View Full Version : New boat

Payneful
01-09-2006, 10:49 AM
Goodbye Payneful .... Hello Reel Payne

Just finished fitting out my new boat. It's 5.4 meters long and is powered by a 60 yammy 4stroke. Self draining deck. Does about 27-28 knots. In good weather she gets about 2 nautical miles per litre cruising at 20 knots. I fitted her out myself. Mostly it was a motor/electronics transplant from the old clark (Payneful).

I am very happy with the performance and is VERY dry for a centre console boat. Took it out for a run yesterday in 15/20s and didn't get wet (a little bit on one arm at one stage).

Being shallow drafted i can fish the creeks as well. (A good creek is about 1/2 hour run over open water up here)

Here are some pictures.

Payneful
01-09-2006, 10:50 AM
Console

Payneful
01-09-2006, 10:50 AM
back

Payneful
01-09-2006, 10:51 AM
Inbuilt esky. Great for keeping the drinks and food away from the fish!

Payneful
01-09-2006, 10:53 AM
Big casting platform ... should be good for GT and Barra hunting ... loads of dry storage space below as well

01-09-2006, 11:00 AM
very spiffy
Excellent job with the fitout [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]
What sort of hull is it??
I see the rods are already in and no rego numbers. That's dedicated. ;)
Cheers and the best of luck with the boat

Payneful
01-09-2006, 11:02 AM
Finga

Up here in the territory boats don't have to be registered! Nor do you need a licence ... nor do you have to be sober....

I don't particually agree with this (licence and drinking bit) ... but thats how it is...

Nice not having to pay for rego each year though!

Sam

01-09-2006, 11:25 AM
Which bit of the territory are you at??

Payneful
01-09-2006, 11:31 AM
In Gove (Nhulunbuy) in East Arhnem land ... good fishing up here!

marlinqld
01-09-2006, 11:47 AM
Nice job w3ell done mate

Az
01-09-2006, 12:18 PM
nice rig mate, what type of hull is it?

Fisher4life
01-09-2006, 12:20 PM
i've heard alot about the fishing up there in Gove, however the whole non regestred boats and lisences and drinking thing is all new to me... and i'm with you, i'm not too sure i'd agree with the whole drinking and lisenceing thing

vermin
01-09-2006, 12:55 PM
Nice. What breed of boat is that?

Payneful
01-09-2006, 12:59 PM
Hey Guys

It's an Opal 5.4, it's built in Cairns. Had it shipped over here on the barge. Awesome boat for its size and hp requirements. Basically the only long boat(ish) that has high sides that I could find.

Sam

reef_king
01-09-2006, 01:19 PM
very sweet looking rig, wish i had one for the calm days/creeks as the cat chews about 3.5litres per nuatical mile.

ty

MattyDucati
01-09-2006, 04:36 PM
Nice boat Sam! thats the boat i was on the hunt for, a longish boat with high sides to keep the crocs out! ;D
I'll might see it soon as i have just signed up at the SPS at alcan in gove!
I start on the 25th.
Cheers Matt

Great_White
01-09-2006, 04:46 PM
Nice looking rig hope she serves you well ;)

Spent 2 years up in Darwin, only place you can have a cold shower and start sweating as soon as you hop out #;D ;D ;D

Still have some good memories from up there ;)

Peter :)

Payneful
01-09-2006, 08:30 PM
Yep it sure is hot up here! Haven't worn anything other than shirts and shorts this year! Gove is a little cooler than Darwin though. I am dreaming up a canopy for the boat to try and get out of the sun .... difficult if you want to retain the advantages of a centre console design!

Sam

Bundy_Burp
01-09-2006, 08:48 PM
Very nice I like the job you have done with the fitout very neat

Bundy 8-)

noluck
01-09-2006, 10:17 PM
Sam
nice boat mate wish u all the best and many fish hit that esky
i hoping one day u will take me fishing in that nice boat

cheers no_luck

mitch_05
02-09-2006, 06:17 AM
nice rig 8-)

pegasus
02-09-2006, 03:42 PM
Sam,

very nice looking rig-sharp- reckon its a pretty safe bet some nice fish are going to be checking out the inside of that rig

best regards,

lew

griz066
02-09-2006, 06:26 PM
Very very nice mate 8-)