View Full Version : Fuel economy

foggy
17-06-2006, 10:45 AM
Just wondering what fuel ecomony you guys are getting and with what engine/boat configuration. the reason i ask is that I went fun about a 45km run yesterday in flat conditions and used about 40litres of fuel. Boat is V17L with 1993 120hp Johnson. Does that fuel economy sound reasonable?

reef_king
17-06-2006, 02:00 PM
If i do 100nm i'll use 200-230l of fuel, when fully loaded with twin 140suzzi's pushing a 7m cat.

Go get yourself a four stroke and cut ya bill in half.

madman1
17-06-2006, 03:00 PM
buy an Etec and in flat conditions you can do 150 kms on under 40 litres of juice!!! (a 90Hp pushing a 525 Stacer Cuddy.

longtail
17-06-2006, 08:01 PM
i have a 4.8 allycraft with 2st 75merc , currently getting around 2kms per lt

gropeher
17-06-2006, 08:57 PM
Unfortunately, I wont be too much help either, I have 4 stroke yamaha, 100hp on a cruise craft 500, generally about 100km for 45-50 $ and most trips I do 125 km for 60 litres of fuel.
Most times with that economy though, I have to deal with offshore swell conditions, which 99% of the times are not the most freindly.

Generally very swelly out there as you probably know, I corss the south passage bar, and most of the time I am dealing with constant rolling swells and quite big at times too I might add.

I spose your getting the right amount for a 2 stroke though, about double the 4 stroke, thats the general rule.

Cheers Ryan..

Ron173
17-06-2006, 09:37 PM
480 Freedom Sport, 90 ETEC, frugal as.

Actually uses less than my 40hp Merc did on a 4.2mtr

Was expecting it to use more, but stoked with the fuel bill, its not an issue, ie not a big expense when we go out.

Ron

scuttlebutt
17-06-2006, 11:09 PM
525 Stacer C/C with four-stroke Mariner 90 - Average 2.3km per litre.

buy an Etec and in flat conditions you can do 150 kms on under 40 litres of juice!!! (a 90Hp pushing a 525 Stacer Cuddy.
Madman, those are pretty awesome figures - that's almost 4km per litre. Is that from an actual measurement or just an estimation? I've never even come close to that with my four-stroke

steve

18-06-2006, 08:21 AM
You blokes make me jealous as all get out!!!

150efi Black Anchor on 6mt Platey...550 litres for 20 hours of running recently at Fraser.. That's ummm....yeah well you can work it out but its nowhere near what you blokes are talking about!

f200 4 stroke here we come!!!

craigie
19-06-2006, 02:49 PM
5.4m Cyclone side console with 115 Merc optimax (2004 model, direct injection 2 stroke).
Did an offshore run a few weeks back with a full load onboard. 120+ k's for 69 litres.
Estuary and Bay running avg is 2.3k's to the litre doing 22 - 24 knots.

Craigie.

Brejen
19-06-2006, 03:16 PM
Foggy Ive also got a V17L, but with a suzuki 115 - 2stroke, only done 10hr since new.

Average trip to the banks, approx 120K's round trip, i use approx 70ltrs.

I usually get around the 1.7km/ltr Atm. Hopfully it'll get bit better when it loosens up some.

I know some others on here with the same boats and the same donks as your one; and they are getting better figures than what u are saying for yours. Their's are around the 1.5k's/ltr, from your figure you seem to be only getting 1.1km/ltr...

I used to get those sorta figures with the 175, used to run in the lower rev count as it was to much motor/boat ratio, in turn using more fuel.

What sorta revs are u running at to get that figure. WOT ??

IMO it doesnt sound right to me, little bit on the heavy side. But only my opion....

23-sharkcat
19-06-2006, 05:03 PM
Reef King...What sort of cat do you have and is it a 2 or 4 stoke engines?

wayneoro
19-06-2006, 05:07 PM
hell i must have real probs my 70 hp merc force uses 70ltrs on a 36nm trip plus running back up to mark to drift fish my fault i,m 62 first motor that wasnt a johno

hussy
19-06-2006, 06:27 PM
CHRYSLERS WERE NEVER ANY GOOD ON FUEL CONSUMPTION ,THANK GOD MERC AREN,T MAKING THEM AS OF 2000. HUSSY

hussy
19-06-2006, 06:29 PM
[quote author=hussy link=1150505111/0#12 date=1150705670]CHRYSLERS WERE NEVER #ANY GOOD ON FUEL CONSUMPTION ,THANK GOD MERC AREN,T MAKING THEM AS OF 2000. GOT ME BEAT WHY THEY BOUGHT THEM OUT IN THE FIRST PLACE

skippa
19-06-2006, 07:00 PM
Geeeezuz Wayne,

hell i must have real probs my 70 hp merc force uses 70ltrs on a 36nm trip plus running back up to mark to drift fish # #my fault i,m 62 first motor that wasnt a johno # #

