PDA

View Full Version : Props & Ratio's Anyone!

BilgeBoy
08-09-2006, 09:35 PM
Hi all

just bought a 2002 4.35 forward steer Alley Craft with a oil injected 50. The boat is second hand and clean as...but the prop looks like its been cultivating paddocks and is a bit worse for wear.

Anyone got any good advice...should I invest in a Stainless...and whats would be a good size/pitch for the combo I have. Keep in mind I am a novice boaty...So I will appologise now to all the sand banks I am going to hit.

:-[

BaysideMarine
08-09-2006, 09:41 PM
What engine is it and what prop is presently fitted (either stamped on the side of the prop or stamped into the hub of the prop around the lock nut.

Cheers

BilgeBoy
08-09-2006, 10:14 PM
Yeah sorry

Its a Yamaha 2 stroke 50 oil injected (model 50HWHTO) cant find a code on the prop...but will have a look in the daylight! here is a pic of the setup as well

It came with a Warranty manual...but that just says the propeller selection is "ST"

BaysideMarine
08-09-2006, 10:28 PM
OK. Yammy props usually have their pitch stamped on the prop side and if my memory serves me correctly it will have the pitch (ie 12) followed by the letter T I think....

In any case, the right prop for general purpose boating is the prop that puts your engine within the recommended full throttle range (or WOT for all the wowsers) when you are at full throttle.

Somewhere close to 5500rpm would be max throttle for your engine with a range of say 5000-5500. You want to be near the top end of the range.

An engine that slightly OVER revs is not usually an issue but an engine that UNDER revs is an engine that is LUGGING and an engine that is unhappy and will blow up..... leaving you with funky rearranged pistons..... and a funky empty wallet...... :( :(