View Full Version : How does your rig go?

Kopey
12-07-2006, 11:39 PM
Always interested in seeing how varying boat/motor combinations go, how they fair, fuel consumption, speed, ride etc. If you got a rig you'd like to share some information with us then feel free. Good to get some real life boat comparisons for a change. Even if you've got some past boats you had please tell us about them as well, I'm definetely interested.

P.S: If you're not interested then please shut up!

Stumpy-USA2
13-07-2006, 02:16 AM
Hi,

The boat and motor package I'm running now is a ProCraft boat and Mercury motor. It's 19'-6" in length with a 200 hp EFI Mercury. It has a nice dry ride and is very stable even at high speeds. It is slightly heavy though, weighing in at about 1700 lbs. Fuel usage is about average, from 3 mpg at WOT(70-72mph) to 7 mpg at 4000 rpm(45 mph). It is a very fisherman friendly boat with plenty of storage for rods, tackle, and other gear. It probably has the largest and best livewell system put in a bass boat yet. The livewell is 50 US gal. with two fill/aeration pumps and two recirculating pumps with the Pro Air system to add fresh oxygen in when the pumps turn on. It has large, wide decks that as many as three people can fish off of. I think it is a great all around fishing boat.

Stumpy

fishn-ads
13-07-2006, 01:12 PM
Where the ski pole again? ;D

Yanks it's all about speed? ;D Hows it go with a big greeny coming at you? ;D ;D

Nice rig stumpy what do they cost in the USA?

Ads

Sportfish_5
13-07-2006, 01:29 PM
Not too many greenies comin at you fishing for bass

Nice rig

fishingrod
13-07-2006, 03:10 PM
This was my old rig (im currently boatless)

Cruise Craft 5.06m half cabin with 120 HP Evinrude both 1986 models.
http://i31.photobucket.com/albums/c369/fishingbasket/rodsboat2.jpg

Speeds from GPS:
The sweet spot cruising speed was about 3800rpm @ 21-22 knots
Fast cruise 4500rpm @ 27 knots
5500rpm @ 36 knots.

WOT = over 6000rpn as it was under propped. I never did that for long enough to get a GPS reading #:P

Fuel use was about 20-25 litres per hour cruising with a bit of idling and sounding around mixed in.

The VRO oil use was around 60 or 65:1 I'd guess on average

fishn-ads
13-07-2006, 03:14 PM
Greg P ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D GET IT

13-07-2006, 03:29 PM
Always interested in seeing how varying boat/motor combinations go, how they fair, fuel consumption, speed, ride etc. If you got a rig you'd like to share some information with us then feel free. Good to get some real life boat comparisons for a change. Even if you've got some past boats you had please tell us about them as well, I'm definetely interested.

P.S: If you're not interested then please shut up!

So how does your rig go Kopy???

With my 130 I get 44klm/hr @4100rpm using 21l/hr using a 4 blade 17 solas winds out to 38 knots at 5800 rpm

:D

Stumpy-USA2
14-07-2006, 02:07 AM
Ads,

Around here you can get boats ranging anywhere from $3k to $4k all the way up to $70k for a new Ranger Z21 or Skeeter I Class. My rig is about average. I got it new in 2004 fully loaded for about $30k. You can get some really good deals during the winter months if you try hard enough, sometimes getting the dealer to come off the price by as much as $6k-$8k. I just got what I could afford, couldn't see paying $500 or $600 a month for something that wouldn't take me to work.

What's a greeny? Should I be afraid?

Stumpy

impulse492f
14-07-2006, 09:33 AM
Well I love mine to death but hey who doesn't love their boat.

