View Full Version : Tony's tinnie-4 the Baker

agnes_jack
04-05-2006, 10:00 AM
Dave here are those tinnie shots for ya
This started out as a Quintrex 4.2 m dory.
Ripped the front seat out, built casting deck. added electric bow mount, lighting console radio, sounder gps, nav lights, pedestal seat mounts etc. etc
Heres some photo,s with brief explanations, hope you get some ideas from it!!!!

agnes_jack
04-05-2006, 10:15 AM
The first shot shows the Esky.
Velcro tabs on the bottom corners keeps it from sliding around. Cutting board is screwed onto lid. I have removed the hinges from it and replaced them with rubber loops so it can be opened from either side and the lid can be removed to wash bait board.

agnes_jack
04-05-2006, 10:18 AM
Grip tape on the guards to stop slipping when leaning in ;)

agnes_jack
04-05-2006, 10:22 AM
Side of console holds tools, pliers, ruler scissors etc

agnes_jack
04-05-2006, 10:30 AM
Glove box with drink holders, lip grips strapped to seat for easy access, enviro net and barra net fit under rear seat. Lighting kept low, lights up inside of tinny not the water!

agnes_jack
04-05-2006, 10:35 AM
Bow mount Minn Kota...Footpedal controls

agnes_jack
04-05-2006, 10:37 AM
Removable anchor light, clips on to side of seat when not in use.

agnes_jack
04-05-2006, 10:48 AM
Velcro holders and plastic clips hold paddles, gaff ,radio aerial,and lure retrieval.

agnes_jack
04-05-2006, 10:52 AM
Front seat can be placed down low for travelling or on top of the casting deck while fishing

agnes_jack
04-05-2006, 10:56 AM
Removable live bait tank, straps to front of casting deck, inlet hose run under floor. Easily disconnects from overflo and inlet pipe

agnes_jack
04-05-2006, 10:58 AM
Front seat converted into console, fitted into side of boat, rod holders on front

agnes_jack
04-05-2006, 11:02 AM
Front panel showing circuit breaker for electric motor, cig lighter plug and spotlight plug

agnes_jack
04-05-2006, 11:05 AM
Shows foot cotrol, seat in upper position, oodles of storage under floor of casting deck, recessed lighting, drink holders and battery one for electric

Az
04-05-2006, 11:14 AM
very well setup tony, any pics of the whole boat?

agnes_jack
04-05-2006, 11:15 AM
Rear battery box with isolator switch, this battery runs all lighting, live bait pump, underfloor bilge pump, spotlight etc.
Valve for live bait inlet

agnes_jack
04-05-2006, 11:18 AM
Front casting position

agnes_jack
04-05-2006, 11:22 AM
Console showing #Sounder, gps, compass, vhf radio. Under the console houses spare battery for electric, this battery also runs electronics.
Note the room left for the stereo (yet to come) :P

agnes_jack
04-05-2006, 11:27 AM
Rear view

agnes_jack
04-05-2006, 11:30 AM
Lastly the live bait pump with scoop. Scoop runs when motoring, turn pump on when at anchor. Can hold 80 or more live mullet for hours!!! (will have wire shroud fitted for "bump " protection.

So there ya go Dave!! all ya need is to get the checkbook off Michelle and your in buisness!!

For further enquiries call Tony at "PIMP MY TINNIE" ;D LOL

Az
04-05-2006, 11:32 AM
thats gotta fly with that 40 on the back, do you find it stable enough by yourself? two would distribute the weight out nicely

Gbanger
04-05-2006, 11:34 AM
gun boat, might need a 200litre transom mounted kill tank in a boat like that...

2iar
04-05-2006, 11:46 AM
Excellent work Tony - almost too good to put n the water!

Good luck,

agnes_jack
04-05-2006, 11:49 AM
AZ
She goes like the clappers mate!!! :o
Before the fitout it had a bit of a "its gunna take off" sort of feel, but with the added weight of the casting deck etc, it sits beautifully.

Top speed in calm water was near 34knts :o ;D LOL

Regards Tony

Big_Kev
04-05-2006, 01:05 PM
Awsome set up.
Are you still at Agnes water Tony?

04-05-2006, 01:30 PM
Great tinny setup mate. Where'd you get the console from? What about a set of trim tabs;)

agnes_jack
04-05-2006, 04:52 PM
The console is the front seat that used to be in it!!!

G'day Reel hard!!
Yeah mate still at Agnes....Shops off the market!! :D

Just good enough mate!!
It's ideal for me, a good compromise! Small enough to get up the estuarys and manouvre around the sticks at Awoonga, and I can still get around the headland and chase Macks, Tuna etc as well as hit some of the closer reef marks!! Perfect

Regards, Tony

04-05-2006, 05:32 PM
Tony that is one awesome tinny! You've done a FANTASTIC job on that!

And good to hear the shops off the market! ;)

04-05-2006, 06:13 PM
Tony just a question if I may. I have a Stessco 4.2 catcher, very similar to the boat you have modified, and I'm thinking of removing both thwarts, but am a bit concerned that by doing so I might weaken the boat. Given that I generally use her inshore, and have to cross a bar, albeit strictly on favourable days only, do you think my concerns are justified? I would be looking to add some sort of side decks and also a screen/ wave breaker of some sort, which would perhaps make up for the thwarts? Would value your opinion.
Regards Nigel.

Custaro
04-05-2006, 07:50 PM
Very nice set up Tony. I noticed you have the transducer on the left hand side of the motor, where the general rule of thumb is for it to be on the right. I have been told that this isn't so true and can get better performance from the left. Have you noticed it making a difference?

Good to hear you are staying with the shop. I will be back in October...for 2 weeks this time :)

Az
04-05-2006, 09:54 PM
AZ
She goes like the clappers mate!!! :o
Before the fitout it had a bit of a "its gunna take off" sort of feel, but with the added weight of the casting deck etc, it sits beautifully.

Top speed in calm water was near 34knts :o ;D #LOL

Regards Tony

;D ;D damn mate that is quick
but can you dodge all the shifting banks at 1770 at 34knts :P

DaveSue_Fishos_Two
04-05-2006, 10:36 PM
Hey Tony that setup looks great! Do you drive from the port side??

04-05-2006, 11:32 PM
i love to see your set up if ya had an open cheque book!!! ;D, good work you've givin' me some more ideas's. i can hear my missus cringing now!!

agnes_jack
05-05-2006, 03:22 PM
G'day Lippa
Yeah mate, budget is the only restriction. A bloke could go wild with unlimited budget!!!

Dave yeah mate I have always been more comfortable on the port side!!

AZ
Mate, I can do the creek with me eyes shut at that speed :o :o :o

Custaro
The sounder will show near perfect at flat bikkies, it's great to be able to search for new ground at speed. The sounder type helps too X107cdf ;)

Regards, Tony

the_baker
05-05-2006, 07:32 PM
Yeah thanks for the pics Tony now I know why I have the ATM cards, Mastercard and we don't have a cheque book. Dave can look at your's and dream. One day but you know the saying "Don't say one day that day will never come" ha ha.... :P :P

Anyway good for him to get some ideas from. Hope all is going well with you all up there. 8-) 8-)
Looks like we have our holidays approved and we'll catch up with everyone at the October M & G!!

Great photos Tony!!
Michelle & Dave

agnes_jack
10-05-2006, 05:23 PM
Bumped for Tim Flyin!! :D