View Full Version : 912 power winch problems

troy
07-10-2006, 03:49 PM
I have mentioned this problem before.
I Have a 625 cruise craft explorer with a 912 power winch.
Has always been very slow pulling up the boat.
Members advised me that the wiring was to light so i had the vehicle rewired with heavy cable and when i used it this morning same problem and the last 2 metres i thought it was not going to make it.
I purchased the winch from Withworths in Cairns which is about 600 klms away and i have 1 month warranty left.
The ramp is very steep but this winch should have plenty of power for my boat.
any advise.
Thanks.
Troy.
ps had the vehicle running while using winch

07-10-2006, 04:41 PM
Troy is it single line pull or double (do you use a pulley system ??)

07-10-2006, 04:59 PM
Hey Troy, Does anything get hot ie winch or cables or any terminals from the battery post to the winch? If there's any heat that's were your problem may be.
Has it got a manual winch facility?? If so try manual operation to see if there's something jamming it or as Gary says it maybe just trying too hard.
If you can't find the problem it might be worth a trip to the auto lecty to check everything out before warantee's out.

troy
07-10-2006, 05:20 PM
Troy is it single line pull or double (do you use a pulley system ??)

Spaniard-King,
I use a single line pull never tried double line.
Could it be the way they set the trailer up.
Troy

mark221263
07-10-2006, 07:23 PM
I use mine for a earlier Cruise craft 580 outsider with a single line pull and have no problems but have almost broken a cable once. All up boat & trailer weight is 1900kg so it must be close to your boat.

Trailer set is important especially if you have a sticky or seized roller.

If your ramp is steep a double line pull would be a good thing. You will probably find the speed altough 1/2 at no load will be quicker overall as the winch won't slow down as much and you are reducing the load on the winch components which is a good thing.

Cheers Mark

jimbo59
07-10-2006, 07:55 PM
Your gunna have to double it up troy.Mine did the same thing when i pulled my formula out.

07-10-2006, 09:08 PM
heath is using a 712 I think... on his 6M explorer with double line pull no problems
be worth a go

Grand_Marlin
08-10-2006, 06:00 AM
It still seems strange that the 912 is struggling with a single line pull.
It is their top of the line winch.

They are rated to 4.5 tonne boat weight, and 1.6 tonne capacity to pull a dead weight (single pull)
Therefore it has the capacity to skulldrag Troy's boat up the trailer.

We pulled up the 26ft Caribbean which is in excess of 4 tonne, with a 912 powerwinch, single pull - no trouble.

Troy, your boat is not old, so the trailer should be fine....?

Contact the place you purchased it from (back it up in writing) and tell them you still have a problem ... at least that way your warranty claim has been substantiated, even if it does go over the cut off date.

Tell them it has been slow since birth ... tell them you have heavy wiring.

It may well be a problem within the winch .... but I dont know what :-/

At least this covers your ass if it is.

Two questions ... what size wire do you have?

How far in the water do you put your trailer ... with reference to how far up the mudguards the water comes?

ps - if you owned a cat you could just drive it on ;)

shubeej
08-10-2006, 06:37 AM
troy , why dont you take it to one of the whitworth stores in brisbane.at least you might be able to talk to somebody face to face

08-10-2006, 07:46 AM
As the others have said Troy, the 912 will pull an elephant backwards.

However in saying that the ramp angle will have a lot to do with the load it will pull.

The winch will be rated for a rolling weight. That is the weight it can pull when pulling parallel to the ground( 1.6t) . The steeper the ramp, the less the rolling weight will be.

Eg A person pushing a car. There is no way a person could lift the car as a dead weight, however a person can easily push a car when sitting on flat ground and as the surface gets steeper, the harder it is for the person to push. It is exactly the same when winching the boat onto the trailer on a steep ramp. So I reckon a double line pulley will be the way to go.

As Garry said, I use a 712 with a double line pulley when using a steep ramp to pull my 600 explorer out, however when at a ramp with a slight angle & use single line no worries.

troy
08-10-2006, 08:02 AM
It still seems strange that the 912 is struggling with a single line pull.
It is their top of the line winch.