1994 Haines Signature 492F running a Oil Injection Suzuki 85.

Ride smooth as with the 33-21 Deadrise hull

WOT is 5300rpm Top Speed 60kph (32 knots) with 13 1/4 X 17 prop
Cruise 4500rpm average 45kph (24 knots)
Fuel 1.4km per litter or 11 liters per hour (Average)
600kg on the water (Approx)

Green
14-07-2006, 10:33 AM
94 Southwind cuddy, by sportfish. 50hp Yamaha.
WOT 46kph. I've got to fit a fuel gauge yet. About all i'm sure of is with the 60lt. tank full i can get 2 trips out in the bay (1 trip from Cleveland or Wello, to the islands Green, Mud, to Amity, Dunwich, Peel and back.)

http://www.fishnet.com.au/content/fishnet/images/gallery/a458a17d-d1c2-4a40-a8e1-bb97a5d39c61.jpg

14-07-2006, 01:46 PM
normally cruise at around 3500rpm ..this gives about 24 to 27 knots depending on wind/tide etc.
WOT - 4600rpm - 39 knots

fuel usage..never worked it out and never want to..might scare me.

marlinqld
14-07-2006, 03:23 PM
Please excuse my ignorance, but what does the WOT stand for?

14-07-2006, 03:48 PM
This topic has been done to death.

http://www.ausfish.com.au/forum/YaBB.cgi?num=1142139119/13#13

http://www.ausfish.com.au/forum/YaBB.cgi?num=1128320700/12#12

http://www.ausfish.com.au/forum/YaBB.cgi?num=1042380319/5#5

fishingrod
14-07-2006, 04:06 PM
Please excuse my ignorance, but what does the WOT stand for?

Hi Mike

WOT = Wide Open Throttle
So basically flat out 8-)

Rod

onerabbit
14-07-2006, 04:12 PM
If you didn't love the boat you have, it might be time for a new one.

My old seafarer vermont is around 30 yrs old, I've had the transom & timbers all replaced ( except the stringers , they were ok), the trailer got a rebuild just after that, add a new 115 Merc carb feed 2/ & I could have nearly bought a new boat!!!!! (not to mention a new sounder, cutting boards etc)

Why did I bother???

All of this work was done after 5yrs of owning her & around 20,000 miles at sea.
To me she is the only rig I ever want to own, she has proved herself to me time & again, my boys laugh at me all the time "Gee thats a nice boat, but I would still rather have mine !!!!"

With the new motor I have I have clocked it at 48mph in the river, still with a bit left, usual running speed, up to 33knts in a reasonable ocean, normal consumption around 25lts per hour.

Synergy
14-07-2006, 05:44 PM
Signature 650F with a 225 Suzuki 4 stroke, top speed 5900 rpm 39 knots on the GPS cruise at 3600 rpm for 21- 22 knots fast cruise 4200 rpm 26-27 knots. Fuel usage is fairly constant across the cruise speeds at 1.1-1.2 litres per nautical mile. It is interesting to see the differant way that people measure fuel consumption. I like to measure the distance travelled for the fuel used as this is a true measurement for the distance travelled. To quote per engine hour is not that accurate if a lot of trolling is involved or just idling around looking for a bottom feature etc.

barfly
14-07-2006, 07:43 PM
465 mangrove 60 hp merc 4 st efi usally around40 ks sitting on 4000 rpm step it up to 55oorpm & YOU GET50ks.. wot bloody fast .feul burn on a trip last weekend moolabah to cal 12 ml then to the 7 ml then to the 5ml then to bray rock and back to moolooabah was around 20lts .im more than happy with the feul and most of the guys i take fishing are more than happy with the share at the bowser. cheers barfly

Deiter
15-07-2006, 12:14 AM
g'day barfly,
I gotta say, 50kn in a 15.5' alloy would be a bit scary, even for some of the supermen that get around on here :o

you ever thought of takin her offshore racing? ;)

barfly
15-07-2006, 09:21 AM
thats kiliometrs per hour i can change the gps to knots but i like the kkms better ,sounds faster ,feels faster.-but when you put the hammer down it does feel a bit like one of those offshore racers but only wetter. cheers barfly

Streetkid
15-07-2006, 11:11 AM
30 honda on quintrex 420 dory, dont have any official figures but it goes more than fast enough when flat chat, can pull a tube with a 95kg adult and with two adults and to kids fishing a day at the pin will cost me an average of 5-7 litres of fuel.

15-07-2006, 12:45 PM
12' horizon, 9.9 2banger merc which is a 2000 model. WOT at 35kph, cruise aboujt 30kph. For a 1/2 day covering 60km, 90%of the time at 95% throttle used 10L of juice. 6km/litre isn't too bad @ all

virgil_53
15-07-2006, 02:42 PM
hi, new boy on the block. looking at a stacer 460, 1yr old. 40 hp merc on board. could it be under powered? seen same with 70 hp. around same $ ,about $16000.very clean rig.

