View Full Version : A strange Question
Homer_Jay
11-10-2006, 08:29 PM
On my boat i have a pump out toilet. First of all I never knew there was such a thing as a toilet that just pumps straight overboard! Is this still legal? If so I wont be swimming in the river near any boats anymore! Second of all how the hell do these things work? Now this question is abit embaresing :-[ ....... I am looking at that little hole and thinking bout what comes out of me some days and thinking there aint noway that is going round the bend!!!! I mean this hole is only 35 mm or so and a 90 deg bend...... Something just dont add up to me. I havent been game to use it....
Now when you all stop laughing at me maybe someone can tell me how it works!
11-10-2006, 08:33 PM
just try and see what happens, or doesn't happen :D
gawby
11-10-2006, 08:47 PM
Now thats a strange question ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D
steveg1100
11-10-2006, 08:56 PM
It is definately illegal to pump raw sewage into the water it is even illegal to pump treated sewage in some areas.
HarryO
11-10-2006, 09:12 PM
#Might have to modify the berley muncher ! #;D # ;D # ;D
Menion
11-10-2006, 09:12 PM
Yeah, u cant pump it into the sea. U need a tank on board, then empty the tank at the marina. They usually have a septic tank there, not all though.
Homer_Jay
11-10-2006, 09:39 PM
Well im glad its illegal to pump overboard but i was thinking what about if your 20 mile offshore.... who really cares. If i didnt have a dunny i would hang my a$$ over the side anyways.... I was just thinking less chance of falling in this way.
But looks like i might be pulling the old $h!tter out!!! No room for a holding tank!
serene_lady
11-10-2006, 10:11 PM
Homer_Jay. I dont know how to begin, :o my boat is fitted with a treatment unit and has an elec toilet that pumps into a tank, after treating each flush the tank can be pumped out but only in certain areas. Now getting back to your concern of the size of the plumbing we have had a couple of BIG ::) experiences, and to make things worse they have happend to the fairer sex. One morning there was much laughter ang giggling coming from the guest bathroom and I thought the girls were just having a joke but as it turned out they were trying to get rid of an oversize item that would not fit down the plumbing. But as we all know the fairer sex are smarter than us they found an easer way to get rid of the problem. ;) ;) . Next, Straight laced headmistress was onboard, after hearing the toilet flush serveral times I was getting worried about the toilet overflowing. About 10 minutes pass and the husband comes out and says there is a problem ;D ;D . I was asked to have a look at it but was asked not to lift the lid ::) ::) . How do you solve a problem without looking at it :-/ :-/ Of Jesus I wish I did not have to :'( :'( . The last story is obout relatives who usualy say onboard with us when they pass through but I think next time they plan to stay landbased ;D ;D ;D. Bob.
Duyz72
11-10-2006, 11:08 PM
I have lived with some blokes who would leave a friendly present for the laughs - the bigger the funnier apparently.
One time surpise surprise . . . . it looked like Nessie had come to visit and took a wrong turn up our S bend. And she wasn't happy about it either!
I honestly don't know how that bloke still walks straight! :o :o
Eagle
11-10-2006, 11:24 PM
A marine toilet must never be flushed (pumped out) when in a river. You can flush it when at sea if you are greater than the minimum distance off from the shore, reef or island. I'm not sure what the distance is, about 1/2 mile if my memory is ok. Neither can you discharge any effluent into a harbour from a toilet. Look up the boating regs, for your State, The minimum distance for flushing will be specified in the rules and regs. NEVER let any females dump their feminine health stuff down a marine toilet. I recommend you kindly inform them of this rule. Never be afraid to speak up about what goes down the tubes. You are the Skipper and the Skippers word is LAW. If it is embarrassing to the ladies, too bad. The safety of the ship and crew is far more important.
There should (might) be a handle that you pump by hand to opperate the flush. Some toilets (as stated) have an electric mascerater that chops and mixes everything so it can be extruded out into a tank or directly into the sea. Check on your States regs for full details. I would keep the unit on board and use it when necessary. It's definitely required by the females of the boat be they crew or guests.