I already told ya, drop that bloody thing overboard and pick yaself up a decent motor ...
Yammie perhaps. #::) #;)

Tony # 8-)

Dignity
19-06-2006, 07:37 PM
1km = 1litre. 1991 model 150hp merc on an Allison Vision 195. Doesn't seem to make too much difference whether it is offshore or inshore. The prop is a High Five which really punches her out of the hole but not too good top end speed. I have already made arrangements through my mechanic to test some other props for fuel efficiency and better performance.

sam

Darryl
19-06-2006, 07:39 PM
I have a 175 v6 the size of a kelvinator fridge hanging off my transom that has absolutely no respect for my wallet(Im with Rhy's) ;D

In a rough sea it will use 1 L/K , and trimmed up on a good day will cruise at 70 kph and use around 1.5 L/K and that's sitting on about 4000 rpm.

Boats a 18.7 Caribbean half cab so it's a pretty weighty old girl.

Darryl.

19-06-2006, 07:54 PM
Hi Graham,

Probably not a huge difference between mine and yours (remember the Mustang with the 100 1988 merc). Mine is just a bit bigger and a bit underpowered. I get around 1.3k per litre in the bay. A normal mud trip without a lot of motoring around is around 40k ramp to ramp, and I usually go through around 30-32 litres.

I have noticed that most with 17's seem to have similar hp to yours. I think you reach a crossover point with the 2 strokes that start giving worse economy. Though I would think that you are matched pretty well. I would love to have an extra 20 horses. Sure get there a lot quicker.

Darryl
19-06-2006, 08:07 PM
Cheech your welcome to about 75 horses that i dont need mate. ;D

Darryl.

foggy
19-06-2006, 09:34 PM
A closer look at this has revealed the following. The main fuel tank is only about 63 litres not 70 as I was told at time of sale. Therefore I was 7 litres out on the initial calculations. This brings the consumption back to around 1.7kms/litre. Also being a new toy, I was playing around a bit with the trim and rev range as well as running wot for a couple of kms. #I am now thinking that I will get somewhere around 1.5kms/litre. Still a bit thirsty, but I can live with that for a few years until I can afford to repower. I have a Navman 5505 GPS on the way with the fuel flow transducer, so I will reserve my judgement for a few more trips after I get the fuel meter up and running.

It seems about 3800-4100rpms gives the right feel about the boat.

Will let you know the final figures in the next few weeks.

Foggy

phewy
19-06-2006, 10:59 PM
525 Stacer C/C with four-stroke Mariner 90 - Average 2.3km per litre. #

Madman, those are pretty awesome figures - that's almost 4km per litre. #Is that from an actual measurement or just an estimation? #I've never even come close to that with my four-stroke

steve

Yes, would be interesting to hear more details such as avg speeds/revs, loads etc for those 150k's. Was that at trolling speed or cruising or WOT. Tests of 90 e-tecs pushing 5m f/g hull at avg 45kmh/4000rpm give returns of just under 19 lt/h. (and 30.2lt/h WOT@ 64.5kmh/5400 revs)

madman1
20-06-2006, 06:56 AM
That was on a reletively calm day. Travelled from Scarborough direct to Hutchies at circa 3000 - 3500 rpm. Trolled four at 6-7 knots for 3.5 hours which included running along the 50's and circumnavigating Flinders several times (with no luck I might add). Headed past Flinders Reef and fished under the Cape.

Returned home @ 4500rpm in glassed out conditions (it took under and hour to get to the leads at Scarborough).

Three weeks ago I got to the Southern Hards and back in under 40 litres in sloppy conditions on the way out (circa 65km's each way).

Before that trip we had the opportunity to travel WOT for around an hour to the same spot and chewed a disgusting 80 litres for the exact same trip. Thats why I dont cane it, it just becomes too expensive to run. You only get there marginally earlier.

My fuel economy is reletively good beacuse I dont flog the guts out of my motor. As mentioned it pushes a 525 Stacer Cuddy and has a 19" SST Prop.

When we go offshore we are pretty well loaded up also and rarely hit 3500 - 4000rpm.

Dont sacrifice me. Maybe I am one of the lucky ones. It has taken a long time to get the motor right but now it is perfect. The most up to date programming in Australia has done the job. All thanks to the boys @ River City Marine.

gilbo
20-06-2006, 08:22 AM
Bertram 25 with twin 470s 40 litres per hour covering about 33km, well that was before the engine rebuilds which after 3 months are nearly complete. Will be interested in seeing if that improves now.