Astro
15-07-2006, 05:07 PM
Last week we went to the northern banks and launched at Mooloolaba, with the new rig, 19ft center cab with 2006 140hp four stroke Johnson.

On the way to the banks we were averaging speeds of 50/60km/h @ 4000rpm with 3 people, we went to the northern banks, then went another 10k's past the banks looking for new ground, went back and forth heaps of times, did alot of passes over good reefs. So before we left for home we had calculated we did around 70km and had another 47km to get back to shore.

On the way home we thought we wouldnt have enough fuel to get us back, but we did, our main fuel tank is only 58ltrs and we travelled 117km (which the GPS showed) and we still had fuel left in the tank when we returned to shore to our suprise 8-), I think we used up around 50ltr for 117km which is awsome, money well spent with this engine. I think the boat being a center cab and alot lighter then other 19ft boat helped as well.

On a previous test run in the bay the boat with 3 people fully loaded did just under 100km/h @ 6000rpm

barfly
15-07-2006, 09:17 PM
virgil 40 hp seems a little underdone my 465 has a 60 hp 4 stoker and wouldnt #want anything smaller on it.cheers barfly

Seahorse
15-07-2006, 09:31 PM
virgil53, 40hp does sound little under. the standard new 469 stacer comes with a 50hp, and is $22790.
i tested a 489 with a 75hpmerc on friday. small chop along front broadeater and at 5000revs i was going 35mph ( 58klms) prob could get more once i learn how to trim properly. prob get about 45mph wot at 5800 revs, which it tops i believe.

Broome_Fisho
15-07-2006, 09:50 PM
Hey Astro, any chance of some pics of the Centre Cab!!
Love to see the set up , got a 5.8 Centre Console with a 150 Honda with a 160lt tank that gets figures similar but not the speed your getting at the revs you say.
Next Boat is going to be a Centre Cab,{ drier than a C/C} was thinking Trail Craft , but now leaning towards the Fisher boats that I have seen Col put up on here .

Eddy

Astro
15-07-2006, 10:53 PM
Hey Eddy, Here are some pics mate

Its a very light boat and i think a 90hp would have been perfect, but having that extra power of the 140 is always good :D

http://i7.photobucket.com/albums/y277/fcuk-fear/DCP_4487.jpg

http://i7.photobucket.com/albums/y277/fcuk-fear/DCP_4482.jpg

http://i7.photobucket.com/albums/y277/fcuk-fear/DCP_4489.jpg

seatime
16-07-2006, 07:47 AM
G'day Astro

Nice rig, where do they come from? Is it self draining or is there a bung behind the OB leg, hard to see in the pic. You'll have a lot of fun in that.

Astro
16-07-2006, 09:16 AM
Hi gelsec

Yeah it is a self draining deck, i think you can see in the pics the round black ports on the side of the boat, also has a 80ltr kill tank in the middle of the boat we use as a live bait tank, and we have noticed when in rough weather and kill tank is full of water it stabalizes the boat a bit better, but once driving we have to empty it out, otherwise the boat dosnt go as good because its draging that 80ltrs of water in the hull.

FishHunta
17-07-2006, 11:44 PM
Top rig Astro, great fishing boat setup!!
Mate what is the weight of your hull?? & 1 more, what pitch prop she run?

jimbo1
17-07-2006, 11:57 PM
My rigs a 5.65 Ocean Whaler C/C Tri Hull matched with a 90 hp oil inj 2st Merc. Completely foam filled so sits on the water and hammers along. Gave it full stick the other day 5800 rpm 38.2 mph on the GPS might of got a bit better if trimmed it just right and there was no wind and the water was flatter.
http://i75.photobucket.com/albums/i303/jimbo78aus/IMG_0780.jpg

Havent worked out the fuel consumption yet with the 80 ltr tank but from what I have been told it is reasonably good even with the 2 stroke. The dealer where I got it set one up for his mate with a Johnson 115 hp and it was pushing over 50 knots!

