View Full Version : renaming boats...what is yours called

redbloke1956
18-07-2006, 12:04 AM
The "domestic Goddess" has suggested "Dahling" as a new name for my new toy, I am trying to explain that boats are a blokey thing and Dahling is maybe just a little effeminate!!!! HELP!!!

Please let me know the "BLOKEY" names of your boats as a means of explanation to my beautiful lady...the Queen of High Tea (whatever the F#@$ that is )..... (who is currently looking over my shoulder)

Kevin

marlinqld
18-07-2006, 05:42 AM
Well vessels are always called She or her, so they are traditionally a "girlie thing " ;) ;D

Mine is called Reef Prince, which is actually the model name from Ally Craft, and i have been too lazy to think of another name so I use that ;)

John_R
18-07-2006, 05:50 AM
My missus let me buy the thing to my complete amazement. She is Katie, the boat is KT2. ;)

fishingjew
18-07-2006, 07:29 AM
Last boat outside woman the new one havent decided yet?

mickstar001
18-07-2006, 11:48 AM
MINES CALLED "SMELLS LIKE FISH

18-07-2006, 12:05 PM
ya missus will love this! mines called "gender roles" meaning women have there jobs and blokes have theres. my missus actually came up with it!

mgeritz
18-07-2006, 12:25 PM
Agree with Marlin M ike. It is a she thing - mine is named shy-anne

themisses
18-07-2006, 01:22 PM
Our little tinny was "Priscilla the Fish Killer", shame we didn't live up to her name.
Should have been the fish avoider!! :P

FishHunta
18-07-2006, 03:30 PM
Someone once said to me "the only way to become a better fisherman, was to put in 'the hours"
So I named my boat 'The Hours'
And I plan on puttin' in 'The Hours' every chance I get. #;)

JLW
18-07-2006, 05:31 PM
Called my new one "Her Diamond"

Because that's where most of the money for the missus's diamond engagement ring went!! ;) #;) #;)

Scott_Thunder
18-07-2006, 05:38 PM
Called mine THUNDER cos the guy's at work call me scott thunder after some old local boxer or something but i get called thunder alot and when my little bro. made the stickers it just worked

Scott_Thunder
18-07-2006, 05:39 PM
still refer to it as 'SHE" though

barfly
18-07-2006, 07:28 PM
I call my boat STROKE OF LUCK,when ever something good happens its a stroke of luck. the previous boat was BARRAGAN which is aboriginal for boomerang, hence we always come back.The boat i fished on when i was a kid was called BARFLY. A lot of stories can be told about that boat so i thought it appropriate that i use the name barfly on this site .cheers barfly

a_big_red_1
18-07-2006, 07:50 PM
Well vessels are always called She or her, so they are traditionally a "girlie thing " #;) ;D

damn... i was going to call mine KRACKA-JAK

might have to change it to KRACKA-JAKI :-/

TinarooTriumph
18-07-2006, 07:55 PM
Until I get my own boat, my boats name is 'Nothing-ness' ;D .

TT 8-)

emuparkpete
18-07-2006, 08:21 PM
Have'nt named my boat yet , but seeing as your post got me thinkin, I think I will name her "Jeaba" after the gold coast manufacturer from where she was born.

Great_White
18-07-2006, 09:25 PM
Our's is called "ON STRIKE" it's a she and the wife came up with it. #:)

Close second was a rip off of the Nike wording Just do it with the tick beeing replaced by a picture of a hook so it would have read "just hook it"

Peter :)

aussiefool
19-07-2006, 03:44 AM
One of the hardest things I had to do was name my boat, My first boat was called Mi-BO-ATE, but with my current I could not think of a name so I just wimped out and called it Aussiefool II. Sad I know :-[

pittymick
19-07-2006, 09:36 AM
yep calling mine 2 tonne, its more like 2 and half but sounds tuff my last boat was called intruder ;D

Alex9797
19-07-2006, 01:23 PM
Havn't named our current boat yet. All of the others have been called Alchemy.

The strange thing is that all of our previous boats have required us to do heaps of work on so it felt natural to name them. Our last two boats didn't require any work and for some reason we have not felt compelled to name them.

maybe we are just weird :o :P

mates boat is called " Dumb as Bait". :)

Alex

dinky
19-07-2006, 06:42 PM
The missus says since i got a boat "ITS ALL ABOUT ME" so i named it that!!! ;)

deb
19-07-2006, 07:22 PM
Go with flow ;) Dreamdays is now the 4th vessel I've had, the renaming ceremony, or if it is a (v????in) naming ceremoney involves heaps of champas (around 4 bottles in a intedominational renaming ceremony) of champagne, buckets of fun if you can con your mates into joining you, and perhaps both she's will look favourably on you ::) ::) ::) don't skimp on the quality though, apparently the gods of the sea don't look on you to favourably.........

madmackrel
19-07-2006, 08:58 PM
;D REEL E FISHENT 2, wanted to call her stinky fingers but the missus would not allow it :'(

thepartyisover
19-07-2006, 10:57 PM
Mine is named "Ball Bag"

Broome_Fisho
19-07-2006, 11:37 PM
Mine called "The Other Woman", my missus reckons I spend more time with the Boat than her, so reckon the name suits, and yes fellas thats the missus in the boat, and not , the other woman ha ha

Got_the_Fever
20-07-2006, 05:36 AM
I have named mine De-Stresser, and it is living up to her name very well.

