PDA

View Full Version : platey's: build or buy?

Deiter
06-08-2006, 10:21 AM
g'day all,
i have been toying with the idea of building my own plate ally boat for a while now, and was after a few peoples opinions/ experiences.

looking at something around the 5.5 - 5.8m mark (18' - 19'), as this is about as big as i could handle solo at the ramp while still being big enough for outside excursions and taking the family (only 3 of us) out for day trips and possibly overnighters. Yes i would prefer a bit bigger, but this size is the best compromise for me (i think?).

anyway, i got the idea now that perhaps (read definately ;)) it might be better to get a stage 1, bare metal boat done and fit it out myself from there. i have done a bit of welding and metalworking, so i am not a novice, but no boatbuilder either.

Has anyone out there done this????
obviously cost is a major factor. how much would a bare boat likely cost?

particular boat i like is an Adam Schwetz designed 5.8m runabout (Nomad boats)
http://www.nomadmarinekits.com/catalogue/runabouts/runabouts-58cuddy2.htm.

Tha Minister for Finance and Sport and Recreation has approved funding, so i am itching to get somthing happening, would really appreciate any input.

thanx guys,
Damo

dnej
06-08-2006, 11:06 AM
Damo,
Before you do anything,talk to Fisher boats at Bribie Island. Make sure you tell Col, I recommended you talk to him.He wont try and sell you, but rather discuss your needs.
He advertises on this site

He received the plate boat of the year award,and would do anything you wanted.
Take care on DIY,as it can turn out very wrong.
Regards David

madmackrel
06-08-2006, 12:22 PM