View Full Version : Qld Rescue Contact details +other usefull files

subzero
08-01-2006, 10:17 AM
I posted this a while back and have been asked to post it again.
The document is attached in pdf format. It lists all contact details for Rescue Groups, both VMR and Coast Guard in Qld, listed in order going from South to North.

The original document was copied from Leisure Marines web page located at http://www.leisure-marine.com.au/GenInfo/links.asp and I acknowledge their work in compiling and posting the original.

I have corrected a couple of the phone numbers that I know were wrong, and updated some other information such as the frequencies monitored by several of the units.

I have also removed the area code for Qld (07) from all phone numbers to make it fit the page better.

This was originaly compiled in August 2005 so I do not vouch for the total accuracy of this document but I believe it to be now the most detailed and accurate one that is available. Because of recent changes within some Coast Guard units and their apparent no longer monitoring of 27Mhz Radio in some areas, I have sent several requests to the National Commodore, Chris Gillet requesting clarification but he has not responded.
I would be very careful relying on 27Mhz communications at Coast Guard units in Qld without first seeking clarification at local level that in fact they are monitored

If anyone knows of any errors, please contact me and I will amend and update the details and repost

Kind Regards
Lloyd

subzero
08-01-2006, 10:22 AM
Changes in designation of Marine Fequencys, January 2004 attached

subzero
08-01-2006, 10:27 AM
How radio waves work. (Propogation of Radio signals).

subzero
08-01-2006, 10:28 AM
Phonetic Alphabet

subzero
08-01-2006, 10:29 AM
ACA Mayday Call Chart

subzero
08-01-2006, 10:30 AM
MMSI number application form

subzero
08-01-2006, 10:31 AM
Bites and Stings. (Treatment)

subzero
08-01-2006, 10:41 AM
Fire Extinguishers (Uses)

subzero
08-01-2006, 11:03 AM
CPR Chart

subzero
08-01-2006, 11:07 AM
For those that find these files usefull, I suggest you print, laminate, and keep them in your boat for later use if required.
Cheers Lloyd

skippa
08-01-2006, 12:19 PM
Thanks Lloyd,

the Laminating bit is a good idea, especially when you keep them in a boat.

Tony 8-)

gropeher
08-01-2006, 03:36 PM
Thanks Lloyd,
I will laminate and post in a handy position on the boat on some form of draw string for all to use.

Cheers again, Ryan..

Skipsta
08-01-2006, 04:23 PM
Good on you Subzero for the time and effort put in to do this. Need more blokes like you around. ;)

brentasauros
08-01-2006, 05:00 PM

subzero
09-01-2006, 04:55 PM
List of MMSI numbers, the ones I suspect are from Qld I have hilighted red. The other States I have hilighted blue. No offence intended to anyone, I am a Kiwi and wouldnt have a clue where most of these places are.
Cheers Lloyd