God I hope so. Be good just to have it back.

20-06-2006, 08:47 AM
foggy your figures sound pretty close to mine. for a 75k return trip to moreton from home i'll use about 45-50l of normal unleaded. that's in about 10kn of breeze (<.5m slop). boat is 550sig with 135 carb merc v6 all 1993. i wouldn't be too worried yet. unless ya want to spend $12k and buy a four stroke to save a few dollars on petrol that is :-?

oh yeah mine seems to like being between 3800 and 4100 rpm too.

Mad_Barry
20-06-2006, 09:25 AM
I have a tohatsu 90 tldi. If I start the day with 70 litres and travel 40 nm, I end up with 100 litres in the tank. It's annoying because I then have to drain some out and put in the car when I get home ;)

eugah
20-06-2006, 09:55 AM
I have a 5m plate centre console with a 90 optimax & last trip in rough conditions i used 34 ltrs for 40 knots. don't know what that works out to be but i thought it was ok.

Alex9797
20-06-2006, 11:24 AM
Hey Foggy,

don,t get too stressed about those figures.

I have a 575 outsider with a 2002 model merc efi 150 and the best I can get is obout 1.3 km per litre. I have measured this with the flow metre on the gps and through the " leave full refuel on return method ".

This was achieved on a flat day sitting on 3800 rpm achieving about 45 / 46 kmph, full load of fuel ( 160 lts ) and with 2 adults and 2 small children onboard. The engine has a stainless prop that would appear appropriate for the engine. The engine has done 100 hours and has recently had a full service.

I recently did the same trip with 5 adults and 2 small children and was astounded at the increase in fuel use. I had to sit on about 4300 rpm to achive a cruising speed of 40 odd kph.

I also wonder / am jealous :o of some of the frugel fuel figures quoted on this site.

Alex

mark221263
20-06-2006, 01:44 PM
I've got a 150 carb mariner/merc on the back of a cruise craft 580 outsider these weigh about the same as the 625 and apart from not having a pod/extended transom are about the same size. I'm running a merc offshore 4 balde 17" prop which appears to be excellent for lift, ecconomy and hole shot but drops my top end by about 3kph to 68kph.

Cruising around 3800~4200rpm (21~25 knots) I generally use about 1 litre per 1.3 klms, this can range between 1.1klm and 1.4klm per litre depending on conditions.

On a recent trip to the hards off Moolooabah we covered 167klm for 128lt of fuel or 1.3klm/lt. This was with 3 on board and pretty loaded with gear and fuel.

I too have been considering something like a new 4 stroke or etec for the fuel savings. When you look at it long term they are very inviting but still hard to justify. On the trip above it worked out to about $70 ea for the 3 of us for Fuel, bait & oil. The fuel costs alone was $155 making up the main component of the trip. I would expect to get a return of around 1.8klm for one of the newer 4 stroke or DFI 2 strokes. Looking at it this way we would of saved about $45 in fuel for this trip or $15 out of my pocket. Makes it hard to justify upgrading.

Saying that though, if I had the money a 175 suzuki would be on the back of my boat.

waykel
24-06-2006, 08:37 AM
200 HO E-Tec pushing a Freedom Seasport 640, with a solas 19 x 15 prop. Average 16 litres per hr at between 3200, 3500 rpm, with a couple of short bursts of WOT .
Waykel

foggy
24-06-2006, 10:03 AM
OK
Her are the figures from the new Navman Tracker and fuel flow metre from last nights trip to Mud.

Total travel was 39kms for a fuel burn of 28litres. (and a bag full of snapper)

Best economy was .63L per km. Average for the trip was .71L per km.

Coming back from Mud to Nudgee in 15knot N/E wind with about .6m slop at 45km per hour burn was .74L per km.

All in all the economy was a lot better than I thought and I am pretty impressed by the way the Haines handled the slop on the way back. (only had the boat out in good conditions up until last night)

Wot figures were not that bad either at 1.1L per km.

waykel
24-06-2006, 12:01 PM
OK
Her are the figures from the new Navman Tracker and fuel flow metre from last nights trip to Mud.

Best economy was .63L per km. #Average for the trip was .71L per km.

Coming back from Mud to Nudgee in 15knot N/E wind with about .6m slop at 45km per hour burn was .74L per km.

