View Full Version : Tohatsu O/b
7dan7
17-05-2006, 08:32 AM
hi my name is dan would like some feedback on Tohatsu O/b thinking of purchasing a m40c standard 2 stroke 40hp. they have a good price and 3yr warranty . is there any reason why you would not buy one
billfisher
17-05-2006, 11:35 AM
They are excellent motors. Very reliable basic motors with a proven well sorted out design. They have heaps of useable power and reasonable fuel economy.
bushbeachboy
17-05-2006, 12:28 PM
Dan,
I've got an M40D (i think) in the guise of a Merc 40 Lightning. It is a 3 cyl jobbie. Runs well and has plenty of power for the tinny. Very reliable, starts first or second pull every time. Runs very economically at mid revs. It would be a pain to do much trolling with, but for general bait fishing where you mainly just drive between spots etc it's great.
Cheers mate
gogecko
17-05-2006, 12:59 PM
Im happy with mine. They are very reliable.
17-05-2006, 03:10 PM
Hiya Dan.
Got a Tojo 30, very reliable!
Simple, strong and economical.
Would definitely buy Tohatsu again no worries.
Another good thing, recommended 2 stroke oil is Valvoline TCW3, always well priced at Big W!
wayne_cook
17-05-2006, 03:25 PM
i've had a 25 then a elec. start 40. the 25 was great the 40 didn't like slow stuff both were reliable and trouble free.
fishn-ads
17-05-2006, 03:48 PM
7dan7,
Got my m40c 3 weeks ago and I'm stoked, your right the price and warranty is enough. 10 hour service, one at 6 months and then once a year. They're 40hp 2 cylinder 500 cc that weighs only 59kg (cowels the size of 25s in other makes wait till you take it off there's nothing in there 50% air), starts so easy half pull and it's away. choke don't know why they bother used it once.
Is a little thristy when WOT although I think my prop. is cavitating. Also still running 25-1 should improve at 50-1. They probably have the carb. running rich also during running in at least they use to can't see why they would change?
I've got it on a 4.2 Stessco around 450kg (boat, motor and load) Standard prop. think it's 11/11 " does 25 knots (GPS) 3/4 trottle before it cavs.(thinking about another prop for light weight missions but thats just me).
As you have probably found out they have been around since 1922 and build all the small 2 strokes for Brunswick(Mercury/Mainer). They also are the choice of the Japanese fishing fleet big call when you think of the manufactures those guys have to choose from.
Only thing I would say is if you are a little older(to put it nicely) or lacking in strength when your talking 40> hp tiller you want to be able to hold on.
"So go for it" [smiley=2thumbsup.gif] I had my reservations but am now wondering why I worried at all.
Don't no where you are but PM if you want anymore info what i payed etc.
Ads
7dan7
18-05-2006, 10:31 AM
thanks guys
joey_1987
18-05-2006, 10:37 AM
I got one too, painted black though with a Mariner cowling and disguised as a 30hp Mariner. Runs great, starts very easily, a little bit rough on idle but gets up and goes no worries. Because mine is on the back of a 3.95m tinny, I rarely need to use all the power and fuel economy is excellent because I don't need to rev to WOT to get good cruising speed. Not yet got a GPS so can't publish speed figures, but people I have had in the boat are unsuspecting of a small tinny being a rocket, and when I floor it they all of a sudden hold on. They are good motors. My local hire boat business uses and abuses them, and they still seem to work, so if they can't kill them, I am not sure who can. Cheers, Joey.
unhappyseajaybuyer
18-05-2006, 09:21 PM
its almost tax time wich 4 me will mean an upgrade from 95 yama 25 cv is the tohatsu 25 just a detuned 3o with a restricter plate and if so is it easy to take the restricer of and would it effect your warranty putting it on a 3.95
joey_1987
18-05-2006, 09:34 PM
I have the 30hp Mariner, which is a repainted Tohatsu 30hp, yes a 25hp without the restrictor plate. Mine is on the back of a 3.95m Stacer open tinnie, but it is rated to 30hp. I guess if the motor says 25hp, you can just say in the case of an insurance issue that the motor is 25hp to your knowledge, which is what it would say on the ID plate and the cowling. Best to investigate into it properly though, I don't want to be responsible for anything bad happening. Joey.