View Full Version : Any Seafarer Victory owners out there?

Jack_Montana
13-05-2006, 11:18 PM
After months of research i have decided to buy a new Victory as i love the fishing platform which suits my fishing needs the most with 2 live bait wells as opposed to Haines Hunter Classic which has one well + Transom door,as does the Cruisecraft and the Signature has one well and a battery well to Starboard.I do like the other 3 rigs but a transom door is only useful for about 5 minutes of the fishing day,hopping in and out of the boat and the battery well on the Signature is a big waste of space,those bait wells are gold on a fishing boat and they stick a battery in there!!!

I would really like to hear from any Victory owners and the experience they have had with the Victory,good or bad.

The other concern i have is i want to tow it behind the VY Commodore which has a tow limit of 2100kg.The Seafarer guy said the Victory would come in at around 2180kg,just BMT.The hull is 1,050kg and the 200hp donk is 200kg,so that brings it to 1250kg,where is the other 930kg? Surely the trailer accounts for less than 930kg?

I'm sure the VY would pull it with no problems but would this void insurance in an accident?

Biff
13-05-2006, 11:47 PM
Don't forget fual tackal and everything else you put into a boat when you go fishing. Nice boat anyhow I sure you wont here anything to bad that will change your mind.

Biff

fishingrod
14-05-2006, 12:58 AM
The other concern i have is i want to tow it behind the VY Commodore which has a tow limit of 2100kg.The Seafarer guy said the Victory would come in at around 2180kg,just BMT.The hull is 1,050kg and the 200hp donk is 200kg,so that brings it to 1250kg,where is the other 930kg? Surely the trailer accounts for less than 930kg?

I'm sure the VY would pull it with no problems but would this void insurance in an accident?

Mate ..... check everything VERY CAREFULLY or it will end up costly for you.

A reasonable 6m dual axle trailer (with o-ride cable brakes) is about 500-550kg'ish. Factor in fuel at just under 1kg per litre. Im not sure on the exact figure, but 200L would be about 160kg id estimate. Add dual batteries, a couple of anchors etc etc

Regardless of what car you have, if you go over 2000kg most states require the trailer to have electric "break away" brakes (that automatically apply to stop the trailer if it becomes detached from the car) I think a 6m trailer with these kind of brakes is $7-10K ?

Say you fork out all this money and then get the boat weighed in "full trim" and you get 2200kg what do you do then? You would have to change cars to stay legal and insured.

You could get the dealer to put in the contract that the total weight of the rig (with a full tank of fuel, all safety gear and accessories as listed) will not exceed (say) 1950kg. That allows you to bit of lee-way for personal items.

If you are about to take delivery, get it weighted and if its too heavy the deal is off.

ALSO
make sure you check the other figures in your Commodores owners manual. Some cars list a GCM which cannot be exceeded. The gross combination mass is the weight if the car, its accessories, fuel, passanges and luggage + the load behind it.

I hope i dont confuse you here ..... but ill try my best to explain.

As a approximate example only take a blue oval V8 ute. It has a tow capacity of 2300kg. The max GCM is 3800kg.
3800-2300 = 1500kg remaining for the mass of the ute.
hmm hang on. The V8 version of the ute has a basic keb mass of 1600kg coz it has a big motor
so that takes the towing capacity to 2200kg
hmmmmmm the ute also has a steel tray with ladder racks that weighs 250kg
towing capacity now 1950kg
add the weight of 2 passangers @ 75kg each
towing capacity is now 1800kg

If you look closely at the figues the only blue oval ute that can tow 2300kg is the bog basic 6 cylinder without a tray on the back . The 6 weights about 1450kg without a tray. So by the time the driver gets in the weight is 1500kg

Can someone verify if im on the right track here and if GCMs apply to sedans?