They are rated to 4.5 tonne boat weight, and 1.6 tonne capacity to pull a dead weight (single pull)
Therefore it has the capacity to skulldrag Troy's boat up the trailer.

We pulled up the 26ft Caribbean which is in excess of 4 tonne, with a 912 powerwinch, single pull - no trouble.

Troy, your boat is not old, so the trailer should be fine....?

Contact the place you purchased it from (back it up in writing) and tell them you still have a problem ... at least that way your warranty claim has been substantiated, even if it does go over the cut off date.

Tell them it has been slow since birth ... tell them you have heavy wiring.

It may well be a problem within the winch .... but I dont know what #:-/

At least this covers your ass if it is.

Two questions ... what size wire do you have?

How far in the water do you put your trailer ... with reference to how far up the mudguards the water comes?

ps - if you owned a cat you could just drive it on #;)
Pete.
I Only put the back wheels in just below the bearings.
I am wondering if it is the way the trailer is set up as it does not sit on the keel rollers and i have contacted the dealer on several occasions about this and have been told they set the trailer up like this as it stops the boat going all over the place when winching it up and others on this site have there trailers
done this way.
If i do have to take the winch off it is spot welded on the nuts so what is the best way to tackle this.
You Pussie
Troy
Wiring is 10 mls

Grand_Marlin
08-10-2006, 08:34 AM
G'day Troy,

Wiring is fine....

Try the double pull first, as you are really working the winch hard by not having the trailer in the water.

Yep ... double pull for sure.

'Cos if the winch was crook, something would have given out by now.

If you have to remove the spot welds, simplt use a 4" grinder and gently grind the welds off.

The best approach to this in your special case, would be to start grinding at the propellor and work your way up through the hull until you get to the spot welds on the nuts ;D ;D ;D

By then you will have fixed all your problems, and you can then buy a Cat 8-)

troy
08-10-2006, 10:18 AM
Very funny Pete but what i have heard about cats you would not even need a grinder just a stanley knife would dismantle the heaps of garbage. ;D ;D :-*
Troy

08-10-2006, 01:31 PM
Hi Troy

B gger; still having hassels, check out this site

http://www.powerwinch.com/pdf/912/P7033602AV.pdf

As has been suggested previously the double wire pull is worth using. I use 10 % (6degree) gradient ramps (Standard Govt funded Council ramp)and I still use double wire.

"This stuff is off the web site above and is cleare on it "
% incline Surface 5% 10% 20% 30% 50% 70% 100%
(° incline) 0° 3° 6° 11° 17° 26° 35° 45°
Single Line Double Approximate* Approximate *
Model Capacity Line Pull Boat Weight Boat Size
315 1,650 lb. — 4,000 lb. 14-17 ft.
712A 2,400 lb. 4,300 lb. 7,500 lb. 17-23 ft.
912 4,000 lb. 7,500 lb. 11,500 lb. 23-30 ft.
* Boat size and weight is approximate and varies depending on boat type. When calculating boat weight be sure to use fully loaded
weight - including boat, motor, fuel, water, gear etc.
315 16,500 10,005 7,530 5,250 3,915 2,790 2,295 1,935
712A 24,000 13,340 10,040 6,800 5,220 3,720 3,060 2,580
912 40,000 23,345 17,570 11,900 9,135 6,510 5,355 4,515
• A 10% incline (or 6°) is 1 foot rise in 10 ft.
• To convert from pounds (lbs) to kilos (kgs) divide by 2.2.
• Capacity can be increased (almost doubled) by using a pulley block.

Are all your rollers (keel or not should not matter) free running?

I used to use the single wire pull and it worked ok but as I got sick of lots of brake maintenance I went double wire with idler pully and now the brakes dont get wet and with free rollers lifes easier. Less washing as the trailer is not getting salt water on it any more either.

