of your fishing spots.

Hope this helps

beatle
18-01-2005, 02:46 PM
I have a Blue Fin 4.50 side console and find it to be an excellent boat for estuary/river fishing and would be o.k. on close inshore work on a dead flat day. You must remember a side consol would involve the purchase of a much more expensive motor setup than tiller control as the s/c is a remote control involving cables power/tilt/trim etc. but if money is no prblem try the s/c.-Beatle

RobSee
18-01-2005, 03:29 PM