View Full Version : Im coming to the GoldCoast and Brisbane to buy

fishingrod
12-05-2006, 09:42 PM
Well im not coming up strictly too buy ..... #but if i see the right rig im towing it back to Sydney with me :) Im going to Scantuary Cove show and want to look around all the local dealers. So far ive just got a list of names from the TrailerBoat Magazine.

Can you local guys suggest some boat yards? ........ particually if they dont advertise in TrailerBoat. Im up for 5 days and hanging around between the Tweed border and Brisbane City. Is it worth heading up a bit further to Redcliff / Noosa / Bribie / Caloundra areas?

Please LETS NOT TURN THIS INTO A SLAG POST, im just looking for the names (and street address if u have it) for some yards.

Rod

PS Im looking for a offshore fishing and part time family boat, twin or mono hull, 5 - 5.7m to tow with commodore, prefer fibreglass, centre console, cuddy or runabout with late model engine and good trailer. Ideally max $25K and im really looking for a reconised brand name. A Yalta 189 would be nice :)

I have been considering a new Haines 520 for a bit more $.... which i would prob buy locally in Sydney unless QLD is a lot cheaper.

cheers again

12-05-2006, 09:53 PM
Fishingrod. Try a search for "tweedcoastmarine". You should be able to check their used boats online. Located on the Main street of South Tweed.

12-05-2006, 09:56 PM
all i could suggest is www.boatpoint.com.au and also www.tradingpost.com.au This should give u an idea of whats available where.
john crawford marine is also on the net. He's on manly road, tingalpa. Always has a good range o 2nd hand craft.

Ocean_Spirit
13-05-2006, 11:57 AM
Yeah I too would amplify Blackends thoughts - www.boatpoint.com.au - most dealers publish their current inventory on this site.

Further, ring around the boat yards, leave your details and that way, if they wanto sell you a boat, and if something comes in that fits your criteria, you know early on.

Some other Brisbane Boat Yards:

John Crawford Marine (Second-Hand Specialists)
Queensland Power Boat Centre
Leisure Marine
Springwood Marine
Sundown Marine
Northside Marine

These are all fairly large set-ups who carry a large amount of inventory.

stinkers
13-05-2006, 01:14 PM
Gday,

I just purchased a boat from Queensland Powerboats at Loganholme. I did the rounds of all the yards in Brisbane, and easily got the best service there. Although I was pretty happy with the product I bought, the quality of service really made me feel at ease with the purchase decision.

I found at a lot of the other yards that the salesman were unbelieveably arrogant and basically know it alls. The guys At Queensland Powerboats could answer most of my questions but when they didn't know they were happy to tell me so and not just full me with Bullsh1t.

You'll certainly do worse than seeing them!!

Ocean_Spirit
13-05-2006, 01:51 PM
Stinkers,

Not only arrogant but "too cool".

I would like to see how many of them own a boat and further, can drive one too. Needless to say, there are some good people involved with boats, but its the idiots that drag them down.

thedeckie
13-05-2006, 02:38 PM
What about Fisher Boats at Bribie ?????
Dont know what you would get for 25K,but Col is certainly turning out some head turning rigs.

My two bobs worth!!

snappa
13-05-2006, 07:30 PM
:o

$25 k

good luck ...

this haines is for sale
but

way off your mark .....

fishingrod
14-05-2006, 01:19 AM
Thanks guys.

Ive got a good idea where most of those places are THANK GOD FOR THE GREGORIES !

Im not sure if im going on the Northside of Brisbane yet though. A good suggestion by ocean-spirt ;) ..... to ring ahead and ask what they got.

I dont know how practicle its going to be buying a boat in such a short space of time ..... assuming i even find one i like #;D ........ i guess if the dealer (or private seller) wants the sale they gotta be able to test drive and get it ready for me pronto.

+ i wanna get a spare wheel and have the trailer bearings and brakes serviced b4 the long tow home.

There was a mobile mechanic recommended on here a few weeks ago .... ill have a look for that post and take his number with me.

Keep the info coming.
Last trip i did i went to Wynnum Marine and then drove south down the coast to Victoria Point...... i didnt see much in the way of trailer boat yards south of Wynnum ?

Rod

14-05-2006, 07:16 AM
Just be prepared to WALK AWAY if it's not 100% exactly what you want... If you buy it on a "It'll be ok", you will regret it...

rough_shag
14-05-2006, 07:42 AM
Hows it goin mate,sounds like you aren't really giving yourself a fair go at getting the right rig.I reckon you gotta have plenty of patience when looking for a GOOD used rig and by the sounds of it you just don't have the time needed to do everything up here and that could lead you to make a rash decision which you would regret.
Having said that, Wynnum Marine have quite a good inventory of boats at the moment and will give you great service as always and they can move fast if you need them to.Qld powerboats just off the highway service rd at Loganholme are also carrying a lot of stock and give good service.You have mentioned a couple of dealers who I wouldn't touch with a barge pole but as you say it's not a slag off session so I guess you'll have to take your chances eh.
Also $25k won't get you a good rig in the size you mentioned judging by my recent experience,I think if you added $5k to the pot you might be closer.I found that for the sake of an extra $5k the difference in quality was massive.Anyway good luck with it all and don't write off buying a new boat at Sanctuary Cove either sometimes they have bargain deals there.
Cheers! Jace. PS:this is what I got at Wynnum Marine for $29990k about 6mths ago-Seafarer Viking 5.5mtr-Johnno 115 just to give you an idea.