James

shonky1
18-07-2006, 02:01 AM
This boat weighs 1.4 tonne runs with 300lts fuel, 70lts water, 3 people (80kg ea) and about 200kg of gear. I think its excessively thirsty, anyone run a 200 or know of thier consumption per hour

200 EFI Mercury 2006
20 knots, 50 lph @ 4000 rpm
Is this about the normal consumption for one of these engines? #It has 15 hours on the clock.
Will it get better?

http://shonky1.com/boat uploads/shonky1.jpg

Stumpy-USA2
18-07-2006, 08:22 AM
Shonky,

Sweet rig! What kind of water will it handle? I bet it rides like a dream in the big stuff! Not like one of our low profile kidney busters we have over here. If the waves get up to bad(much over 3-4 feet) we pay for it the next day!
That sounds about right. After converting from gallons(about 11.66/hr) I come up with about 44 liters per hour. One piece of advice, "Don't trust your instruments." I have the Smartcraft digital unit on my boat and it is more reliable than the analog units, but it is still off a little. It will get a little better after the motor has a few more hours on it, I'm not sure how much though. I got about another 2 to 2.5 miles per gallon. It all has to do with the weight of the hull vs. the output of the motor. My hull weighs about .75 tonnes. I calculated my efficiency by adding 10 gallons to the tank after I noted the current level and running it back down to that number and then dividing the time it took by the gallons.
What type prop. are you using? Three blade, Four blade, Five blade? What's your prop. height? The reason I ask is some props are more efficient on some hulls. A four would be better than a three blade for carrying the weight and a five blade will help in rougher water.
I hope this helps!
Stumpy
P.S. : All of this is based on my rig it may affect yours differently.

shonky1
18-07-2006, 10:29 AM
Thanks Stumpy

I am running a 3 blade Vengeance SS prop with these numbers, 48-16316 19p.
I gather it is a 16"x 19 pitch? #The consumption figures I get from a Navman 3100
and its been calibrated to about 1% so its pretty spot on. #I took it out last weekend
in 3 meter (10 foot) whitecaps and it handled it like a baby, the fuel consumption
only went up 2 litres/hour in the rough stuff compared to glass water. #I read in
some forums in your land that boats about the same weight with a 200 get about
20knts @ 3000, so I may be underproped?
I run this boat in Darwin, Northern Territory out from a lodge called Dundee Lodge.
How Australian is that!
Here is a photo from a trip 2 days ago, a small Black Jewfish.

www.shonky1.com/boat uploads/jew.JPG

Astro
18-07-2006, 04:10 PM
Hi FishHunta

Cheers mate

Its a standard alloy prop that came with the engine, not sure what pitch it is? I cannot find any specs about my boat through any dealer or anywhere on the net, but at a guess id say the boat it self with out the engine is about 700-800kg

Was thinking of getting the 4 blade (Viper?) SS prop to get a little bit more revs and speed out of the engine, but then it will chew more fuel and wont be as economical as it is now? Might leave it as it is for now.

Murks
18-07-2006, 05:26 PM
As we speak I am getting a fuel flow meter fitted to my FORMOSA 480 Runabout with an E-TEC 60hp.
I know the fuel economy is pretty good but I just want to know more accurately how much fuel I have LEFT...other than a gauge reading..will advise when i get some data
Generally I like my boat :)..it handles well gets up around the 27knots at easy cruising 5000rpm...above this it just doesnt feel right so I dont go over it ..simple...very quiet motor ...very low emmisions..
Great fishing boat as well as a cruiser for the family or friends.....very very happy :D
Murks

neap
18-07-2006, 08:21 PM
Murks

Great setup...looks about the right size for the garage!
Just wondering what fuel flow meter you are using with the E-TEC.
Is it one of the BRP system check commanders?

Todd

Stumpy-USA2
18-07-2006, 11:05 PM
Shonky,

You probably could go up a bit on your prop size. I run a 25p Tempest+ and it will still hit the rev. limiter in cool water, but it gets the best out of the motor during the summer. Your is a 19 pitch prop, maybe a little small. Going to a larger prop. will make your motor more efficient by reducing blow out, slippage, and cavitation caused by both. Plus you should get a good bit more speed. I would try to do a trade out, or borrow a prop. to try before I bought it though, you may have to try more than one to get the best fit.
That Black Jewfish looks alot like what we call a Redfish or Red Drum. If that one is small, how big do they get?

