PDA

View Full Version : Changing bearings on trailer

firefish
19-05-2006, 08:29 AM
Giday all,
I am after some advice on changing the bearings on my tinnies trailer. I have just had a cod fishing trip postponed due to a broken bearing. :'( As I have limited mechanical knowledge I was wondering how hard is it to change them to new ones myself????? :-?The wheel is flopping around on the axel and just looking at it, it doesn't seem a huge job to fix it. Just thought if I do it myself I can learn for next time. Any davice would be great.
Schulzy
[smiley=fireman.gif]

JEWIENEWIE
19-05-2006, 10:41 AM
My advice, get someone who knows what they are doing to do it while you watch and learn. It is a simple job but one you dont want to stuff up and time will tell!!
Jewie

Argle
19-05-2006, 10:45 AM
Do a search through the Boating section, its been covered heaps of times in there. There are links to web sites that give blow by blow descriptions and pics.
Give it a go its really easy to do and you will save a few bucks as well. :)

Cheers and beers
Scott

Sea-Dog
19-05-2006, 12:04 PM
This is the way that I have done bearings in the past. I am not a mechanic. I know there are better ways to do it with presses etc. I have just worked with what I've had. I accept no responsibility for the way that anyone may care to use this information.

You will need:
*Screwdriver to remove the cap
*Shifter to remove bearing nut
*Socket extension bar to remove old bearing cups and seals
*Hammer for same
*3 lengths of timber (4" X 2") - 2 to rest hub on and 1 to seat new bearing cup and seal with.
*New inner bearing and seal, New outer bearing.
*New Split pin
*High temp bearing grease.
*Plenty of paper towel
*Fine wet&dry sandpaper

Method:

*Chock opposite wheel(s) of vehicle
*Loosen wheel nuts
*Jack up vehicle and support on axle stands
*Remove wheel
*Use hammer and screwdriver to loosen and remove grease cap from hub
*Use pliers to remove old split-pin - discard