14-05-2006, 12:57 PM
the only real yards along the coast from wynnum to victoria point would be of course wynnum marine, john crawford at tingalpa, then bayside motorama, leisure and mrt's at capalaba. Nu marine at cleveland would be next and that would be about it until you hit victoria point. This is about a 35 minute drive straight through.

fishingrod
14-05-2006, 11:10 PM
Thanks Fishin-Dan, Rough-Shag and Blackened.

I was last up there "half seriously" looking at rigs in November last year ......... i would have purchased if anything caught my eye. But it didnt.

Then the donk on my last boat died in December and have since sold it. Ive been looking very seriously since then. I still havent found the right rig!

This will be my 7th boat in 25 years ......... so a crappy dealer doesnt worry me........ as long as I AM happy with what im getting. Yes, i agree that a lot of sales people talk garbage. I reckon i know a lot more than them in most cases ::)

I certainly wont make a rash decison ...... #Im very fussy. I can always make a second trip if i find something i like, but it adds to the cost.

You've got a nice rig there Roug-Shag. Have you ever weighed it ? I can only tow 1600kg with my manual Commodore Ute. I reckon it would be 1400-1500kg lightly loaded ?

Vikings are very rare in Sydney. I looked at a similar rig here about 2 months ago. It was all 97/98 model with the same 115hp. It was on the original single axle trailer (that was only in very avg condition) and the motor had about 600hrs. It was one owner, but a well used fishing rig with a few battle scars and it needed a bit of a tidy up. Asking price was $22K. I figured after spending a bit on the tidy up and trailer it was going to work out fairly costly.

Ive found a Trailcraft 5.3m Centre Console with a 90hp 2 stroke close to my price range. Im worried it might be a fraction underpowered but im going to have a look at it.

Im leaving tomorrow morning (Monday) and may not be able to get online to check here again..... unless im at a internet cafe.

Thanks for all your help ... cya when i get back
Rod

rough_shag
16-05-2006, 03:16 PM
Hey Rod,my rig weighs in at 1290kg with trailer and fuel.Hope you have a good trip to the boat show and maybe crack onto a ripper fishin rig as well mate.Bythe way my boat motor had 229hrs on the motor and you could eat your dinner off of any part of the boat including the trailer!! as I say they are out there you just gotta find 'em and be prepared to stretch the budget for the right rig-you get what you pay for.Safe travels mate.Cheers! Jace.

fishingrod
22-05-2006, 11:37 PM
Gday Jace
Thanks for the weights on your rig. I saw a both a 5.5 Ventura and 5.5 Vouge c/console up there ...... but im still not sure if i want to hand over 30g's for a 8 year old rig. But geeez i'd have some fun in the vouge .... espec with 150hp :o

Anyway im back now ................. after visiting about 36 boat yards Im still boat less.

C*nningh*ms had a very nice Cruise Craft 533 cuddy .... but it had a soft transom (that they openly admitted to me)

J*hn Craw*ord had a lateish model Clark 5.7m centre cab that was a nice rig .... but i really dont want alloy.

Re upping my price range ...... my original range was 15-20 .... ive already upped it to 25 .... grrr grrrr i dont wanna go much higher !

I think it would have all been a bit of a rush even if i found something ...... you QLD'ers need a road worthy on the trailer before sale ? that meant bucklys of getting a deal closed within a few days.

Thanks too all the Ausfishers ..... i wouldnt have found some of the dealers without your help.

I reckon the bargain of the show was a demo Cruise Craft Explorer 500 with 115hp Opti with covers, radio, Furuno sounder etc for $36. Thats pretty good in my opinion.

Off topic:
i did 2368kms for 200.1L of BP Ultimate. Thats 8.45L/100km ....... i love my commodore #:-*

thanks again too all who helped out
Rod

rough_shag
23-05-2006, 10:21 AM
Hey Rod, I saw a nice Reef Runner 6.0mtr with Yamaha saltwater 150 at the show for $33k brand new, and thought that was a sensational rig for the dollars.Good luck mate.Cheers! Jace.

fishingrod
23-05-2006, 04:19 PM
Hey Rod, I saw a nice Reef Runner 6.0mtr with Yamaha saltwater 150 at the show for $33k brand new, and thought that was a sensational rig for the dollars.Good luck mate.Cheers! Jace.

