View Full Version : Anchor Buoy
Smelly
14-10-2006, 03:07 AM
Hi all!
I see a few fishos are using anchor boys.
Interested in opinions and whether one would be worthwhile in PPB?
Smelly
davez104
15-10-2006, 08:45 PM
I reckon they are worthwhile anywhere. So much easier than lifting the anchor and 5M of chain up from even 10M of water. An absolute godsend in 20+ meters
I use the plain ring system and would not be a happy camper if i had to manually lift the anchor ;D
Murf
Smelly
16-10-2006, 05:55 AM
What size buoy is recommended (boat 5.3m fiberglass)?
Smelly,
Go to the next page of these chats,and look under " Drive away anchor recovery", near the bottom of the page.Heaps of great stuff on there
Regards David
davez104
16-10-2006, 07:32 AM
Smelly,
I use a 300mm round foam float, it pulls my anchor up no worries and holds it up easy. Fairly large reef pick and 5 metres of 3/8 gal chain. I have a 5.2M haines.
rockape
16-10-2006, 10:35 AM
The anchor bouy idea is great! Just do a quick circle of the ancher then pull it in.
I prefer to use a clip instead of the ring so that the bouy can be taken off the anchor line easily. Makes it easier when storing the anchor line etc.
Also, if you know how to splice rope - buy all the components yourself and make it, sooooo much cheaper than buying the ready-made ones.
timddo
16-10-2006, 10:41 AM
hmm i only brought minte for $29 at bcf. Solid ring.
Smelly
17-10-2006, 09:07 PM
Thanks guys - looks like another toy to get - good input :P