This data last updated: 21 November 2005

MMSI number Call sign Ship name
5030000 VIX RCC AUSTRALIA
5030001 VIC RCC AUSTRALIA
5030002 VMR215 POINT CLARE BASE STATION
5030003 VJQ895 AIRLIE COMSTAT
5030004 VJ6LQ WHITFORDS BASE
5030005 VZX PENTA COMSTAT
5030006 VMR224 BYRON BAY RVCP
5030007 VMR212 SYDNEY RVCP
5030008 VMR213 BROKEN BAY RVCP
5030009 VMR221 SOUTH WEST ROCKS RVCP
5030010 VMR205 BATEMANS BAY RVCP
5030012 VMR203 COAST STATION
5030013 VMR 217 PORT STEPHENS RVCP
5030014 VMR 208 SUSSEX INLET RVCP
5030015 VMR207 ULLADULLA RVCP
5030016 VMR201 EDEN RVCP
5030017 VMR216 LAKE MACQUARIE RVCP
5030018 VMR223 COFFS HARBOUR RVCP
5030019 VMR218 FORSTER TUNCURRY RVCP
5030020 VMR202 MERIMBULA RVCP
5030021 null GOSFORD LIFEBOAT
5030022 VMR210 WOLLONGONG BASE STATION
5030024 VMR204 MORUYA BASE STATION
5030025 VMR211 BOTANY BAY BASE STATION
5030026 VMR206 KIOLOA BASE STATION
5030027 VMR225 TERRY HILLS BASE STATION
5030028 VMR220 NEWCASTLE BASE STATION
5030029 VKA WATER OPS SA POLICE
5030030 VMR275 SOLANDER BASE STATION
5030031 VH2ATH NORAH HEAD BASE STATION
5030032 VMR405 NOOSA BASE STATION
5030033 null SA SEA RESCUE
5030035 null PORT DAMPIER AIS
5030037 VMR417 TIN CAN BAY BASE
5030038 VMR900 MORNINGTON VMR
5030039 VJQ611 CUMBERLAND CHARTER YACHTS
5030040 VNF622 SHOREHAM BASE
5030041 VJ3B1 BALNARRING BEACH BASE
5030043 VJV302 HASTINGS BASE
5030044 null PENRITH IS AIS STATION
5030045 null WARRABER IS AIS STATION
5030046 null BOOBY IS AIS STATION
5030047 null Cape Liptrap AIS Base Station
5030048 null Cape Otway AIS Base Station
5030049 null Cape Schanck AIS Base Station
5030050 null REEFCENTRE AIS
5030051 null HAMMOND IS AIS STATION
5030052 null MT YARRABAH AIS STATION
5030053 null PELORUS IS AIS STATION
5030054 null PORT HEDLAND AIS
5030055 VMR271 PT MACQUARIE BASE
5030056 null AVCG ADELAIDE BASE
5030057 VMR205 RVCP WATCHKEEPER
5030058 VMR555 PT ADELAIDE BASE
5030059 VMR442 WHITSUNDAY BASE
5030060 null RVCPSA Port Victoria Base
5030061 null RVCPSA Port Victoria Radio Van
5030062 null RVCPSA Port Victoria Troop Carrier
5030063 null RVCPSA Urania Base
5030064 null RVCPSA Point Turton Base
5030065 null RVCPSA Point Souttar Base
5030066 null RVCPSA Corny Point Base
5030067 null RVCPSA Port Moorowie Base 1
5030068 null RVCPSA Port Moorowie Base 2
5030069 null RVCPSA Balgowan Base
5030070 null RVCPSA Pine Point Base
5030071 null RVCPSA Ardrossan Base
5030072 null RVCPSA Southern Mobile Base
5030073 null RVCPSA Northern Mobile Base
5030074 null RVCPSA Point Turton Radio Van
5030075 COASTGUARD PORT AUGUSTA AVCGA SA
5030076 COAST GUAR KANGAROO ISLAND AVCGA SA
5030077 null AVCG EMU BAY
5030078 null Archer Point AIS Base Station
5030079 null Cape Flattery AIS Base Station
5030080 null Lockhart River AIS Base Station
5030081 VMR264 SWANSEA BASE
5030082 VMR 219 CROWDY HEAD BASE
5030083 VIT319 RYCT BASE STATION
5030084 VMR460 POINT DANGER LIGHT HOUSE
5030085 VMR685 DAMPIER BOAT SHED
5030086 VMR685 DAMPIER BASE
5030087 VMR685 KARRATHA BASE
5030088 VMR259 EVANS HEAD BASE STATION
