PDA

View Full Version : Little boat in big Moreton Bay

Genomic
19-09-2006, 09:53 AM
I'm new to the world of boating, so firstly apologies in advance for the number of inane and naive posts I will no doubt be posting in the future.

I have just bought a 3.6m stessl HD tinnie (not sure of the model; the beam width of their older 3.6m boats is 1.5m and mine is 1.4m, and they don't make 3.6m HD tinnies anymore) with a 15hp 2-stroke tohatsu.

Anyhow, I've taken it out in Logan River a couple of times and, from my limited knowledge seems a great little boat. However, when I'm a little more experienced I'd like to take it out from Cleveland Point, and other 'smooth water' and 'partially smooth water' areas in Moreton Bay and elsewhere. Can my little boat handle more open waters like this, or should I just stick to rivers and very protected estuaries (if so, I'll start saving up for a bigger boar immediately ;))

On that topic, what is the minimum recommended size (and type?) of tinnie for safe usage in the more open areas in Moreton Bay in a fairly wide range of conditions?

Blackened
19-09-2006, 10:00 AM
G'day
Ok.... In my opinion a 3.6 is really only for rivers, creeks and maybe even the pumistone passage. Although the passage can get rather nasty.

You do have a good thing there with a 15 on the back. For waters like off of clevelenad and over to peel, I dare say a 3.6 is to small. You'd be more suited to around coochie.

I have a 3.7 with a 9.9. It's only a tinny but I have spent quite a few years in this boat out on the bay and have no worries taking that from manly to moreton and the likes, like I have done many times before.

It gets to the knowledge of skipper, skill, confidence and type of vessel.

Honestly, the smallest tinny i'd be comfortable in the bay with if i was looking to upgrade would be about a 4.5M HD one. Something with at least 3mm bottom and 2mm sides.

Others would have no doubt different views about this, but hey... thats why we are human.