View Full Version : Allison Owners

Fast_Freddie
12-09-2006, 06:49 PM
Hi Guys,
I have just recently bought my first big boat - an Allison Angler 195.
She is 1992 vintage but in really good order and has a 140hp Yammie straped to its bum.

Been out and about in the bay a couple of times and am really happy with it.

Anyone else got one of these things? I'd be really interested in any tips/tricks/cautions/suggestions etc?

Fred

Stu
12-09-2006, 08:04 PM
Hi Fred,
I have a 94 model 175 Fisherman with a 125hp Mariner which I bought second hand. Took a lot of time to find her.
Where the heck did you find a second hand 195. Very well done.
The Allisons are very strong, capable boats that handle well.
There's a few other 195 owners on Ausfish who know doubt will help you out.
Welcome.

Stu

Black_Jack
12-09-2006, 09:13 PM
HI Fast Freddie

I have a Allison Vision 195 with a 225 offshore merc.

Black_Jack
12-09-2006, 09:15 PM
Hey fast freddie

have you got any pics of your boat........

geoff

fishingrod
12-09-2006, 09:36 PM
Hi Fred
Ive got a 189 Fisherman. Pretty much the same hull and layout as to 4Reel's boat, but mines got a bigger pod on the back.

Ive only had it about 3 weeks and havent been out yet. Who ever wired mine up used automotive copper wire (not tinned) and the water has got into it. Im just re wiring it and fiddling with a few things before I get her on the water.

Mines a 2000 model with a 115hp Merc 2/carb.

I looked a 1996 model and it had stainless hinges on some of the storage compartments and the rear cleats were stainless too. Mines got #plastic hinges and rear cleats #:(

I will PM you with a site that has a review on the 195. (not sure if we can advertise other sites on here)
Rod

http://i31.photobucket.com/albums/c369/fishingbasket/RodsAllison.jpg
http://i31.photobucket.com/albums/c369/fishingbasket/cockpitemailsize.jpg

Fast_Freddie
13-09-2006, 11:15 AM
Thanks Guys,
I found this by pure luck Stu.
Mate of mine saw it advertised on Boatpoint and asked me to go and look at it with him because it was literally just up the road from work. #
I wasn't in the market at the time but have always said when I do buy a 'big' boat, I want an Allison.

Anyway, when we pulled up at the owners house and looked at it - it was immaculate. #We crawled all over the thing and couldn't find anything seriously wrong with it other than I thought the Yammie 140 was a bit under powered. (How wrong I was about being underpowered!)

My mate decided on another boat, and I bought the Allison the next day!

Couple of things you guys could help me with if you don't mind?
1. #Do you guys have a motor leg support when travelling? #I don't, and l am not sure the best way to support the motor on the road.
The two little lugs on the engine just don't fill me with confidence.

2. How you tie down the back end of your boat when travelling?

# # # # # # Fred

Fast_Freddie
13-09-2006, 11:18 AM
Another pic of my pride and joy.
Would like to put in some decent size seat boxes eventually.

Fast_Freddie
13-09-2006, 11:22 AM
HI Fast Freddie

I have a Allison Vision 195 with a 225 offshore merc.

HOLY SNAPPIN' DUCKS Black_Jack!!!
This must absolutely fly with a 225 strapped on?
Does any part of the hull touch the water when you open it up?

What a beast!

Fred

Fast_Freddie
13-09-2006, 11:25 AM
Hi Fred
Ive got a 189 Fisherman. Pretty much the same hull and layout as to 4Reel's boat, but mines got a bigger pod on the back.

Ive only had it about 3 weeks and havent been out yet. Who ever wired mine up used automotive copper wire (not tinned) and the water has got into it. Im just re wiring it and fiddling with a few things before I get her on the water.

I looked a 1996 model and it had stainless hinges on some of the storage compartments and the rear cleats were stainless too. Mines got #plastic hinges and rear cleats #:(

I will PM you with a site that has a review on the 195. (not sure if we can advertise other sites on here)
Rod

Thanks very much Rod.

fishingrod
13-09-2006, 01:30 PM
1. #Do you guys have a motor leg support when travelling? #I don't, and l am not sure the best way to support the motor on the road.

2. How you tie down the back end of your boat when travelling? #

# # # # # # Fred

Ive never used any additional outboard support brackets on any boat ive owned. Mind you I normally only travel 30km each way to the ramp. Just make that the motor is resting solidly on its support bracket. (most motors have a flip up support bracket to take the load of the hydraulic ram)

I normally just use a rachet style tiedown across the back of the boat. Normally just behind the axles most trailers have a ring to clip onto each side. Others use different methods. If doing a long trip an additional strap (in front of the axles?) may be a good idea too.

A chain with a turn buckle running backwards from the bow eye is a good idea too. When you hit the brakes the 2 or 3 U-Bolts on the winch post take all the load. You can see the chain in my pic. The previous owner had it on the winch post. Ive attached it directly to the bow eye now.