Stumpy

shonky1
18-07-2006, 11:23 PM
Thanks again for the info,
I will go through a company here called Solas props.
They will keep on replacing your prop untill you get it right. #I know what you mean about
blowout, slippage and cavitation it happens to me a bit in rough water.
# The Black Jewfish up here get to anything around 30 kg (60 - 70 lbs) our average size
is about 15 kg. #This one is about 12 kg.
Thanks a lot for the info supplied it more or less confirmed my thoughts.

These are a more normal catch

shonky1.com/boat uploads/DCP_0250.gifshonky1.com/boat uploads/DCP_0251.gif
shonky1.com/boat uploads/Darryl.gif

Murks
19-07-2006, 03:08 PM
Todd,
No its from NAVMAN direct into GPS..Will advise more details etc when I get it back tomorrow BUT they tell me this is a really good option for what I wanted and it was really surprising how much it was fitted but I know the boys are looking after me re the fitting costs :)

FishHunta
19-07-2006, 07:37 PM
Cheers Astro!! ;)
Mine is 6m Polycraft Cuddy with 150 Honda. 17" pitch raker 2 prop pushes 37knots at 5800rpm. Scarborough to tanga's & back used less than 50 litres, new boat so still working economy out. :-/

'Hunta

19-07-2006, 08:15 PM
Wheres the pics FishHunta ;)

neap
19-07-2006, 08:43 PM

What navman gps/fisherfinder do you run? Most of the fuel flow meters seem to be for the bigger engines understandably. With the prices today it is good to know about fuel use/flow.

Todd

Astro
20-07-2006, 02:33 PM
I second that motion Spaniard_King, would luv to see some pics of your rig FishHunta

Yeah its always hard with a new engine to find out fuel economy, so getting out on the water as much as possible is a good idea ;D

capt
20-07-2006, 08:01 PM
Hey Muzz , your right on about the SEAFARER`S ... great build quality , awesome sea boats ....... I`m rapt in mine ! Jimmy

capt
20-07-2006, 08:38 PM
HUNTA I just fitted an SE SPORT 300 FOIL to my 150 Honda last week. A fantastic improve ment . I gained 800 rpm , 7 knts to the top speed speed , and much better punch out of the water ! Well worth a try . Your motor will loosen up after 80 or so hrs. Gary will back me up on these pointers.......Yeah let`s see the rig ! reg Jimmy

bassfanatic5
20-07-2006, 09:59 PM
Labsport Xtreme Tournament, Evinrude 200H.O Etec 73mph, 71lph. Yet to fit jacking plate and 13 3/4 x 27 renagade bass propeller.

Cheers Damien

Stumpy-USA2
20-07-2006, 11:13 PM
See its not just us "Yanks" that are crazy about speed.

Great looking rig Damien.

Stumpy

FishHunta
21-07-2006, 11:16 PM
A couple of pix of "the hours"

FishHunta
21-07-2006, 11:21 PM
Another,

FishHunta
21-07-2006, 11:34 PM
Gota love a Honda ;)

gawby
22-07-2006, 01:18 AM
Well the yalta has been sitting in the shed for the last 7 weeks because of work commitments and the bad weather we have been having.
Only got 12 hrs up on it and need to get out and have a good run to do the ks per lts thing.
By the way for the USA a greenie is a wave coming over your bow.
Graeme ;)

22-07-2006, 07:19 AM
Gota love a Honda ;)

Nice lookin rig FishHunta, hope she serves you well ;)

Do you know the specs of the prop you have on it and what the top rpm is, just curious to see if it is set up right :)

capt
22-07-2006, 08:40 AM
Yes Hunta , our HONDA`S are definetly the power of dreams!!!!! Jimmy

onerabbit
22-07-2006, 09:15 PM
Cheers capt,

Got to admit, the old seafarers are a top sea boat.

Have you got a pic of yours?