Kel [smiley=2vrolijk_08.gif]

harry_h01
20-07-2006, 07:47 AM
We called ours 'LadyHawk'

Lady - as all boats are female
Hawk - Bird of prey / hunter.

Harry

Bundy_Burp
20-07-2006, 12:49 PM
Hey Got_the_Fever you dont live in bundaberg do you ?
There is a boat I see quite often up here called De-Stresser . 8-)

Got_the_Fever
20-07-2006, 02:12 PM
No Bundy, Im at Redcliffe mate. #They are going to have to change the name of their boat now to De-Stresser 2 hehehehe.

Kel [smiley=2vrolijk_08.gif] [smiley=devil.gif]

20-07-2006, 02:42 PM
The 20 footer is called
makartha anne

the tinnie is called
'lil karthy

I only name them if I intend keeping them for a while, makes them too hard to sell if the names are a touch sentimntal.

capt
20-07-2006, 05:28 PM
Strong names like mine SEAFURY = big action ! Jimmy

dinky
20-07-2006, 07:55 PM
the missus says sinse i got a boat "ITS ALLABOUT ME" so i named the boat that :D :D

gutzy
20-07-2006, 08:06 PM
Took me years of stuffin around to get one.
So when I did the missus said about time!
So I named my pride and joy "BOWTIME"!!!!
(SAY IT FAST)

The_Doc
09-08-2006, 07:40 PM
Mine is called KNOT@HOME

griz066
09-08-2006, 08:46 PM
Mine is called "OOOH YEAH"

wilco
10-08-2006, 11:12 AM
My old man owned my boat before me so the name has stuck. NEVAWET as he only took it out holidays.

puks
10-08-2006, 11:39 AM
where i used to work ther was a boat repair place and they had this huge catamaran there and it was called doctors orders
i think thats a cool name :)
also down the road there is one called hah-hah wich i like pretty much

but de-stresser is fine by me since its the skippers boat anyway ;)

anya

Smailesy
10-08-2006, 12:25 PM
mine is called numnuts

JasonT
10-08-2006, 03:13 PM
I decided to go for a name that was overtly masculine...... #not!
My rig is named "Sea Puppy" :-)
She's a 3.75 Allycraft Cody..
I bought the hull and an 18 horse tohatsu a couple of months ago and haven't gone more than 4 days in a row without getting her wet!
That's what life's about :-)

10-08-2006, 03:49 PM
Current boat is a Haines Signature so its called "Moniker"
Mate had a boat called "Bloody Tourist" ;D ;D ;D Always thought that was a corker and he reckoned it used to create a fair bit of intrest when he was out and about.

Cheers and beers

john_laura
10-08-2006, 08:01 PM
Hey all

I had to make a quick decision the other day when going out through the seaway for an overnight adventure. Called the seaway tower and gave them all our details, they asked for the name of the boat and we told them she didn't have one.

They replied that the boat must have a name, so the first thing that popped into my head was "Deathstar 3".

How this popped into my head might have something to do with my deckhand at the time. While on Moreton island with him he was wearing his g/f's beanie which had three pretty daisy's on it. We asked him what they were and he replied deathstars.

Cracked the four of us up to see the tuff fella with his deathstars on.

Anyhow catch yas later.

Dory4.1
13-08-2006, 08:06 PM
Mr Quintrex named mine... Dory 4.1 ;D

Murks
14-08-2006, 03:03 PM
my boat is called "The Ensuite"
You can read why in boating under a different thread :)

maxwellson
14-08-2006, 04:11 PM
i bought mine from tin can bay, it was named after the dolphin that they tried to stop the people from feeding "MYSTIQUE". heard one on the radio and thought it was a cracker .....SELFISH PIG ;D ;D ;D ;D

boat_1
14-08-2006, 08:59 PM
Name is going on mine this week FISHIN" IMPOSSIBLE. Being self employed i'ts definatly a mission to go fishin"......lol.......

Andrew.

oongi
15-08-2006, 09:37 PM
I called my boat "GREEF" as everytime I tell the misus that I'm going fishing she gives me greef cos I'm never home.

spearfish_1
21-08-2006, 06:57 PM
bream reaper

spearfish_1
21-08-2006, 06:58 PM
reel keen

geissler
21-08-2006, 10:20 PM
I named mine TIME OUT because when ever I went fishing (rather boating) I was taking time out from work.
A Quintrex Spirit with a 90 merc.

Jekyll
22-08-2006, 07:05 PM
Well, mine will eventually be called 'Serenity'. Not keen on putting the adhesive stickers over a clinker style aluminium hull, so will probably have to get a spray painter to do the name for me when the time comes.

boat_1
23-08-2006, 07:20 PM
Name went on today.......sweet......
Andrew.

http://i72.photobucket.com/albums/i199/tworana/Picture2346.jpg

23-08-2006, 07:37 PM
Thats the Name over there 2 the left

Hi-Yo

The boat is painted Mercury Silver

I fish alone...the Lone Ranger

Its my trusty Stead

So Hi-Yo Silver away was born

Steven

skipball
24-08-2006, 09:56 AM
Troublemaker for me. seeing i am always in trouble for anything to do with the boat