Eagle
Kendall249
11-10-2006, 11:55 PM
There is enough microorganisms in the water to take care of your waste, especially 20 miles offshore. I don't think it would be appriopriate though to discharge near moored vessels.
Homer_Jay
12-10-2006, 06:42 AM
Yeah mine has a handle that you pump that seems to suck it around the bend. I am definatly thinking ithis onboard toilet thing is not for me as i have even bloked the home dunny .... had to break it with a stick to get it round the bend.... ;D ;D I will be laying down the law to anyone who does use it as i dont want to be the plumber and fix a blockage with my head down the toilet in a rolling 3 mt swell!
Definatly need more fibre in the diet if im going to use the onboard head (i think thats the boatie term for it) Why do they call it a "head"? seems like a strange thing, why dont they just call it a toilet? :-/
Grand_Marlin
12-10-2006, 06:55 AM
G'day Homer.
As always - plenty of mixed advice ... which one have you chosen to believe?
And who will you get to pay your fine (up to$50,000) if you get caught out?
Ok ... please take this as gospel. (Queensland)
All toilets MUST be electric macerating toilets - Pump toilets are now illegal (as at 1st January 2004)
Sewerage is classed as Untreated (raw) or treated with a sanitation unit (SaniLoo) to class C, B or A.
We will be referring to class C, as Class A units wont fit on most boats and are up around $20,000 to fit.
Sani Loo - www.gradonmarine.com.au
These are great units and they are mede here in Brisbane.
You can still pump raw sewerage only in open waters, with some limitations.
You can pump treated sewerage in most areas, with some limitations.
Canals, Marinas Harbours and closed areas are off limits to pumping any sewerage, treated or not.
Here are the discharge area maps for Queensland.
www.msq.qld.gov.au/qt/msq.nsf/index/vessel_sewage_dischargemaps
The Blue area is open water where untreated sewerage can be discharged.
The orange area is where only treated (Class C) sewerage can be discharged.
The purple areas, no sewerage can be discharged in these areas.
Your other option is to fit a holding tank.
You can use your toilet in any closed areas so long as it goes into a holding tank.
BUT
You then have to empty the holding tank ;D
The same discharge rules apply to where and when you can empty your holding tank.
Pumping out at the marina is generally a myth as the marinas dont have the facilities to do it. Runaway Bay is the only marina I know of that has these facilities.
If and When the marinas do hae the facilities, the general concensus is that it will cost between $30 and $50 to pump out your tank.
Untreated sewerage in a holding tank is both a health and explosion hazard. The coliform count multiplies by the million per hour in a holding tank, and there is always residue left in there even when they are pumped out.
Holding tanks with untreated sewerage will nearly always stink and leave that horrible musty smell right through your boat.
By the year 2010 (which is only 3 years away) anyone with an onboard toilet will have to fit a sanitation unit for discharge in all areas.
Therefore if you fit a holding tank, it is best to fit a Sani Loo as well.
So, you really have 2 options:
1) Fit a sanitation unit and / or holding tank.
A Sani Loo will Cost You $1497 and Installation is about $1400
If needed, add a holding tank and pump $1000 and installation is about $500
2) Fit a Porta Potti for $200.
Porta Potties are fine for most small boats, but if you own bigger boats (say 23ft and up) the Sani Loo is the way to go.
A Sani loo is a reasonably big expense, but once you have it, it should last for ever... and by 2010 you will need one anyway.
Onboard Sewerage Management is a big issue, and I get a lot of calls to fix up installations where it has been done completely wrong in the nitial installation.
If you are going to do it, get it right the first time, or it will cost you a lot more money in the long run.
There are a lot of do's and dont's that most installers dont have any idea about ... thats not sour grapes... it is just what I have had to fix for people on many occassions.
Here is a pic of a Sani loo and Holding Tank I installed in a Whittley 700 Cruisemaster.
It has a custom split sani loo system (to make it fit under the bunk)
Stainless holding tank with auto cut out sensors for when full.