FishHunta
23-07-2006, 02:03 PM
G'day Gary,
I have recently added a 'permatrim' to the honda (with made a big difference out of the hole.
I have also swapped (temp with a mate) the raker for a "Turning Point Express" #14 1/4" X 17" pitch. Not that i needed any more top end, was just looking to see if would improve economy by increasing cruise speed. With the change am only reaching WOT 33 knots @ 5600rpm.
Any suggestions on size & pitch greatly appriciated. 8-)

Cheers, # # 'Hunta

ps, Capt what prop u running, (& i must have missed it, what size is the Seafarer??)

23-07-2006, 02:42 PM
Hunta

I look after Jimmy's (capt) rig, he has a 14 1/4 x 18 solas on a 5.5 meter sefarer viking pulling 5800 rpm at WOT

I have his engine up fairly high on the transom but the cav plate is just still below the bottom of the transom.

You could lift your engine up a hole and see how it goes, because you have fitted a foil its a good idea to lift the engine a bit to recover the lost rpm but you must balance cavitation against performance.

I have found the honda's like to run higher than other engines. To increase economy you need to reduce drag on the boat and weight on the engine. Lifting it a hole will acheive this.

FishHunta
23-07-2006, 04:22 PM
Cheers Mate!
She is just about due for her first service, I will talk to the boys about trialing a lift then.

Daz.

capt
23-07-2006, 04:23 PM
Afternoon Muzz and Hunta, Looks like Gary the `Blue' King answered your questions , thanks mate . Yeah Muzz , the Viking is a `97 , a little bit bigger than my old boat a 16ft de Havilland `Seafury' , a glass boat and also a fine sea boat ... caught a lot of fish in the old girl ! Anyway spent the last year or so bringing her back to better than new ... a bit like your project . It's hard breaking ties with the old girls Isn't it ? I don't have a donk on her at the moment ( a few of the local fella's hasselled me to sell the 90 Honda to them during the rebuild process) and that's probably how I will sell her , when I master this site ..... a bit green at the moment ! I will post some pics of both .............. Cheers Jimmy

F1SH_BOY
23-07-2006, 08:50 PM
mines been sitting in the shed due to my skipper being at work 2 much :'( (im 2 young 2 drive >:()

F1SH_BOY
23-07-2006, 08:51 PM
mines been sitting in the shed due to my skipper being at work 2 much :'( (im 2 young 2 drive >:()

reef_king
24-07-2006, 02:47 PM
How does your rig go?

I think its the best 7m boat out there.

marlinqld
30-07-2006, 11:49 AM
Finally got to try mine out yesterday

Scooting round near Harry Atkinson yesterday.

2 on board, 100lts fuel, various gear etc 5.1mt Ally Craft Centre Console

32.8 knots at WOT 5800rpm 75hp Mariner 2 stroke, markings on s/steel prop say 48-16988 18P Mercury Marine Vengeance this according to my Garmin GPS72.

Almost no current flow and wind assistance at the time....... speedo guage read 31 at the samt time.

I am quite pleased with the performance actually..... now just have to work out fuel consumption, but without doing that, must say am quite pleased at its economoy.

BigE
30-07-2006, 02:06 PM
4m hornet 24 f/s yammie........ catches fish ;D ..... does 25kph :) ...... does 70km plus on a 25lt tote tank :D never really ran it dry but uses about 6lt per trip to the spot in the pic. ;D ;D

BigE

seafarer3
03-08-2006, 04:56 PM
Hey,
seafarer at 3500rpm does 27knts at 4000rpm does 30knts

Boz
03-08-2006, 11:13 PM
Hey guys

Haines V19C, 88 135 Merc 2 stroke, cruises at 20-22 knots at 3500 and about 33 at wot (about 5500) , fuel usage....well lots but figure on about 35 lph at cruising speed with 3 or 4 people on board in reasonably good seas but does vary considerably depending on conditions as expected of a heavier boat.

Boz

Murks
04-08-2006, 03:27 PM
6 litres well spent too BIGE
Very cheap feed at that rate

eimeo
05-08-2006, 10:04 AM
i have a 445f haines c/c, with a 75hp merc.top speed by the gps is about 35kts
but still waiting for a glassed out day and am still learning to trim properly.i have fitted a t - top and at wot she really wants to fly off waves (flying nun style).havent worked out fuel economy -it seems pretty good on juice when not wot about 22kts but i would really like more than 2 x 25l tanks-carrying jerry ans is a real pain

dave