my 10 cents
i hope it helps

Rod

rough_shag
14-05-2006, 08:06 AM
Hows it goin Jack Montana,I spoke to a few people with the Victory when deciding on which Seafarer to buy recently and they all raved about how good the boat is in all ways.With regard to your towing capacity dilemma,I reckon you aren't gunna be towing the Victory legally with your Commodore especially considering the 160ltr+ fuel tank on the Seafarer.
I bought the Seafarer Viking MK2 which is definitely not the same as a Victory in size etc but she comes in at 1290kg inc trailer,which your car would handle no worries-just a thought.I would be inclined to trade up your Commodore to a medium 4x4 like the Toyota Prado or even a 100 series cruiser for peace of mind and those slippery ramps.I recently saw a glass boat dragging a commodore backwards into the water at a boat ramp,the car had brakes fully locked but it didn't make any difference!!.
Hull weight is 1050kg on the Victory so you could have a look at motor choice for weight saving-go to an e-tec over a 4stroke?.Whatever you decide I can assure you that Seafarers are a great rig and handle all sea conditions well. Good luck with it. Jace.

Jack_Montana
14-05-2006, 09:44 PM
Thanks Biff,Rod & Jace,your feedback is much appreciated,i know the trailer question was a tough one and not many would know the answer.

One way around the trailer problem is to have it dry stacked at Gold Coast City Marina for $50 per week and i'd save $5,000 on the trailer.The Mrs. thinks thats the way to go but it'd be dearer in the long run.

I'm deciding between the Yamaha 200HP Saltwater 2 stroke and the 200HP HPDI VMAX.The Mrs reckons the VMAX is the way to go because of the newer technology as opposed to the old carby donk.

Thanks again.

fishingrod
14-05-2006, 10:33 PM
Hi Jack
Its good to see your being sensible.

Our rescue sharkcat has twin 175hp SaltWater 2 stroke carbys. They are a nice motor and running on Yamlalube have very little smoke. Like any motor they chew the fuel if pushed. It could be a good choice to keep the weight down.

Maybe a aluminium trailer might help to? They are expensive but it could be cheaper than changing cars. Personally i feel the Victory would be a bit big to tow comfortably with a commodore (unless it was the Cross6 4x4 wagon style) but thats your call. Just keep it legal.

Im off on hols and heading up to the s/cove boat show .... so this will be my last post for a while,
Rod

Az
15-05-2006, 09:33 AM
personally i wouldn't be getting a 2stroke on a big rig like that unless it was an etec, or the HPDI VMAX might be the way to go if thats what you have your heart set on yammies

Jack_Montana
15-05-2006, 03:35 PM
Hi Az,

I definately won't be going 4 Stroke,they're just not my bag and with the way the 2 strokes are going now with the VMAX,ETEC & Optimax,there's no reason to.In the past 12 months 4 stroke sales have increased 10% as opposed to 2 strokes which have increased 33%,the market is going back to 2 strokes for out of the hole power and the fuel economy advantage that the 4 stroke hold is quickly diminishing.If 2 stroke direct injection technology keeps improving at this rapid rate,4 strokes could be a thing of the past,there simply will be no advantage left.At the moment,Direct Injection 2 strokes are cheaper to buy & service and easily meet CARB requirements.

Etec's,well i'm not convinced and would i pay $5,000 more for a 200hp Etec than a 200hp VMAX,absolutely not!!! Today i was quoted $22,500 for a 200hp Etec and $17,100 for a 200hp VMAX.Is no service costs for 3 years for the Etec worth an extra $5,000?

I've just read a 200hp shootout between the Optimax v VMAX v Etec and Optimax and VMAX are neck and neck with Etec 3rd in every test except for the emission test.

So today we decided on the 200hp VMAX and we'll run a Solas prop,which i will talk to the guys at the boat show about on Saturday.

So it's the Victory hull with the 200hp VMAX,now just sorting out the trailer is left.

The only thing that i'm not happy with Seafarer about is the Hull warranty.They offer a 1 year warranty on the hull which will increase to 5 years if you buy their Tinka Seafarer trailer.Now my preference in Trailer is Mackay but if i choose Mackay,the Victory only comes with a 1 year warranty.THIS IS ABSOLUTELY LUDICROUS!!!!!