Y valve splitter to pump straight overboard or use holding tank
Camlock deck pump out option.
Grand_Marlin
12-10-2006, 07:00 AM
Hey Homer .... forget all that technical stuff I wrote above.
Your best solution is:
a) #Have a good hot curry the night before you go out on the boat ... that should allow it to flow easily around the bend, and the curry will be way more potent for killing harmful bacteria than any chlorinated sani loo #;D
b) #Keep a fork beside the toilet ... that way you can mash the big ones to an acceptable size before flushing ...
If you have had your curry the night before and dont need to use the fork, you can always use the fork to eat your lunch whilst disposing of last night s curry. #:o
Hope this helps
;D ;D ;D
Homer_Jay
12-10-2006, 07:12 AM
Thanks G_M... As usual a wealth of information, most of it straight over my head...... ;D Sounds like a good curry is the way to go. Mate i have nevr used one of these before and wouldnt worry me if i never did. I wont be staying on my boat for anymore than 24 hours. But it is in there and was just wondering about the whole thing. I still cant believe that these things just pump straight overboard. I never knew this happend. I would hate to be swimming around a few moored boats, never know what you might swim into :-? I will be telling any of the boys who want to hang their a$$ over the side now that it will be them that has to pay the $50,000 fine. Unless its treated before it hits the water!!! ;D ;D ;D
triman
12-10-2006, 08:23 AM
In the 6th reply to this post Homer jay wrote
"If i didnt have a dunny i would hang my a$$ over the side anyways.... I was just thinking less chance of falling in this way. "
Have you never wondered why the after deck on a ship is called the Poop Deck?
mangomick
12-10-2006, 11:13 AM
Geez
Whats the problem, all you city guys are going to be drinking the stuff shortly anyway if it dont rain.
onerabbit
12-10-2006, 03:52 PM
Only ever needed to do a number 2 a sea once, & that was half way through a 3 day trip at sea.
Pretty difficult to perch yourself on a $1.99 bucket in a fair swell, trying to concentrate on the job at hand, while the off-sider either comments on the sound effects or starts to gag after them.
Not too many women use my boat, so I guess they will have to put up with the facilities provided ( also a second bucket with water to wash your butt with).
12-10-2006, 04:09 PM
Homer, mate why don't you give that old thing the flick and just buy a porta potti for $150 and dispose of it in your toilet when you get home ?
I have one for my camper van for the dear wife and son (I just go out by the tree and water the garden!! ;)
Works well and the only downside for me is having to empty the storage bottle in the morning, but most campers are doing similar with either a porta potti storage bottle, or a night bucket.. if you are only staying overnight & keep away from that curry, you should be OK !!
Years ago some friends of mine bought an old river cruisier and it had one of those pumper dunnys on it, one bloke was pulling the caulking out of the boards on the hull, laying on his back, so the other bloke thought he would pull the handle on the dunny :D
Anyway, some horrid thing that had been stuck in the pipe longer than we had been alive came flying out, and we all threw our guts up ;D especially the bloke laying down pulling the caulking, because it landed on his chest ! :P
hussy
12-10-2006, 06:40 PM
this thread is going to shit ,i especially like the fork idea, hubby
Homer_Jay
12-10-2006, 06:47 PM
Yes I have a fork mounted permanantly in the boat beside the dunny now. I will just have to remember to inform everyone who comes aboard what it is there for. Would hate to turn around and see some one going the chew on their lunch with the fork they just found! :o ;D Especially if it is the girl friend... Dont come near me with that mouth again dear.... :-?
Cruize
12-10-2006, 08:04 PM
I work at a Marina and someone left their porta loo on the jetty the other day and took off.
FOR SALE - 1 PORTA LOO - ALLREADY TRIED TESTED AND RUN IN.
COMES WITH AN OPENING STOCK OF ABOUT 50% CAPICITY ;D
Homer_Jay
12-10-2006, 08:43 PM
Only half full. Can i get a discount for that? But if it has a few skid marks then that would have to push the price up for an optional extra like that.... ;D