estimated $80 million into the economy each year

pity it wasnt a bit warmer

marlinqld
28-09-2006, 05:38 PM
1/ Tasmania is only 40kms wide so everyone HAS to live near the sea ;D
2/ Tasmania is big enough for an economy? ;D ;) ;) ::) :o
3/ You said NEARLY 1 in 20.....does that mean like 0.76 tassies have a boat? ;D ;D ;D ;) ;) :P :P

Just joking mate....too bloody cold down there, how does the wind affect you? how often would you get out down there?

28-09-2006, 06:01 PM
sorta depends how keen you are, from now on I fish most weekends somewhere. Winter would be our most settled predictable winds, spring the worst. No different to any where else really.

Grand_Marlin
28-09-2006, 07:47 PM
It is a known fact that 89.6% of statistics are made up on the spot :o

Tassie is heaps different to Queensland....

up here 1 in 2 has a boat .... 1 in 100 has a licence ;D ;D ;D or thats the way it seems on the water :)

Pirate_Pete_Tas
28-09-2006, 08:07 PM
Its a pitty we are not included as a state in the survey on PFDs as per this link

http://www.nmsc.gov.au/survey_pfd.html

I sent them an email 2 days ago & havent had a reply as yet????

28-09-2006, 09:12 PM
Have also sent email

30-09-2006, 02:41 PM
Sometimes they listen when you inform them of their errors.

Dear Robert

Thank you for drawing to our attention the omission in our drop down box re. Tasmania. This is being corrected and we value any input you may have to say on our survey.

NMSC Secretariat

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Sent: Thursday, 28 September 2006 9:12 PM
To: NMSC Secretariat
Subject: Life jacket survey

To whom it may concern

As an avid boater of 30 years I thought I would take the time to fill the survey out in regards to life jackets for rec boating.

I proceded to fill the survey out and got to the area to select my state only to find Tasmania does not exsist.

I know we are a small state with a small population but we are a state and should have a democratic right to fill out a survey if we inclined to do so.

Robert Blazely

Smithton

TASMANIA

Pirate_Pete_Tas
30-09-2006, 05:09 PM
I got the same reply but the site isnt fixed yet. In the time it took to type the reply they could have fixed the page as well.