Haines Hunter & Signature (and Cruisecraft i think) now offer a 7 year hull warranty REGARDLESS of which trailer you use.

Could the hull warranty be the dealbreaker??

Decisions,Decisions.

troy
16-05-2006, 05:54 AM
Jack if Seafarer wants your money you should be able to twist there arm on warranty and the trailer.
I agree with you it is really unbelieveable..
Troy

16-05-2006, 07:13 AM
If 2 stroke direct injection technology keeps improving at this rapid rate,4 strokes could be a thing of the past,there simply will be no advantage left

There are of course the vibration and smell factors to consider. As a troller I would always go the way of a 4 stroke. If you didn't troll it would appear new high tech 2 strokes are the way to go unless you got seasick from the fumes or something. I don't think 4 strokes will ever die out as long as trolling is around.

Az
16-05-2006, 11:08 AM
Jack_Montana:
I wasn't saying not get a 2stroke, i was saying i wouldn't get the salwater series 2 stroke if it was me

The etec is no slouch, there is only marginal differences in the test results which I have also seen but you are right for the price difference I probably would get the vmax aswell

rough_shag
16-05-2006, 03:09 PM
Just a sideline regards the Seafarer trailer, I was told that the reason they require the specialist Tinka trailer is that the hull shape/weight is very specific and has unique pressure points on it which the Tinka is custom designed to support correctly.I guess knowing that the hull is properly supported is important for the longevity of the boat and therefore Seafarer can be certain the hull won't be slung onto an incorrect trailer which wouldn't give the required support where needed.
I'm not sure but would there really be much difference in price between the various brands anyway?.I'd stick with the guys who know their boat design and be assured you've got the correct support under the hull.I know there are plenty of people out there who might sell you an incorrect trailer because they don't understand the special needs of the hull design on the Seafarer. Cheers! Jace.

just_cruisin
16-05-2006, 04:20 PM
Exactly my thoughts too Jace.
My brother is a boat builder/repairer and has explained to me many a time the importance of trailer support and the never ending story of rollers cracking hulls.

Jack_Montana
16-05-2006, 05:20 PM
Jace,

Thanks for that.I rang Mackay today and their trailer costs around 5k and the Seafarer Tinka costa 7.5k.The reason i want the Mackay is i've had one before and they are a brilliant trailer and maybe the Tinka is just as good but you go with experience over the unknown.

I've ruled out towing it behind the Commodore mainly because it would come in around 2200kg and void insurance.
For the cost of the Tinka at 7.5k,i can dry store it for 3 years at Gold Coast City Marina,so thats what i'll probably do.No more waiting to launch and retrieve at boat ramps & Ramprage >:( Just a phone call and it's in the drink when i arrive.

Seafarer will also give me the 5 year hull warranty if i dry store it.

fishenchippy
16-05-2006, 06:37 PM
Jack,
I have recently purchased a very new 2nd hand victory with only 29hrs and have found them to be a great offshore boat. The boat was optioned to the hill which I'm very happy with. It came with an upgrade of a 200 litre fuel tank and 60 litre fresh water tank. I would recommed this capacity if you are intending to do alot of miles . The donk is a 175 e-tec and is preforming well, but I feel there may be a oil issue in the way it seems to use a bit (maybe)?. I intend to follow this up with a mechanic soon.(regarding two oil settings). I would look at the Suzuki 175 4 stroke.seems it maybe the right one ,but I am not unhappy with the e-tec :). It rides great in relation to the conditions as all boats do! Smithy has seen the boat at the recent Brisbane Sportfishing Comp(and yes Smithy I have looked into trim tabs and will purchase in the future)All in all I am very happy with the boat but still have alot to learn about it and how it can perform.

P.S. "Smithy the offer is open if you wish to join me for a session of Snapper fishing with soft plastics." Let me know.