5030089 VMR441 VMR VICTORIA PT BASE
5030090 VJG717 FRASER ISLAND RENT A YACHT
5034444 VMR444 CAIRNS MARINE RADIO BASE
5038801 VMW828 CHALLENGER TAFE 1
5038802 VMW828 CHALLENGER TAFE 2
5038803 null Sydney Institute Tech
5038804 null Sydney Institute Tech
5038805 null Sunshine Coast College TAFE
5038806 null Sunshine Coast College TAFE
5038807 null AMC LAB1
5038808 null AMC LAB2
5038809 null AMC LAB3
5038810 null RMIT Melbourne
5038811 null RMIT Melbourne
5038812 null SMITECH 1
5038813 null SMITECH 2
5038814 AXW257 KCOT BASE
5038815 VHV CERBERUS CIS SCHOOL
5038816 VHV CERBERUS CIS 2
5038818 AX2NFP HUNTER TAFE
5038819 VNF265 EG TAFE
5038820 null PROSERPINE SHS 1
5038821 null PROSERPINE SHS 2
5038822 VJQ523 TNQ TAFE BASE
5038823 VJQ523 TNQ TAFE BASE 2
5038824 AXN 421 PT MACQUARIE BASE
5038825 null HAWKSBURY RESCUE
5038826 VZE845 Ballina Tafe 1
5038827 VZE845 Ballina Tafe 2
5038828 null AVCG Port MacDonnell
5038829 VMR261 Coast Guard Sydney
5038830 VL2DE Port Kembla Port Corp
5038831 VMR634 Bunbury SAR Base Station
5038832 null Tenby Point Base
5039901 null ELECTROTECH WORKSHOP
5039910 null AWA MARINE WORKSHOP
5039920 null JN TAYLOR W/SHOP
5039930 null TMQ W/SHOP
5039940 AX2QIM SEAWIZ MARINE ELECTRONICS
5039950 VJS440 QUINN MARINE
5039960 VKI737 SKIPPERS W/SHOP
503000001 VNAU Express
503000002 VNQL PALMERSTON
503000003 VJAQ River Torrens
503000004 VJRY RIVER EMBLEY
503000005 VJRB RIVER BOYNE
503000008 null Bass Trader
503000009 null Australian Pride
503000010 VKBE ALLTRANS
503000011 VJFZ FITZROY RIVER
503000012 VJFY ENDEAVOUR RIVER
503000013 VJEC conus
503000015 VNGP GRIFFIN VENTURE
503000019 VJTN Tasman
503000020 VJJJ JABIRU VENTURE
503000021 VNAM BARRINGTON
503000022 VJIK ORMISTON
503000023 VJBF KOWULKA
503000024 VJLN CEMENTCO
503000025 VNQP Warden Point
503000026 VMAL LINDESAY CLARK
503000027 VNAH PORTLAND
503000028 VMSA STOLT AUSTRALIA
503000033 VLST Spirit Of Tasmania
503000035 VJBA SEAROAD MERSEY
503000036 VNGL Iron Flinders
503000037 VNGK Australian Endeavour
503000039 VNGO SEAROAD TAMAR
503000042 VJDI Iron Newcastle
503000044 VMJS Iron Spencer
503000045 VMBD Iron Whyalla
503000049 VJPG BROADWATER
503000050 VNVZ NORTHWEST SANDERLING
503000051 VNVS NORTHWEST SNIPE
503000055 VNXP COSSACK PIONEER
503000057 VLBX IRON STURT
503000058 VKAD Iron Prince
503000059 VLKG IRON MONARCH
503000062 VNNM SEAKAP
503000065 VJNV NIVOSA
503000066 VJEB Australian Achiever
503000068 null Osco Star
503000069 VNVD IRON CHIEFTAIN
503000070 VJAV Australian Venture
503000071 null Australian Advance
503000072 null Anro Australia
503000073 null Iron Dampier
503000074 null Flinders
503000077 null RMIT Melbourne
503000078 null Fremantle TAFE
503000079 null Sydney Institute Tech
503000100 VZS5290 KOWHAI
503000200 VHN8715 PASTIME OF SYDNEY
503000300 VNPI LORELLAN
503000400 VKV5406 L`ATTITUDE
503000500 VHS5208 ISIS
503000600 VZS2648 CHAMPAGNE
503000700 VZS2352 CHATTI
503000800 VHQ2910 FOXTROT
503000900 VNRD INDIES TRADER III
503001100 null KISMET
503001200 VHS5442 ARIEL