Rod

Fast_Freddie
13-09-2006, 03:30 PM
Hi Fred

Rod

Hey Rod,
Thanks for the PM mate.
Confirms everything I thought about Allison boats!
Fred

Fast_Freddie
13-09-2006, 03:39 PM

2. How you tie down the back end of your boat when travelling? #

# # # # # # Fred

Ive never used any additional outboard support brackets on any boat ive owned. Mind you I normally only travel 30km each way to the ramp. Just make that the motor is resting solidly on its support bracket. (most motors have a flip up support bracket to take the load of the hydraulic ram)

I normally just use a rachet style tiedown across the back of the boat. Normally just behind the axles most trailers have a ring to clip onto each side. Others use different methods. If doing a long trip an additional strap (in front of the axles?) may be a good idea too.

A chain with a turn buckle running backwards from the bow eye is a good idea too. When you hit the brakes the 2 or 3 U-Bolts on the winch post take all the load. You can see the chain in my pic. The previous owner had it on the winch post. Ive attached it directly to the bow eye now.

Rod

Thanks again Rod,
Would never have thought of the chain from the winch post back - terrific idea.

I live in Brisbane and we holiday in Hervey Bay or Yamba so this is really relevant.
Thanks Mate

Fred

Stu
13-09-2006, 05:10 PM
Here's a couple of pics of the girl.
Note the chain on the winch post.
It's loosened off at the moment but when trailering the turnbuckle is tightened up and the chain NOT taken off untill the trailer is in the water and the boat is ready to launch (winch rachets have a habit of failing and dropping boats in very inconvenient places).
The only other tie downs I use are straps on each of the ski hooks at the rear to the trailer.
Im on the Brisbane north side so may see you guys on the bay sometime. Ausfish stickers have arrived but not been put on yet.
Stu

Stu
13-09-2006, 05:10 PM
pic of the rear

Black_Jack
14-09-2006, 11:38 AM
I use the the support bracket thing that on the motor, but also have a support bracket that clips onto the trailer to support the motor, it came with the boat but to date i have never used it.

geoff

Black_Jack
14-09-2006, 11:43 AM
Rod

Can you PM me the details of the review of the 195

thanks

geoff

Fast_Freddie
14-09-2006, 11:44 AM
I use the the support bracket thing that on the motor, but also have a support bracket that clips onto the trailer to support the motor, it came with the boat but to date i have never used it.

geoff

Thanks Geoff,
I have these two flimsy looking lugs either side of the motor that just . . . welll . . . just don't inspire confidence.
I am going to drag this boat over some significant distances this summer so was wondering what others do but maybe I am concerned over nothing.

Thanks aagin

Fred

Black_Jack
14-09-2006, 11:46 AM
What area do you guys normally fish/boat ??

Black_Jack
14-09-2006, 11:49 AM
Fred

I can put my support bar on the motor and take a couple of picture for you if you are after ideas.

fishingrod
14-09-2006, 01:19 PM
Rod

Can you PM me the details of the review of the 195

thanks

geoff

DONE !

fishingrod
14-09-2006, 01:24 PM
I have these two flimsy looking lugs either side of the motor that just #. . . welll . . . just don't inspire confidence.

Sometimes you can put the correct size timber or steel tube in between the motor and bracket when it is tilted up.

I know that some of the retail support brackets have a shock absorbing spring in them.

If they are fully rigid, any road shock or vibration gets transfered straight from the trailer, thru the engine and into the transom. MIGHT cause more damage than good?

fishingrod
14-09-2006, 01:26 PM
What area do you guys normally fish/boat ??

Im in Sydney.
Normally out of Broken Bay.
Between Norah Head and Long Reef (up to 10-15 mile out)

Ive only had my Allison a few weeks and not been out yet though.

Stu
14-09-2006, 07:24 PM
Hi Black Jack,
I normally leave from Scarborough and fish around the Cape out to Tempest weather permitting which is not all that often.
Stu

Black_Jack
14-09-2006, 08:48 PM
4reel

i normally leave from cleveland/raby bay,

i have been heading out to deep tempest (whether permitting).

i will have to keep an eye out.

geoff

Fast_Freddie
15-09-2006, 08:50 AM
Guys,
I'm out of Cleveland/Raby Bay. I saw you on the ramp a while ago Geoff and pointed out your boat to my wife to show the difference between the Vision and the Angler.

I don't have any bar-crossing experience yet so stay on the flat side of the islands.
When I get the time I would like to do one of the Bill Cortens courses, and I have signed up with the Redlands Boat Club.

Hey Rod, I saw those travelling brackets with the shock absorber - looks to be the go.

Fred

Black_Jack
15-09-2006, 11:40 AM
Fred

You should have come over and said hi.

I recommend the Bill Corten bar crossing course. He leaves from the raby bay boat ramp. Its a full hands on day that you learn alot from and have heaps of fun.

