View Full Version : Boat Storage : Shed or Carport??

steve_n
16-05-2006, 05:49 AM
I have to start thinking about a new place to store my boat out of the weather and am not sure if a lock up shed or an open carport would be best. :-/
Has anyone any thoughts they could share.
What ever I get will need to be around 3.5m clearance so that the boat can go straight in without having to remove overhead rod holders etc. ;) ;)
I like the extra security of a shed but prices are really high and I wonder If the high temperatures in there during the summer might do some damage to the fibreglass or some other parts. I dont know how hot it would get but I would reckon inside a tin shed in Brisbane in the middle of summer it would be bloody hot!
A carport would give a bit less shelter but cost a lot less but wouldn't have the same security. Maybe the trailer could be bolted or chained down.
Any thoughts or suggestions?? :) :)

#

Meat
16-05-2006, 07:14 AM
Hi Steve

I would always go for the shed option for security and to keep the boat out of the weather properly. I've got my boat in the garage and the car in the carport (got a very understanding mrs).

A mate of mine kept his in a carport and always removed any item he thought was easily stolen. He came home one day to find the outboard missing!

I'm pretty sure I've seen cheap DIY shed kits advertised in the Sunday Mail TV guide for less than the price I was quoted for some carports.

Not sure about how hot it gets in a tin shed or how that affects fibreglass, but I'm sure someone on these forums will know. I have seen a tin shed with insulation bats held to the ceiling with chicken wire if you can put up with the look and the dust...

Meat

timddo
16-05-2006, 08:26 AM
steve, get for a carport , but fully enclose it with screens or lattice, They will keep the cool air circulating your boat,
plus a double carport is only say $1000 to buy anyway.

16-05-2006, 08:42 AM
Ive got mine under a carport behind locked 6 foot gates with a cover over it, works fine and the boat stays clean. Having said that if i had a lock-up garage that the boat would fit in then that would be where it would go.

Cheers and beers

backhoe
16-05-2006, 08:59 AM
Go for the lock up shed. Makes early morning trips a lot more pleasant when you ocan have everything in the boat the night before and then just wake up in the morning, hook the boat up and go, getting an extra half hours sleep as a bonus

Az
16-05-2006, 09:48 AM
yeh if money allows I think the shed would defiantely be most desirable, if your worried about heat you could look at a few vents to keep air moving

Tinn
16-05-2006, 10:05 AM
Hey why don't you go the whole way and put it in your lounge room that way it will be safe and you will always be close to your boat or you could even have a snooze in it sometimes or watch tv from it ;D ;D ;D ;D

I think just go the carport with a boat cover over your boat and a trailer lock.
Make sure you have a good insurance policy and your set ;D ;D.

Tinn
16-05-2006, 10:08 AM
Forgot to tell you that a shed ain't going to stop someone from stealing your boat if they want your boat they will get your boat doesn't matter what you do. :(

16-05-2006, 12:03 PM
you're dead right there tinn, "out of sight out of mind" is good for a shed but at the end of the day if they know it's there and want it they'll have a go. i use a carport for mine (only cos i don't have a shed for it) but i reckon that the bit of extra air circulating through dries it all out quicker, this could be all in my mind though 8-)

Tinn
16-05-2006, 12:35 PM
Nah if its in a shed the fish smell stays in the shed but under the car port the boat gets aired more and your boat won't smell much 8-)

bonka
16-05-2006, 03:13 PM
I Use a shed as a work space without insulation. In the summer I wouldn't go near it for boat storage, Bloody H.O.T! Screened carport the best way to go I reckon, plenty of air circulation. To steel my boat they would need a helicopter, A real work of art getting in and out my right angle, uphill driveway!

Theft is a worry in some areas, I reckon it's best to keep your expensive tackle inside if possible, esky and stuff packed up ready for quick departure in the moring...before the misses wakes up and wants to make you breaky and a cuppa tea...Ah!

Meat
16-05-2006, 04:54 PM
Watch out for insurance traps, too. The fine print on my policy says that the boat can't be visible from the road and that it's chained to a tie down point in the concrete. Wasn't something I talked to them about when I got the policy, either.

Meat

litenup
16-05-2006, 07:18 PM
Why not look at droping the rod holder etc, if that saves a considerableamount of money. I find it only takes a few minutes. The rod holders are bolted so turned bolts into pins and down it all comes. Now can put 19 ft HH in shed with only 2.3m headroom.

steve_n
17-05-2006, 06:10 AM
Thanks for the input. :)
You blokes have just about talked me into putting up a carport. I have done some price comparisons and it lloks like a flat roof carport 3.5m high will be MUCH cheaper than the same size shed.
The money I save can be used to help me afford fuel. :) :)
Cheers Steve

cooky
17-05-2006, 11:00 AM
Watch out for insurance traps, too. The fine print on my policy says that the boat can't be visible from the road and that it's chained to a tie down point in the concrete. Wasn't something I talked to them about when I got the policy, either.

jeezus - which co. is that with. Haven't checked the fineprint of my policy as yet and I can't get my boat out of site - sits in the driveway in front of house - can't close gates behind it either. Small yard. I jack the tow hitch way up using a highlift jack and then use a hitch lock. My wife is home 80% of the time and we park her car in front, however I have had things stolen out of the boat (fibreglass esky, tackle box).
If it gets any harder I'm selling the boat - motorbike looks like a easier to live with toy.

Meat
17-05-2006, 05:02 PM
Cooky, it's with RACQ. I might be able to pay more and have that taken out, but didn't know at the time I got the policy. Since my boat's behind the garage door, I haven't bothered to check, but it's still a bit scary.

Generally though, as an insurance company, I've been told they pay up pretty quick if something does happen and you can prove that you actually had the item - so if you bought your boat second hand, make sure you have a receipt. A few photos with you and the boat and all its bits wouldn't hurt, either.

Shame you can't trust people not to nick your hard-earned stuff.