PDA

View Full Version : tig welding tinnie advice please

gutzy
11-09-2006, 08:39 PM
the fatherinlaw is getting one soon and my eyes lit up.
Ive been wanting to put a few mods in my boat and this sounds like the time to do it.
Is there any special things I should know before I put in stuff like a floor(wood at present), rocket launchers , storage under floor?
I know weight is a factor but is there anything you could recommend?? ;)

finga64
11-09-2006, 08:42 PM
First make sure the tig can do ali.
It needs to be an AC/DC one not just DC.
Other then that can't wait for the pictures :) Go to town young fella #:)

fishingjew
11-09-2006, 09:19 PM
My question is have you ever used one before?

gutzy
11-09-2006, 09:35 PM
no but the inlaw is a panelbeater by trade and is gunna help me on this project.
Cant wait and will show pics as soon as its done ;D ;D

the_baker
11-09-2006, 11:30 PM
OH YEAH go sick mate #;D

lippa
12-09-2006, 01:14 AM
tig welding ally is hard!!! the substrates have to be perfectly clean. where is a boiler maker, to tell this bloke, how to do it properly???????

blaze
12-09-2006, 06:20 AM
clean ever thing you weld with a STAINLESS wire brush (make sure this brush is not used on any other steel). Clean, clean and clean as any impurities cause problems. A tig will start at about $3500 just to weld 3mm plate, 3 phase unit for any thing thicker. Not that hard to do if you have basic welding princables. Practice and practice and then some more practcie. Not welder my self but have a go at any thing. Have fun
cheers
blaze

Owen
12-09-2006, 07:46 AM
Gutzy,

First have a look at these sites.

http://www.millerwelds.com/pdf/gtawbook.pdf

http://www.lincolnelectric.com/knowledge/articles/content/tigalum.asphttp://www.lincolnelectric.com/knowledge/articles/content/tigalum.asp

If you're in Gladstone, you're welcome to drop into work & I'll give you some pointers.
Or just PM me. It'd help if you tell me what make & model machine you're getting.

cheers,
Owen

Noelm