503001300 VHW3662 MURIANNE
503001400 VMQ2626 ASTRO
503001500 VHN7149 PIPPIN
503001600 VKV5325 ODYSSEY
503001638 VNW3822 FLINDERS
503001700 VHN9250 KATYLIST
503001800 VHN8780 XANTHIPPE
503001900 VHA2338 AAW491N
503002000 VNVG NORTHWEST SANDPIPER
503002100 VKV5127 TAPESTRY
503002200 VHS5503 WILD GOOSE
503002300 VHS5561 EXOTIC ESCORT
503002400 VJPM RIANA
503002500 VNND PELIKAN
503002600 VZQ3745 CLOUD NINE
503002700 null INCA
503002800 VJ2374 KAHALA
503002900 VM2442 OPHELIA IV
503003000 VMGO GOLIATH
503003100 VHN6330 Loki 1
503003200 VKV5905 CONTENT
503003300 VKV5987 AREMITI
503003400 VKV5999 FANTASY OF MAN
503003500 VJ3335 OFFSIDER
503003600 VHN9796 PACIFIC PELICAN
503003700 VHN9200 Jacobina
503003800 VKV4818 Color Solutions
503003900 VMQ6695 Zygote
503004000 VLAJ Pacific Titan
503004100 VHS4897 Soleil
503004200 VKV6111 Dolce Vita
503004300 VNZ4149 Spirit of Federation
503004400 VMQ7331 CHARISMA
503004500 null SOUTHERN LIGHT
503004600 VJN2151 CORIS
503004700 VHS5882 N`Ahani
503004800 VKV5174 C`Est Si Bon
503004900 VM2283 RIOT III
503005000 VMCG SOUTHERN SUPPORTER
503005100 VHN9964 Aelfwyn
503005200 VKV2026 Tom Bowler
503005300 VZQ6286 THUNDERBIRD ONE
503005400 VKV6436 HELLY
503005500 VKV6434 Alffran
503005600 VNW4146 Water Music
503005700 VKV5845 LEEWAY
503005800 VHW3100 AIDA
503005900 VMQ8045 NIMBUS II
503006000 VNBX Gulf Sky
503006100 null Lady Tina
503006200 VL4804 SILVER SPIRIT
503006300 VJN2415 Blue Belle I
503006400 VNW5072 PURR
503006500 VJ3089 Mandalay III
503006600 VHA2376 Team News Corp
503006700 VJN2516 Champagne On Ice
503006800 VJN2499 Kona
503006900 VZQ7043 AZIMUTH
503007000 VNXO SHELF CHALLENGER
503007100 VNW5258 Prince of Tides
503007200 VJT6182 Anita Maree
503007300 VKV6282 SUNBIRD
503007400 VHW9387 Dynamite Bay
503007500 VHAB TOOTEGA
503007600 VZN2392 CUCKOOS NEST
503007700 VZW2058 SALUTE
503007800 VJN2553 HEY JUDE
503007900 VZW2061 AUSSIE REBEL
503008000 VJJF Franklin
503008100 VHQ3259 SPIRIT OF ROTARY
503008200 VJT2264 ECLIPSE
503008300 VJN2550 SANTA LUCIA
503008400 VZW2059 TAZ MANIA
503008500 VNW5285 MISS GEMMA
503008600 VJT5598 ALICE K
503008700 VKV5430 The Office
503008800 VJN2571 Magical Oddyssey
503008900 VKV6653 WINDSONG OF MORNINGTON
503009000 VNVF NORTHWEST STORMPETREL
503009100 VHQ4093 Llewelyn
503009200 VMQ9595 DE LISLE
503009300 VJN2568 Outstanding
503009400 VKV5990 WINDWARD II
503009500 VHN8989 Brainwave
503009600 VHS5047 ELLIDA 1
503009700 VKV5898 VICTORY
503009800 VHS5782 Windsong
503009900 VNW5330 RESOLUTION
503010000 VNVM PIONEER
503010100 VKN4840 Ted Noffs
503010200 VM2081 MARNICO
503010300 VHN7446 DIONE
503010400 VNW5337 COURTESAN
503010500 VHN4984 KUDU
503010600 VZN2700 CG4
503010700 OZSEA OZSEA
503010800 VKN6766 SOUTHERLY CHANGE
503010900 VHW5153 KETCHUP II
503011000 VNYY Marie Helene
503011100 VNW4640 HARD EVIDENCE
503011200 VJN2973 ALEXES
503011300 VKN9064 STREWTH
503011400 VHS6101 SEREIN
503011500 VKV6636 BEYOND CAPRICORN
503011600 VKN7366 Wombat
503011700 null Night Owl
503011800 VKN3881 SUTAMON
503011800 VKN3881 SUTAMO

