View Full Version : Fungus in the Four Five Five

oddbudman
03-10-2006, 12:22 PM
Around a month ago I purchased my new boat. Its a Seajay 455 Escape - a step up from my old 3.75m Stessco.
It has a 50hp 4st Yammy on the back and feels nice and stable. I plan on taking it out in the bay and perhaps even outside on good days during summer to chase some spotty macks.

The first weekend voyage went well but by this time my mind was set on recarpeting the floors and giving the boat a little bit of TLC. When I purchased the boat I could see that the carpets were worn and that it was a little soft underfoot in a few parts. Anyway, this thread details the work i've done to the boat.

Here is a pic from its first trip - kudos to anyone who can pick the spot :)

oddbudman
03-10-2006, 12:23 PM
After the first trip the decision was made to fix things, here are the original floors

oddbudman
03-10-2006, 12:23 PM
More

oddbudman
03-10-2006, 12:24 PM
More - the yellow bits peaking through the carpet are fungus growing , these are the areas that felt soft underfoot. Note also the burn marks from a stove accident.

oddbudman
03-10-2006, 12:25 PM
Before Pic of the boat

oddbudman
03-10-2006, 12:26 PM
Let the fun begin - Ripping up the old floorboards and removing the carpet.

oddbudman
03-10-2006, 12:28 PM
More fun - i used a set of pliers to remove all the securing staples

oddbudman
03-10-2006, 12:30 PM
Here are some pics of the fungus that was eating away at the floors making them rot.

oddbudman
03-10-2006, 12:31 PM
Evil stuff - felt like natures polystyrene.

oddbudman
03-10-2006, 12:32 PM
I then sanded all the floorboards that I was reusing, and sealed them with some paint I had left over from a previous project.

oddbudman
03-10-2006, 12:33 PM
I pulled all the positive floatation out so I could clean out the hull - the hull inside was a real mess, with compounded salt dirt residue everywhere, especially at the transom. It took a fair bit of cleaning.

oddbudman
03-10-2006, 12:34 PM
Next I cleaned the hull out - I wasn't too anal, but I did hit most areas inside and out with a pressure hose, some CT18 and a scrubbing brush.

oddbudman
03-10-2006, 12:34 PM
More

oddbudman
03-10-2006, 12:35 PM
Outside

oddbudman
03-10-2006, 12:37 PM
Next step was to replace the fungus boards with new ones. I used exterior structural ply 12mm thick. I got 2 2400x1200 sheets for $49 each. For the next step JOM gave me a hand.

This is JOM cutting out the new floor.

oddbudman
03-10-2006, 12:39 PM
We simply used the fungus floors as a template for the two replacement floors, so it ended up being pretty straight forward. After all the cutting and routing we had to seal the floors some more - this time i used an exterior undercoat.

oddbudman
03-10-2006, 12:40 PM
More :)

oddbudman
03-10-2006, 12:44 PM
Time to start the carpeting. I used a turf adhesive called instant pro.

oddbudman
03-10-2006, 12:45 PM
New floors being installed - I used the same securing method as the original - A stainless screw with a cup washer. Here I was making sure all the front casting deck fitted together before capeting the hatch.

oddbudman
03-10-2006, 12:46 PM
Putting the carpets in was enjoyable with Roy and HG calling the AFL final on the radio :)

oddbudman
03-10-2006, 12:48 PM
I also plan on re vinyling the seats as the vinyl on the original seats is cracked and weathered. Anyone know a place that can do this? I have removed the vinyl and staples, so its just a matter of stapling some replacement vinyl on the cushions.

oddbudman
03-10-2006, 12:48 PM
bottom of cushion - i have now removed all the staples and vinyl.

oddbudman
03-10-2006, 12:50 PM
I have now started rewiring the boat (I gutted all the factory wiring).

oddbudman
03-10-2006, 12:51 PM
Thats pretty much where things are at as at 3rd October 06'. I plan on having the boat ready for its first outing this weekend, so hopefully I can post pics of the electrical fitout by the weeked.

oddbudman

wessel
03-10-2006, 01:42 PM
A man, his boat in need of some TLC, a HUGE shed, radio in the background, friends dropping by and lending a hand, power tools all over the place.....the result of your efforts taking shape in front of your eyes.....
what more can a man want?

Looks like a job well done mate, enjoy the results.

Wessel

JustOneMore
03-10-2006, 02:48 PM
Toddo,

That's starting to look great. Better than expected. Didn't take much to improve the looks of the old girl either. Good work mate and I can see many hours of fishing in that beauty! ;)

Keep the posts coming as I want to see the progress and final result.

fishin_till_late
03-10-2006, 03:20 PM
Good job mate....will feel satisfying knowing you've done all that work yaself Im sure. Good luck getting out on the weekend.
Just out of curiosity how old is the boat?
It doesn't look all that old and you'd expect the floors to last longer

cheers jono

Great_White
03-10-2006, 03:31 PM
What a top job, you would be a tradie (My guess would be a sparkie) have a go at the seats yourself. They don't look to be too difficult ;) ;) ;)

Peter :)

oddbudman
03-10-2006, 04:59 PM
I'm an microelectronic engineer. So sparky was not too far off. I think i'll try and do the seats myself as I already have the vinyl, i just need to get hold of a suitable staple gun (my current gun uses thicker staples).

The electrical fitout is coming together well its going to use a 6 way switchboard and run 2 12V sockets (one front and one back), Nav lights, Anchor Lights, Bilge pump, Gunnel lights, Sounder and GPS - all fused and soldered connections ::).

jono,
The boat is a 2002 - but it was kept outside - it didn't get the TLC it probaby deserved - I estimate that 3kg of sand came out of the the carpets alone when i pulled them up.

Its a good thing it's a aluminium boat and not a fiberglass one thats for sure :)

Murks
03-10-2006, 05:05 PM
What a great report ...now all ya gotta do is get the carpets all bloody and full of fish guts... ;D ;D

BrandonH
03-10-2006, 08:31 PM
Nice work mate ;) I reckon it will be an great boat to fish from :) Thinking of going up myself from the 3.7 as i would enjoy fishing the bay when i can!! cept its going to be a while b4 i can get something suitable :'( :'(

Looking forward to the rest of the project!!!!!

Brandon...

Slient
04-10-2006, 07:32 AM
Todd,

When the renovation is complete and it'll be looking a new brand... 8-)
I trust you're doing a good job then...
:-[ Problem is when your boat's ready and no crew then... ;D you know what I mean JOM already own and me next week... ;D
Forward to see the final touch

Happy renovating
Silent

JustOneMore
10-10-2006, 02:18 PM
Thought I would post a few pic's of the maiden voyage with the new wiring and floors. Looks good and goes even better.

JustOneMore
10-10-2006, 02:20 PM
First fish for the new boat.

JustOneMore
10-10-2006, 02:39 PM
Travelling along like a dream. It's not as cold as the tall skinny bloke makes out!