PDA

View Full Version : Tranducer spaying motor

troy
10-05-2006, 05:19 PM
I have a problem that the transducer is spraying water up the motor nearly to the top of the cowling.
Been in the touch with the dealer and i was told to undo the 4 bracket screws and lift the transducer up .
Problem i see is that looking at the screws it would probably give me not even a 5ml rise.
Would this be enough to correct the problem.
The dealership has offered to fix it but i do not really want to tow the boat 110 klms one way and then have to go back up and pick it up.
I have never came across this before but it is a very large spray.
Thanks.
Troy

agnes_jack
10-05-2006, 05:28 PM
G'day Troy
Mate I am no expert, but I would be thinking it needs to go down rather than up!!
If its copping that much rough water that it sprays, I dont like your chances of getting a good pic at any pace.

Regards, Tony :-?

Smithy
10-05-2006, 05:43 PM
You can buy little spray deflectors for them. Have a look at one in a shop or something and you might be able to manufacture one yourself that will suit your situation.

Burley_Boy
10-05-2006, 08:18 PM
Yeah thats the way, do what Smithy says.

Get your transducer to track as well as it can but remove the spray with a small deflector plate over the transducer, common problem.

TonyM
10-05-2006, 09:17 PM
I have the same problem. It's the first time I've got a larger transducer and had put it down to that.

Thanks for the tip re the deflector guys, will try it out.

troy
11-05-2006, 05:49 AM
Smithy where do you buy these deflectors and is there much in fitting them.
Thanks.
Troy

finga64
11-05-2006, 09:34 AM
Gidday Troy,
Can you post a picture of the setup??
I have the same problem on the tinny and it's a great idea about the deflector. My problem is I have to have it down low to get into 'clean' water as the bottom of the tinny has copped a few knocks over the years.
Off down to the shed again to make something else :).
Cheers

Jono_SS
11-05-2006, 11:02 AM