2iar
10-01-2006, 03:52 PM
Lloyd,

This is an excellent resource. Thanks for putting in the time and effort, and thanks to Steve for making it sticky.

Just one quick question that I've never understood - how does someone know which VMR/CG to log on with when it's unclear which "jurisdiction" your vessel is in - eg where would you log in with CG Redcliffe as opposed to VMR Sandgate etc if you're somewhere in the middle of the two or further afield at say Moreton?

Thanks again mate,

subzero
10-01-2006, 08:08 PM
Gidday Mike, their is no such thing as jurisdiction as such.

Log on with whoom ever you feel most comfortable with. We all do the same job, both VMR and Coast Guard's and no unit or member will feel offended or insulted that you didnt log on with them. (In fact most will feel gratitude that you have logged on with someone).

Usualy, where ever possible, it will be at the the unit closest to departure, especially if that unit is based where you are physicaly leaving from.
If you have logged on at their window they will more than likely have gleamed some extra details out of you such as your car/trailer make rego and colour. This is handy if you are overdue, they can check the carpark to see if your vehicle etc are still their or it may appear you have simply forgotten to log off. (They should still investigate further, but at a lesser priority and level if you were simply overdue and your car was still in the car park).

After a while, most units and their Crew will become familiar with their regulars and where ever possible keep an eye out on their vehicles whilst you are out on the water.

If in the event that you leave to early in the morning or late at night and the unit you leave from is still closed, log on with someone that is already open, get them to transfer your log on details for you when they do open, or log off, and log on yourself with your preferred unit when they open.

If you are undertaking a lenghthly voyage, if you request it, the units will forward your details from 1 unit to the next via Fax or Phone giving the E.T.A that you have provided and they will be listening out for your safe arrival. Some times, during the week when many units are unmanned, they will give you a phone number and ask you to ring it when you are safely at your destination. If they do not recieve your call, they will usually head down to their base, open up, and try and contact you by other means. (Radio). In the event this is unsuccessfull, they will contact VKR Water Police with your full details and let them decide as to the next step. Many factors for them to consider at this stage, experience, weather, history, familiarity with the area, daytime/nightime, number of persons, size of vessel, age, health, equipment carried etc etc.

If you have access to HF Radio, you can also use the "Ausrep" reporting system. Contact is made at least once daily, ONLY via Automated DSC messaging, giving your location at that time without you having to do anything. (Saves you forgetting to update and a big panic ensuing). This is normaly used by Commercial Vessels but CAN be used by Rec Boatie's.

The key to it all, is having those details in the first place, we will only have them if you have logged on in the first place, as the old Nike add go's "Just do it" ;D

I have attached a Vessel Log on Sheet that the Qld Water Police issue to the units and the public which has most of the same info a unit at local level would ask for. (Generaly this particular sheet is designed for the longer trips).
Feel free to print it out, fill in the details, and slide it under the door of your local Rescue Group before heading out if they are not open. They will transfer the details to their log and keep an eye out for your safe return. Please ensure that it goes where they will find it though, not the out house door or something. If you do frequently leave from the same unit, ask them for their own log on sheets, they will give you a copy, or copys and you can fill theirs in which may be a little different than the attached form, but still basicly have the same details.