Its a bit too big for me ..... but what brand was that ?
(was it a cox craft)

There is certainly some good deals at most shows if your ready to buy then and there.

Seahorse
23-05-2006, 05:38 PM
who makes reef runner. thats real good deal

rough_shag
30-05-2006, 09:06 PM
Yeah boys it is Coxcraft and yes that was a great deal - great rig - classic case of a genuine show deal there, might of even given the Seafarer a run for her money.......NAAAARRR!!.Cheers! Jace.

rough_shag
30-05-2006, 09:10 PM
Should say though it was a walk thru design and not a half cab or cuddy etc, but with a decent bimini top and great side storage in the walkthru.It seemed like a really excellent design for fishing as it was easy to stroll up the front with no climbing or bending.Nice rig.Jace.

fishingrod
30-05-2006, 10:11 PM
Yep i did see them (over near the Bose audio building)

I noticed one of the good sized rigs was a fair bit cheaper than most of the others in their stand .... mayb that was the one we both saw

There was no seafarers on display anywhere !!! (at the show)

Vxleather
31-05-2006, 09:01 PM
Hi guy's

the reef runner is 5.4 m fishing rig if you check out the CoxCraft web site you will get the specks.
The big boat at the back is what we call a Pantera it is one of the best value for money 6.4m (water line) boats availabe.

As for giving a seafarer a run for it's money well everyone to there own on that one.

If your in sydney talk to the guys at Huett Marine at cowan as CoxCraft are having a 2 month demonstrator sale starting when trailer boat mag comes out on the 7th of this month.

P.S I have all this info because i work at CoxCraft. ;)

Have a read http://www.fishnet.com.au/forums/viewtopic.php?t=53381&f=8

rough_shag
02-06-2006, 10:36 AM
Vx leather, mate the one I saw definitely said 6.0mtr on the info tag on the boat as both my girlfriend and I commented on it.Seafarer are known for building very tough,rugged designs using an interlocking underfloor design,painting all surfaces-seen and unseen and using more glass (which gives a heavier hull weight(hence special trailers etc in other posts).They also use the best available fittings with virtually no plastic bits on their boats.The finish on a seafarer is very high quality and sturdy unlike a lot of designs out there where you can see/feel where shortcuts have been made with thin/weak areas that flex under weight and cheap plastic fittings which won't last.
If I see cheapness on the surface of a boat I have to wonder what it's gunna be like in areas which can't be seen.If I get caught in a rough sea and need to get back to the ramp safely it gives me great peace of mind knowing that the guys at Seafarer have built their boats rock solid and not cut corners to save a few measly bucks.Having said that I would probably feel just as safe with a Cruisecraft or Haines under me as they also seem to be well built.
As you say each to their own-one of these days I will take a Coxcraft out for a bash and see what they're made of!.Seafarer didn't have any rigs at the Sanctuary Cove show because of a stuff up with show organisers not giving them a big/good enough area to display.Jace.

Alex9797
02-06-2006, 11:04 AM
Hey Roughshag,

they must be taking the micky mate. The Coxcrafts are a nice boat but are definatley only 5.5 mts tops. They are similar in size to a Southwind 565/ sr17. Three models share the same hull, a bowrider, a cuddy and the reefrunner.

The bowrider is the most expensive due to the quality of the fitout (nearly $ 10 000 difference). One of the good things about them is that all models of this hull will fit easily into a standard gararge.

happy hunting

Alex

rough_shag
02-06-2006, 12:08 PM
Hey Alex,yeah mate I'm starting to get the impression that either they had the wrong info on the tag or else me and the missus looked at so many rigs we have suffered a fishing rig overload!!.The cuddy's and walkthrough(bowrider?) always appeal to me as they have a lot more actual usable fishing area.Half cabs waste a lot of deck area which isn't really used much of the time on most fishing trips unless doing an overnighter but having said that you can always bung down a swag on the deck of a cuddy if you wanna snooze anyway.Cheers! Jace.

Vxleather
04-06-2006, 04:36 PM
Hi Jace, thanks for the run down on the seafarer they are a nice rig no two ways about it. As for looking at 2 many boats hence getting lengths mixed up at a show is very common. How many boats do you think you lloked at over the time period you where at the show? Anyway if there was a typo on the form at the show i appologise as we have a 5.4 m range and a 6.4 m range (7m over all length)

Go for run in one of the coxys there a good thing.

Shane

04-06-2006, 07:37 PM
Check out this one. Still for sale. http://www.ausfish.com.au/cgi-ausfish/yabb2/YaBB.cgi?num=1133866087;start=all

marlinqld
05-06-2006, 06:03 AM
hey rough shag, I also bought my Ally craft from Wynnum Marine at Xmas 2005.

Highly recommend them, i was looked after by Jason. Spent $20K on the girl, and havent regretted a minute, great outfit goes great.