View Full Version : Nearly got the new boat

Daan1
26-09-2006, 08:11 AM
Well I thought I would have my new boat! But I have a picture to look at at least.

murf
26-09-2006, 11:25 AM
TOO NICE
no fish blood and guts allowed ;D ;D ;D
it must be killing you to have to keep waiting :(
Murf

Pistol_P
26-09-2006, 11:55 AM
top boat mate, after a deckie?

Daan1
26-09-2006, 01:40 PM
It was on it's way being delivered 'til the nuts sheared off the hub - back to the workshop!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Maybe Thursday?

griz066
26-09-2006, 02:11 PM
Sounds dodgy to me why did they shear off a brand new hub? :o

Daan1
26-09-2006, 06:00 PM
Here is a photo of the offending hub. Has anyone else had this problem?

Chromedome
26-09-2006, 07:56 PM
I know the waiting feeling, ordered a boat at the boat show, i keep getting the"coupla days" thing

Seahorse
26-09-2006, 08:04 PM
the wait would kill me. boat looks great. have fun

26-09-2006, 08:12 PM
Mate if the new rim has sheared off a new set of studs like that #i'd be asking "why"???? #:(

Did the wheel bearings seize ??

Did they hit the breaks hard and sheer off ??

I haven't seen that before from new ???

Dig further ! it's your investment & you deserve to know Why ?? #;)

26-09-2006, 08:19 PM
my thoughts are that somebody got a bit carried away doing up the wheel nuts

HarryO
26-09-2006, 08:21 PM
G'day Daan1,

Very nice vessel indeed...

RE: HUB. Seen that a few times, hey.

Gotta be very careful when rattling the nuts up
on Chinese rotors...... ;)

Harry.

capt
26-09-2006, 08:40 PM
DAAN , I reckon they never did the wheel nuts up tight enough , I know from experience , and you will end up with a new rim ! Good luck with your new rig ... JIMMY

Daan1
27-09-2006, 08:12 AM
He's not sure what happened. Loud bang - wheel gone. No heavy breaking, no bump, no seized bearing. Which leaves that the nuts may have been done up too tight. I will put forward that possibility. I'm just glad that I didn't go and pick the boat up and have all the drama.
Has anyone had experience with suzuki 70's? What is the go running the motor in?

mick_t
27-09-2006, 11:36 PM
I would say that someone hasn't done them up tight enough. This is what happens when they are left loose!

outsiderskip
28-09-2006, 02:51 AM
it hapened to me
wheel nuts came loose

pete

Daan1
28-09-2006, 09:59 AM
The nuts were not re-tightened after 15 odd k a couple of times. To start with they were not pulled into the hub correctly. A costly and painful exercise!!!!!!!!!!
Hopefully some sea trials over the next week of holidays. It's tough being a teacher!!!!

haggis
28-09-2006, 09:52 PM
I know how you feel .
put my new boat in water last Sunday then took it straight back out .
with out starting the engine . bilge pump works pretty good though .
just got the boat back so fingers crossed that I will crank the new motor
this weekend .
cheers fae haggis .. >:(

seafarer3
29-09-2006, 02:04 PM
Hey,
Very nice rig Daan,Yeh the only way to do that is to forget to tighten up the nut's....Maybe thaty were only hand tight..I'd be asking "What The"
to whoever sold it to you......

Daan1
02-10-2006, 02:20 PM
been out several times now. Last trip no dramas - hooray!!!!!!!! runs well, love the trim tabs

02-10-2006, 02:29 PM
love the trim tabs

That boat does not work without them with heavy 4 strokes. What do I mean? Do a search on Stingers by Witchdoctor in this forum. After 20 odd pages of posts they suddenly stopped. I wonder why?