So do you get to use the private ramp at raby bay?

geoff

Fast_Freddie
15-09-2006, 05:13 PM
Fred

You should have come over and said hi.

I recommend the Bill Corten bar crossing course. He leaves from the raby bay boat ramp. Its a full hands on day that you learn alot from and have heaps of fun.

So do you get to use the private ramp at raby bay?

geoff

Sorry Geoff,
I saw your boat a while ago. Before I evn knew what Ausfish was. Mate, I will definitely look for you from now on.

I should be a full member at Redlands Club next month they said. Then I'll be able to use the private ramp.

Fred

searaider
15-09-2006, 05:54 PM
Geday Fast Freddy ,
I've got a 195 Angler 2002 model with a 150 Yammy HPDI .
More than happy with her.
Did find it a bit tail heavy with the Yammy at 215 kg , a set of trim tabs soon fixed that . #[smiley=2thumbsup.gif]
Based on the North side of Brisbane , might see you out there sometime .

DALEPRICE also has a 195 Angler about 10 years old .

Come on Dale , time for a reply & photo . ::)

GO Team Allison. ;)

Searaider 2

Black_Jack
16-09-2006, 08:00 AM
Peter (searaider2)

I use trim tabs on my vision 195, certainly pulls the bum out of the water.

geoff

DALEPRICE
17-09-2006, 02:43 PM
gday fast freddy,
as pete said i have also got a 195 angler,
spent a fair bit of time in the last year out at caloundra
wide. great boat and very honest in the rough.
cant fault the boat but just the fit out and lack of storage
is an issue.
cheers dale

DALEPRICE
17-09-2006, 02:48 PM
found this shot quickly, everybody who could get near the bottom got hammered #;D ;D

Fast_Freddie
20-09-2006, 07:43 PM
Geday Fast Freddy ,
I've got a 195 Angler 2002 model with a 150 Yammy HPDI .
More than happy with her.
Did find it a bit tail heavy with the Yammy at 215 kg , a set of trim tabs soon fixed that . #[smiley=2thumbsup.gif]
Based on the North side of Brisbane , might see you out there sometime .

DALEPRICE also has a 195 Angler about 10 years old .

Come on Dale , time for a reply & photo . ::)

GO Team Allison. ;)

Searaider 2

On ya Peter,
Hope to see you out there.

Fred

Fast_Freddie
20-09-2006, 07:49 PM
gday fast freddy,
as pete said i have also got a 195 angler,
spent a fair bit of time in the last year out at caloundra
wide. #great boat and very honest in the rough.
cant fault the boat but just the fit out and lack of storage
is an issue.
cheers dale

That is my only complaint Dale - the lack of storage.
Got a question for you if that is okay?
I just realised that my trailer doesn't have any keel rollers fitted.
There are places for them to slot in but they ain't there . . . . do you have them on your rig?
I reckon I should have them 'cause I am going to drag her to Hervey Bay or Yamba over Christmas - long road hauls.
What do think?

Fred

DALEPRICE
21-09-2006, 07:33 PM
fred,
dont worry mate my trailer has the same deal. no keel
rollers, so i have been told that they are not needed.
only thing that i have done is fit a strip of heavy duty plastic
L angle to the last crossmember on the trailer. just in case
the boat keel was to hit the crossmember, this will happen
if you dont have the trailer in the water deep enough. i usually half
drive the boat on and winch the last 2m. hope this helps.
cheers dale

Black_Jack
21-09-2006, 08:23 PM
I dont have any keel rollers on my trailer.

fishingrod
02-10-2006, 12:11 AM
Just if anyone is interested how much fuel a 189 Fisherman really holds:

I went out for my maiden voygue today in my new (used) 189.
Ran the undefloor tank almost dry. Didnt want to risk running it right to the bottom incase i picked up water and muck.

I filled up with 133 litres at the bowser. So at least i know that there is at least that much in there. I hate trusting catalogues and brochures coz you dont know how much is actually usable.

NB On my trailer i have a mix of keel and side wobble rollers. 3 double keel rollers and 10 wobble rollers on each side.

Rod

Fast_Freddie
13-10-2006, 12:16 PM
Hi Guys,

How are you blokes lashing down your boat to the trailer when you are on the road?

I was going to buy the standard type strap and ratshit (is that how you spell ratchet?) and run across the hull but thought I would ask you guys.

Might have a better way?

I don't want rub marks on the gunnels if I can help it.

Fred
[smiley=2thumbsup.gif]

fishingrod
13-10-2006, 02:33 PM
Im just using a rachet across the boat (just behind the rear wheel on the trailer)

Ive got protecion pads (available from most chandlers) under the strap where it goes over the gunnels to stop it marking the boat, and I put a bit of foam under the strap where it touches the chine.

I dont think the 195 has a pod? So you could use the transom straps too. They either hook onto the transom or the water ski hooks.

Rod

Fast_Freddie
17-10-2006, 12:25 PM
Thanks Rod.

Simple is better I reckon.

Fred