View Full Version : Time warp..new 20 foot sharkcat

jimbo59
23-07-2006, 08:25 PM
I currently am working with Bruce Harris building 46 foot cat's,down the back he has a 20 foot cat mould that is probebly 25 years old,u know the one the 18 footer that has been extended to 20,anyway he said its ok if i throw some glass at it, but i dont know if it would sell as it would owe me probably me mid 30's finished .Do you think it would sell,id have to make 10 on it.

matthill80
23-07-2006, 09:29 PM
i recun go for it mate i woul say there would be heaps of fellas who would love one of those old school cats. last time i talked to bruce he had a 24ft mould but wasnt sure if he had the 20footer. well i guess he now has u beauty might have to talk to him next sunday.

cheers matt

boatboy50
23-07-2006, 10:04 PM
Hey Jimbo,

Got me confused as to exactly which boat the mould would produce.

What conditions are the moulds in. I'm sure they need a decent clean up to produce a good product, and not just a matter of throwing some glass in.

Is this the boat you mean?

boatboy50
23-07-2006, 10:09 PM
Hopefully a better pic.

24-07-2006, 08:09 AM
yes not too sure myself as the old 18' had clinker sides, but, it was later lengthened and had pods fitted by a guy named Barry Lawence, not too sure if it was done with Bruce harris or a seperate thing altogether, they were built on the gold coast somewhere called rebel Cat

24-07-2006, 09:31 AM
hey another thing to remember, those "old" cats even though really good boats, needed copius amounts of horse power to get the best out of them.

jimbo59
24-07-2006, 05:21 PM
Hi darren, no mate that is the 23 footer it might also be the 23 cut down to 20 which bruce says was his best performing cat.
and yes darren they would need a good clean-up
Yes noelm it is the clinker sided 20 which barry coverted,i believe with the better products on the market eg;foam, balsa,double bais,tri and quads it would be a much lighter boat and would only need small hp.

peterbo3
24-07-2006, 08:17 PM
Jimbo,
Are you saying that you would have to retail it at $45K? Would that include wiring, seats, tanks, windscreens, etc?
Would need electronics, motors, hyd steer & all the rest on top.
IF that $45K is GST inclusive & it will run well with a pair of 4St 90s you are probably looking at a very saleable rig.
Certainly going to be cheaper than a KC.

25-07-2006, 08:08 AM
is it the the Barry Lawrence model that takes pods?? if so it is a very good boat.

jimbo59
25-07-2006, 05:46 PM
Hi peterbo3,it would just be a bare boat with 2-70 or 90 2 strokes windscreen fitted, seats,and a few other bits and pieces.
I couldnt possibly do a dream rig that u stated for that price. It would only be a one off if i went ahead so no gst.

macker
12-08-2006, 03:51 PM
hi jimbo - can you help with a bit of int.? i am in the middle of restoring an 18' shark cat and am humming and hawiing over motors. it came with a pair of 1990 johnson v4 120hp which have 2 major drawbacks:
1/. the restricted manuveurability because of the tight fit into the well, which could be overcome with pods, of course, but i dont really want to go this route
and 2/. they are seriously thirsty, which isnt really fixable.

I have a pair of hpdi 90s which could solve both problems, but unfortunately they are short shaft. would cutting down the transom the required 4 inches cause major problems? snorkelling the air intakes could sort the spray, but i am more concerned about swamping.

all advice gratefully received, thanks

Grand_Marlin
12-08-2006, 06:01 PM
G'day Macker,

Sharkcats are a bitch at the best of times for drowning motors.

They are best suited to 25 or even 30" legs (dunno what size 30" is made down to)

The original cats had 20" transoms and did have lots of dramas with dunking donks.

The HDPI 90's would be perfect, but I think you would regret cutting down the transom by 5"

Is there a kit available to extend the 90's to 25"

Grand_Marlin
12-08-2006, 06:07 PM
This is the rebel cat ... the old 18 extended to 20

macker
12-08-2006, 06:54 PM
thanks for the feedback Pete, will look into extending to xl shaft. this is just one of many tasks of the rebuild, so will start a new topic with any other queries.cheers

drg001
03-09-2007, 08:41 PM
i may have missed the boat but i'm the proud owner of a '20' foot rebel cat running a pair of 200hp optimax's and would love to talk to anyone that kows these boats, has photo's etc.

snelly1971
03-09-2007, 09:36 PM
G'day Macker,

Sharkcats are a bitch at the best of times for drowning motors.

They are best suited to 25 or even 30" legs (dunno what size 30" is made down to)

The original cats had 20" transoms and did have lots of dramas with dunking donks.

The HDPI 90's would be perfect, but I think you would regret cutting down the transom by 5"

Is there a kit available to extend the 90's to 25"

Yeah..there is a Kit available Pete...

04-09-2007, 08:02 AM
hey DRG100 I have a 20' Rebel Cat, had it for many years, I have spoken to Barry Lawrence quite a few times, he seems to be quite ready to give you any info you might need, I have been in one with a pair of 90's and they are about the minimum for that boat