Good luck

troy
08-10-2006, 04:49 PM
Hi Troy

B gger; still having hassels, check out this site

http://www.powerwinch.com/pdf/912/P7033602AV.pdf

As has been suggested previously the double wire pull is worth using. #I use 10 % (6degree) gradient ramps (Standard Govt funded Council ramp)and I still use double wire.

"This stuff is off the web site above and is cleare on it "
% incline Surface 5% 10% 20% 30% 50% 70% 100%
(° incline) 0° 3° 6° 11° 17° 26° 35° 45°
Single Line Double Approximate* Approximate *
Model Capacity Line Pull Boat Weight Boat Size
# #315 1,650 lb. — 4,000 lb. 14-17 ft.
# #712A 2,400 lb. 4,300 lb. 7,500 lb. 17-23 ft.
# # 912 4,000 lb. 7,500 lb. 11,500 lb. 23-30 ft.
* Boat size and weight is approximate and varies depending on boat type. When calculating boat weight be sure to use fully loaded
weight - including boat, motor, fuel, water, gear etc.
315 16,500 10,005 7,530 5,250 3,915 2,790 2,295 1,935
712A 24,000 13,340 10,040 6,800 5,220 3,720 3,060 2,580
912 40,000 23,345 17,570 11,900 9,135 6,510 5,355 4,515
• A 10% incline (or 6°) is 1 foot rise in 10 ft.
• To convert from pounds (lbs) to kilos (kgs) divide by 2.2.
• Capacity can be increased (almost doubled) by using a pulley block.

Are all your rollers (keel or not should not matter) free running?

I used to use the single wire pull and it worked ok but as I got sick of lots of brake maintenance I went double wire with idler pully and now the brakes dont get wet and with free rollers lifes easier. #Less washing as the trailer is not getting salt water on it any more either.

Good luck

Chimo,
MYy boat motor and trailer weight is 2.20 tonne and i do not know the weight of the trailer but when i was winching it up i had about 200 litres of fuel and around 150 kgs of gear.
The ramp would be at least 25 degrees so how would you rate that with the scale on the power winch.
Also is setting up the double line pull easy and is it hard to change back to single line pull as i have never taken much notice of this.
Troy

08-10-2006, 05:09 PM
Troy

Thats a steep ramp!
Its not that hard to change over and back if you need too
Ring me 0429 841161

08-10-2006, 05:32 PM
ramp angles are deceiving. Get yourself a cheap inclonometer from bunnings for about 10 bucks. It'll tell you the angle of the ramp.

Grand_Marlin
08-10-2006, 06:14 PM
or take your spirit level and get the fall in mm per metre ... then convert to & fall or degrees :)

troy
08-10-2006, 07:44 PM
Thanks for all the advise from all of you but i am still worrired that this will take a lot of working out.
Some thing is wrong and i cannot figure it out.
I am concerned that the next time i use the winch i could viod my warranty.
Troy

Getout
09-10-2006, 09:00 AM
Troy, I have a 625 Outsider with a 912 Powerwinch. I winch on just like you do with trailer just in the water and single pull. It takes about two minutes but no problem. Are the trailer rollers turning freely? Perhaps your keel rollers are too high and not letting the wobble rollers take their fair share of the load? The 912 comes with a pulley for double-up pull. Try it and see if the problem improves. It will take longer.

troy
10-10-2006, 07:19 PM
I contacted Whitworst today and told them my problem and they said with a 35% Incline the 912 power winch on a single line pull will winch up a boat up to 6000 pounds.
They told me they will make a few phone calls.
What comes out of this has got me buggered.
Troy

troy
11-10-2006, 07:27 PM
I contacted Whitworst today and told them my problem and they said with a 35% Incline the 912 power winch on a single line pull will winch up a boat up to 6000 pounds.
They told me they will make a few phone calls.
What comes out of this has got me buggered.
Troy
This could help members to give me advise.
Whitworts contacted me today and said i should send the winch back as it would pull a lot bigger boats out than mine.
Just a theory i have thought of is i wonder whether having sens away breaks contected to the battery and the winch could this be a problem.
Stab in the dark but i would like members thoughts on this
Troy