Jack_Montana
16-05-2006, 08:28 PM
Hi Fishenchippy,

I've decided to go with the 200hp VMAX and it is ony $900 more than the 175hp VMAX and i think it will be money well spent for an extra 25 horses.

The standard Fuel tank is 145lt,so i'll go with the 200lt as i'll be fishing a fair way off shore and you can never have too much fuel.

I had a look through the Seafarer factory a few weeks back and i saw the whole process from the moulds to the finished product and the amount of fibreglass in each hull is astounding,that's why they are the heaviest in their class,built tough for any condition.

There is a 3 month wait but i don't really mind as it's being built to my specs,for example the bow setup has to be altered during construction if you want a windlass and the bigger fuel tank.

Will post pics in a few months.

Ocean_Spirit
16-05-2006, 10:31 PM
Jack,

Well worth the wait. The Victory has a top sure riding hull under it and a good practical all round size to do everything in.

I can vouch for the E-TEC engines, they do live up to their reputation in my books from my own experience.

But I would stick to the Seafarer trailer - they glide on and off them - and you get the backing when it comes to the manufacturer side of things - also better for resale.

Beautiful boats and the best finished around.

onerabbit
17-05-2006, 12:56 AM
Go the seafarers,

I'm sure Roz would agree,

Mine is nearly 30yrs old, but still a top rig,

Mine is a Vermont.

rough_shag
17-05-2006, 09:47 AM
Hey Jack Montana,
just a thought about you putting the Victory into storage-what about when it comes time to sell her? it's a helluva lot harder to sell one without a trailer mate.One way or the other you'll end up paying for a trailer even if it means deducting the cost from your sale price so the buyer can buy one-just a thought mate and I'm jealous of your one phonecall setup but I have never really found boatramps to be an issue as long as you avoid the hols and even if it is busy I just have patience and relax til there's an opening, hell sometimes the 'show' is well worth the wait anyway! ;D,
Good luck with your Seafarer,if it rides as well as mine you'll be stoked for sure. Jace.

Jack_Montana
17-05-2006, 10:38 AM
Jace,

Yeah i have thought about that,but i'll deal with it when and if i decide to sell.I intend to sell it around the 5 year mark when the warranty expires and buy new again.

Looking at it from a buyers point of view,if i was looking to buy a second hand boat and found one that has been dry stored since new,i'd probably buy it.

What model Seafarer do you have and where do you use it?

rough_shag
18-05-2006, 05:10 PM
Mate I have a 1997 model Viking MK2 5.5mtr cuddy cabin with a Johnson 115hp 2stroke motor(230hrs).I wanted a rig to use in Moreton bay and weather permitting further afield to offshore areas like the Barwon banks and Cape Moreton etc etc.I have found her to be quite capable of handling some rougher seas and she can motor along on the plane in some fairly serious chop without feeling "loose" and of course on those perfect days with calm seas she is just beautiful and very economical too.
The thing about this boat is that it never feels unsafe even in the rough stuff,I suppose if you had to sum her up in one word it would be 'surefooted'.I found the actual fishing deck area to be the biggest of any 5.5mtr boat I saw in 3yrs looking and the nice high sides are great to lean your legs against whilst fishing in rough conditions.One guy on here said he thought they had a tendency to spear into waves but his boat must of had a different motor/set up to mine because mine has never done this.The Viking is a great size/compromise because it is practical as far as weight/towing goes , is easy to manouvre in my yard , gives great fuel economy and yet has great ocean going ability and gives plenty of fishing space too.
As much as I'd love to own a Victory I really just can't justify all the extra hassle and expense etc etc associated with the larger rig/motor which wouldn't fit under my carport anyway.Having said that it seems to me that the Viking is really just a smaller version of the Victory anyway but it just happens to suit my needs at the moment.
As I said before I know you are gunna love the Seafarer and yes it will be worth the wait.Cheers!Jace.