View Full Version : Your 2 cents on new outboard choice ?
Stevo25
16-06-2006, 03:06 PM
G'Day Fellas,
I am wanting to power my 4.1 polycraft, mainly a bream and bass fisho so probably get out once a week.
Now i am a yammy man through and through, love their outboards and they have never let me down.
I want to stick with 2 strokes as i love the torque and power curve.
We are talking 50hp 2 strokes here, the etec 50 is around $1700 more than the 50hp Yamaha oil injected electric everything.
The 50 Yammy is 88kg, where as the Etec is 109kg dry weight.
I know the etec will be better on fuel but i would be lucky to use a 25L tank per weekend
What would you guys choose and why?
Stevo
darrmun
16-06-2006, 03:12 PM
stick with the yammy
16-06-2006, 03:12 PM
For what you are saying you are going to do get the yammy.
You will drop your fuel bills by about a third with the Etec but is it really worth it??
BTW I own a Etec so as you can see I am being honest.
Most people will say mines this and that and mines great.
Your choice in the end and who will service your engine in the end and the closeness of them to you.
Dont be fooled by the 3 year no service with the Etec. I still do mine every year as far as changing the gearbox oil, checking impellor etc.
Steven
joey_1987
16-06-2006, 05:34 PM
I would suggest to look at the Tohatsu TLDI 50hp too, similar fuel useage to the e-tec but should be cheaper. Though the advantagrs of a 50hp carby 2 stroke are there too, cheap to maintain, simple and reliable. Here's some info on the TLDI 50hp http://boatpoint.ninemsn.com.au/portal/alias__boatpointau/tabID__200859/ArticleID__119562/DesktopDefault.aspx
Cheers, Joey.
Kopey
16-06-2006, 06:47 PM
Just use the KISS (Keep It Simple Stupid) theory an stick with the yammie. They're a tough, reliable, simple engine (years of proven technology) and when you're talkin' fuel consumption in this category it's definitely not worth worrying about. (If you're not using it so frequently).
You'd only consider something else if you were considering quiet trolling or no pollution if you wanted to fish in a dam where say they had pollution resrictions or if money was no option in which case I'd probably go the Yammie 4 stroke or Suzi 4 stroke or the Honda 4 stroke which also have the proven technology we've seen for years.
Cheers Kopey #;)
Seahorse
16-06-2006, 07:09 PM
in the 50,60hp range, and using it out in the bay, pin etc, would it better to go 4stroke over a 2 stroke
RJ5023
16-06-2006, 07:31 PM
You win - you lose.
I replaced my 50 2st Johnson with a 50 Etec for all the known reasons. Figured I'd be a big winner with fuel consumption. And I am - it uses less than half what the Johno did.
But the best laid plans etc etc - I've got a 95 ltr underfloor tank that can run flat out for about 10 hours with the Etec, so now the tank is rarely ever full since my average trip is only about 2-3 hours running. Didn't think of that #::)
Now I get to worry about stale fuel and/or condensation at this time of year when I don't get out as much #:-/
If you don't troll much - get the Yammy.
Simpler to keep running than these new fangled computer everything jobs.
I wouldn't like to try and change the lower spark plug in the Etec out at sea - or anywhere else for that matter. Damn thing is buried!
If it the Etec stops - I get towed (or swim).
That's progress #:o
2c #:)
RJ
Some reasons?
Well seeing I don’t have to give a balanced report lets talk about a few select facts:
The Yamaha power is actually 33.81 kw
The 50 E-TEC is actually 34.51 kw
The Yamaha weighs 88kg
The E-Tec 109kg
( The 50 hp Honda weighs 93kg - so much for 4 strokes being heavier!)
In a year or so of running ( 100hrs) the E-Tec will put 46 kg of pollution into the water and the air ( Hydrocarbons and Nitrous Oxide) The Honda slightly less.
In the same time the Yamaha 2 stroke will put a massive 565 kg of pollution into my air and water.
So how will you compensate for the extra 520 kg of pollution? I find that a tough question to answer.
( not picking on you mate - but when you do the numbers that the public never sees – its pretty dramatic isn’t it?)
BTW this is all certified numbers from the USA EPA database and I did the number crunching on an Australian Government panel on outboard emissions.
Thanks for letting me be biased!
Gary
Some more sums
The ETEC is $1700 more?
So you say you use 25 litres a weekend. At $1.40 a litre (probably more because its fuel plus oil you burn) and 50 weekends that’s $1,750.
But the ETEC (and 4 strokes) use about half the fuel. So you save $875 a year in fuel.
Or another way to think about it - in just 2 years you cover the extra cost of the E-TEC. In the 3rd year you are ahead.
And the Etec has a 3 year warrantee - that’s worth something as well ( Honda just announced a 5 year non declining warrantee)
What’s Yamaha’s? A warrantee is worth $ too, so put that in your sums.
Gary
Ron173
21-06-2006, 09:29 AM
RJ5023,
Interesting to note you have a 95ltr underfloor tank, and are concerned about condensation issues.
I have a 95ltr tank too, and yes you will experience condensation at this time of year, however my dealer fitted as standard a cartridge type water seperator.
If your dealer hasnt done this I'd suggest to do immediately, the cartridge looks just like an oil filter, and needs changed once a year.
Ron
RJ5023
21-06-2006, 04:32 PM
RJ5023,
Interesting to note you have a 95ltr underfloor tank, and are concerned about condensation issues.
I have a 95ltr tank too, and yes you will experience condensation at this time of year, however my dealer fitted as standard a cartridge type water seperator.
If your dealer hasnt done this I'd suggest to do immediately, the cartridge looks just like an oil filter, and needs changed once a year.
Ron
Thanks for that Ron. It will be done.
RJ
Ron173
21-06-2006, 07:59 PM
RJ5023,
no worries mate, you can get real good uns that you can drain and see water collection in, but they cost a bit, but for peace of mind you really need at least a basic one in there, water in your engine will be lots more exy, i assure you.
Not meaning to alarm you, just noticed by your post that you may not be using one.
Ron
RJ5023
22-06-2006, 09:15 AM
Ron,
Thanks for the PM. I can't reply the same way - not enough posts :-/
RJ