PDA

View Full Version : singld handed launch / retreive

quigley595
11-09-2006, 07:40 AM
Hi folks,
just wondering how many of you guys go out in the boat alone, and how do you go launching & retreiving the boat alone. I have a 4.8 mtr ally.
Is there a particular etiquette on the ramp when you are on your own, taking longer to get the boat in/out and the car to & from the ramp?

As you may guess, I'm not too experienced.... only recently got a boat.

Mike

finga64
11-09-2006, 08:04 AM
Best idea is go down to the ramp where you plan to regularly launch from for a few hours and watch before you even take the boat down.
Each ramp is different.
You might get some real good pointers and might also see what NOT to do as well.
Might get a few laughs as well #:)
It's pretty easy for me to launch alone as I have a tiny tinny and launch from a ramp with a sandy beach next to it.
I always have a rope on the front and don't undo the safety chain until your ready to push the boat off.
I also don't drown the trailer. I let the rollers and slides guide the boat off when I give it the heev ho. (you'll learn when you watch a few boats just how much water you need to safely launch your boat without damage).
Then it's easy to pull the boat around on the sand.
Retrieval: I back the trailer down and pending on the direction of the current push the boat upcurrent a tad when I put the winch hook in the eye. Hopefully by the time I get to the front of the trailer to winch it on the current has let the boat swing around so it's in line with the rollers. I also hold the rope on the front of the boat so there is some tension between the boat and the rear roller. Just so the current doesn't drag the whole boat away.
I winch it on a tad, check that everything lines up and then into it.
make sure you put the safety chain on before you move the car and trailer.