View Full Version : Rego numbers buy or paint on them
I Have finished painting my tinny.
What is the best way to go with rego numbers .
Buy the standard ones or paint them on as a lot of new boats are doing this.
Do not panic this will not be a long thread.
I can picture you saying oh no here we go again. ;D ;D ;D
Troy
maxwellson
14-09-2006, 05:17 AM
congrats on finishing your project troy
you can buy your stickers from any boating shop or where you register it normally...
just draw a faint pencil line where you want the bottom of the letters to fall..and line them up vertically....
easier than painting them on i thinks ..
cheers Maxi
griz066
14-09-2006, 05:40 AM
I hate painting >:( so mine are stickers ;D
14-09-2006, 06:28 AM
mate, with all the hard yakka you've done it's easier to go for a bit of style and get some pre-cut vinyl lettering. Try this link and experiment.
http://www.ausfish.com.au/sticker/
In the end they may work out cheaper then the big black letters/numbers from the shops, come in any colour to suit your boat, look good and you can do any font you want.
They come already spaced out and easy as pie to apply.
Hey that rhymes. I'm a poet and didn't know it :)
Cheers Scott
poor_mans_barra
14-09-2006, 07:08 AM
Hi Troy, just my 2 cents worth. Go see your local sign writer/sticker man and get a set made up. Our local guy does them for about $25 pair They look good, come in any colour and go on straight as they are already lined up.
Cheers PMB
USE THE AUSFISH STICKER SECTION..............
helps advertisers on this site and keeps this site running. ;D ;D ;D
Fez
gunna
14-09-2006, 08:15 AM
Depends on how fancy you want the boat to look. I recently bought just a normal set from Whitworths. Cheap as chips, good quality and look fine in my opinion. Lot less work - but thats just me ;) ;)
go to a boat graphics man,and get what you want,how you want it. Or buy stock standard from Bias,or Whitworths.Is the boat ribbed?If so watch your finished size
David
Did mine with a shadow.I looked at Ausfish first,but the price difference was great.Would have gone Ausfish otherwise
Grand_Marlin
14-09-2006, 01:14 PM
Troy,
Go the whole hog ... buy an airbrush and do a big graphic art and the rego numbers on the boat in some coool shades 8-)
Troy,
Or give it to Grand Marlin to do.
How are you Pete.
David
Grand_Marlin
14-09-2006, 05:31 PM
G'day Dave - I am good thanks - how's ya'self?
TROY 8-) 8-) 8-) 8-)
I would be honoured to do your tinny.....
I could air brush it the same as this van .... just I would disguise it as a cat - then everyone would look at you, just as if you were driving a Lamborghini ;D
Troy,
Go the whole hog ... buy an airbrush and do a big graphic art and the rego numbers on the boat in some coool shades #8-)
Pete did you use a airbrush on your pussie or a tooth brush.
What ever you used must be good stuff if the old pussie has not fallen apart or is it still wet.
Troy
CHRIS_aka_GWH
14-09-2006, 07:16 PM
I could air brush it the same as this van ....
bugger the van Pete !!!
I want the car parked in front of it .....
Pete,
Love your colour but i would prefer the car over your cat.
Cats are top boats and probably will kill a mono but i am happy with what i have.
Enyoy your fishing and boating while we still can.
Love the debates you and i have with cats v monos and it will continue my friend while we can use our boats.
But it is in the hands of the pollies.
I have enjoyed our banter and without that i thing things would get pretty boring and this is why i love this site.
Troy
Grand_Marlin
15-09-2006, 05:40 AM
Awwwww Troy, that i so sweet :-*
Chris ... were you joking about the car?? take a closer look if you missed it, it is actually airbrushed on the side of the van ;D
Awwwww Troy, that i so sweet #:-*
Chris ... were you joking about the car?? #take a closer look if you missed it, it is actually airbrushed on the side of the van #;D
Awwwwwwwwwwwwww Pete i am #not availble sorry to let you down maybe you connact Ajoh #;D ;D ;D
I think he is a mod.
He will not admit it and i can under stand why.
:-/ :-/ :-/
How is things going down your way as far as clousers as i have been hearing some very worrying rumours up here that the word being spread around up in the north is mind boggling if it is true.
Troy