Anyway, hope the info helps.
Kind Regards Lloyd

2iar
11-01-2006, 02:07 PM
Thanks once again for taking the time to reply so comprehensively Lloyd.

That's definitely cleared it up for me.

3Vs
12-01-2006, 09:43 PM
Ditto.

Nice to know someone is watching. [smiley=thumbsup.gif] [smiley=tekst-toppie.gif]

BigE
17-01-2006, 10:31 AM
Lloyd well done your a champion

Regards E

AnthonyL
25-01-2006, 06:42 PM
Thankyou... much appreciated.

Louis
14-02-2006, 02:58 PM
Many thanks Lloyd

Louis

freeman4wd
23-02-2006, 01:37 PM
Thanks Lloyd,
Very handy information!

btsah
23-04-2006, 08:16 PM
Well done Subzero

subzero
02-05-2006, 08:18 PM
Hi all, was just reminded the MMSI list needed up dating. It has now grown to large I am unable to paste it here

For the most recent list of MMSI numbers please go to
http://www.amsa.gov.au/search_and_rescue/Distress_and_Safety_Communications/Maritime_Mobile_Service_Identity/Search_for_an_MMSI_number.asp

Without entering ANY SEARCH TERMS or CRITERIA click on the SEARCH button. This will then display a full list of allocated MMSI numbers

I converted it to pdf and was going to post it here but it is 256kb, to large for the 100kb limit

Kind Regards
Lloyd
www.vmr.org.au

marlinqld
09-06-2006, 08:12 AM
Thanks also Lloyd.

Have printed out all docs and laminated them for the boat.

see you are member of VMR?

I was inducted last week, and holiday on Monday is my first day's roster as active crew member. Joined up with VMR Raby Bay.

Have been going to do it for eyars and finally got round to it.

I am sure i am in for an enjoyable time with the VMR, great bunch of blokes ( and a few women ) all working for a common cause.

subzero
09-06-2006, 06:25 PM
marlinqld, good luck on Monday and I home you enjoy your time volunteering. It is a MAJOR commitment you are taking on but it is all very satisfying most of the time. VMR Raby Bay is a great unit with highly skilled members and great equipment.
I look forward to catching up with you sometime.
Kind Regards
Lloyd
P.s Say hi to Keith Williams for me, top bloke.... if you dont know him yet he is the bloke that just about lives there, puts in an absolutely massive effort :-)

jeffrey_h
07-08-2006, 08:29 PM
still getting hits.
great effort, will take sometime to put it all together but sounds worth while.

new 2 boating

Jeffrey

garpe
13-08-2006, 06:08 AM
Thanks very much, i,will be copying and laminating aswell
very helpful

whichway
16-08-2006, 06:51 AM
Thanks to Lloyd for this

I don't know if this is still accurate, but the following is a list of VHF repeater frequencies that I couldn't find elsewhere on this post:

21 Lighthouse - Cape Moreton
22 reservoir Viewland Drive - Noosa Heads
80 Mt Wolvi - Double Island Point
80 Point Lookout (Lighthouse) - North Stradbroke
81 Mt Glorious - Brisbane
82 Big Angle - Sandy Straights
82 Yellowwood Hill - Benleigh

If anyone knows where an accurate and up to date record of this information is kept, then that would be very handy

Whichway

subzero
20-08-2006, 05:34 AM
Gidday Whichway, good info mate, the only one I actually new the location of the repeater and the corresponding channel were located was Ch-80, Pt Lookout. The rest I had no idea off which were which. Where did you manage to find this info? I will include it in my little information thingee I am writing as I update it.
Cheers Lloyd

QF2
20-08-2006, 12:03 PM
Hi Whichway,

A good marine radio frequency checklist is on the MSQ web site..

http://www.msq.qld.gov.au/qt/msq.nsf/index/volunteer_contacts

You will find all the repeater frequencies up the coast, along with the respective CG/VMR contact details.

QF2