PDA

View Full Version : Trailer Bearings

Scottnojack
24-08-2006, 06:27 PM
Hi guys it's time for me to change the bearings on the trailer. I have never done them before. Can someone explain to me what to do? :D

Thanks in advance,

Scotty

Feral
24-08-2006, 07:10 PM
Friday evening
Buy carton of grog
Get 3 mates who have also never done it before over to offer advice

Saturday morning
Once mates arrive, go down to repco to buy trailer bearings - take a punt on "holden"

Go back home, have a few brewski's, pull wheels off trailer. Realise that drum brakes are welded on, go on scrounge around neighbours for a brake drum puller.
Have a few more Brewski's

Saturday arvo, having successfully got brake drums off, pull off hub. Belt old bearing seats out of hub with an old screw driver, getting grease everywhere, sticking screwdriver through foot, and belting hand holding screw driver several times in process.

Ok go to fit new bearings, and realise that punt should have been "ford"

Load up mates, back to Repco for right bearings.

Get home, realise that a bit of axle grease is needed, once again scrounge neighbours for some axle grease, realise your out of Brewski's do a quick run down the local bottlo for another carton.

Have a few more Brewski's, realise it is to dark to see what you are doing, so retire with mates to the lounge room to finish off carton.

Sunday
Have a panadol sandwich for breakfast.
Stagger outside to see trailer parts scattered everywhere, and remember you were only half way through doing the bearings. Have the last Brewski to console yourself.

Belt new bearing seats into hubs, each blow threatening to lift the top of your head off. Pack new bearings with grease, covering self and concrete driveway in process.