All in all the economy was a lot better than I thought and I am pretty impressed by the way the Haines handled the slop on the way back. (only had the boat out in good conditions up until last night)

Hi foggy. Did you fill the tank back up to confirm the usage ,as them fuel flow meters have a tendacey to give false litre usage sometimes. Sounds like your motor is producing good economy. Like any big motor, when you get up em they drink it heaps.
Waykel ;)

foggy
24-06-2006, 02:22 PM
OK

Best economy was .63L per km. #Average for the trip was .71L per km.

Hi foggy. Did you fill the tank back up to confirm the usage ,as them fuel flow meters have a tendacey to give false litre usage sometimes. Sounds like your motor is producing good economy. Like any big motor, when you get up em they drink it heaps.
Waykel ;)

Yes. Filled the tank back up and was about 1/2 litre different. I actually calibrated the fuel flow meter with exactly 20L of fuel the day before up the pine.

ahoj
24-06-2006, 02:43 PM
You are all Arab sheiks lovers..... My 5 meter rig can travel all day for about 10$ of fuel with 6 hp yammy..and can hit 27 km/h
I rest my case but when petrol was 25c/l i used to have big boat and it was fun now I have fun with a small cat....

Ahoj

troy
24-06-2006, 03:11 PM
Never really tested mine yet.
How many litres per klm will i get out of my 625 cruise craft with a 175 hpdi.
Anyone wishing to have a guess as i will be testing it over the next 2 weeks.
Troy

Alan_L
24-06-2006, 03:46 PM
I've got a 575 Outsider with a 150 E-Tec, only done 10 hours, but so far averaging 1.6km/l, in mostly flat conditions in the bay. Cruising rpm at 4000 gives me around 28-30 knots, using around 30 lt/h. Next trip out I'll cut the cruising revs down to 3500 and see what figures I get.

Al

sid_fishes
24-06-2006, 06:05 PM
rhys, mate go and have a good hard look at the suzuki, trust me you can,t go wrong cheers ian

mark221263
26-06-2006, 06:35 AM
Hi Alan L, hows the boat and etec been going one tok?

Are you back in Bris?

Cheers Mark

KGW2
26-06-2006, 01:06 PM
Rule of thumb 10% HP x US Gallons @ WOT.

1 Knot *= 1.853km
1 US gall =3.785 litres

Say your boat has a 90hp OB and does 40 knots at WOT
You should get 74 km on 34 litres of fuel. = 2.17 km per litre

whiteman
26-06-2006, 02:28 PM
I have a mate with an old 24' glass tub with a 225HP Mercury 2s on the back and he gets 200m (yes, that's meters) per litre. He does the reef for three days and uses over $1,500 in fuel. Fills the esky but it probably works out at $50/kilo for whole fish.

My 115hp Yammie 2s with a 5.3 Quinnie get 1.6km per litre on good days.

wessel
26-06-2006, 04:05 PM
I run with two Yammie 85's and chew about a liter a kilometer. (22 foot Centre Console / 4000 rpm wil do 50 km/h)

There is a 160 liter tank under the floor with two spare 20 liter tanks.

Here is the dilemma - there is a wreck 95 kilometers due east where the fishing apparently is awesome.......

Time to fit a spare 50 liter tank SOMEWHERE?

Wess

Chris_Riethmuller
26-06-2006, 05:04 PM
Troy, I have a 625 cruisecraft with a 175 hpdi and get 1.6-1.8Ks to the ltr at 4000 rpm doing 52kph, that equates to around 28-30ltrs/hr.
rgds Beefa

Dignity
26-06-2006, 05:47 PM
I have a mate with an old 24' glass tub with a 225HP Mercury 2s on the back and he gets 200m (yes, that's meters) per litre. He does the reef for three days and uses over $1,500 in fuel. Fills the esky but it probably works out at $50/kilo for whole fish.

Dave, you haven't been drinking Col's home made rum, have ye :P

26-06-2006, 10:00 PM
I have a 575 outsider with a 135 Mercury Optimax 2003 model.
I just go as fast as possible where ever I can and cannot get the consumption to go below 1 nautical miles per 1 litre. (1.852 Km / litre)
I either am trolling or flat out in what the conditions will allow. Maximum speed is 66.8 km/ hour with a 17" Vengeance ss prop.

I cannot fault the setup compared to the old evinrude on the rumrunner. she used twice the fuel.

Angla :D

KGW2
27-06-2006, 08:28 AM
Summary... Boats is gasguzzlers... :( :(

whiteman
28-06-2006, 01:46 PM

Dave, you haven't been drinking Col's home made rum, have ye :P

Nah, beer and wine only for me - the last bit of Sydney-life influence left (but I eat Col's mangos!). The boat looks like a cross between a trawler and a barge but it does get up to 23 knots on the plane with the motor screaming (and drinking). Very old style fit out and it looks HEAVY.