View Full Version : Clever boat names

shayned
04-10-2006, 03:23 PM
Just saw a boat called Fish 'n Chicks, initially cks was blocked from view and I thought it was going to be chips. Gueesing the blokes not married.

04-10-2006, 03:42 PM
BORATUPPA

04-10-2006, 03:55 PM
Our old tender for the cat was named R'S- UP one wrong move and you were!! ;D

dnej
04-10-2006, 03:57 PM
mines
" Fairly Olde"

Cruize
04-10-2006, 04:12 PM
Mines "Fish Pest"

04-10-2006, 04:32 PM
I once heard of a flash kind of a bloke who had a sports cruiser named "After you"

Apparently he took a lot of single women aboard & would say "you know I named my boat after you"

He wasn't lying !! ;D

Red_Nut
04-10-2006, 04:34 PM
My first one was a bit of a sh*t box, hence it was christened "Thunderbox". The second one has just retained the name - "Thunderbox II", but no stickers displaying the name on the new one yet (wife not real happy the name has carried over).

Ed.

04-10-2006, 06:06 PM
My brother's boat is "Wui Wurri" pronounced why worry. I was going to put a sticker on the bottom with "I'm wurried" but I thought it would have been a bad charma thingo :)
One of mine is "Idle hours" for obvious reasons and I have "Junior" because it's only a little tiny. It hasn't fully grown yet.

honda900
04-10-2006, 06:35 PM
one around the corner from me,

no more bets

Honda

jasonb
04-10-2006, 06:42 PM
mine is called "y work"

foggy
04-10-2006, 06:45 PM
Hukuna matada

04-10-2006, 06:50 PM
mines called "GENDER ROLES"
came about one day when the missus was up me for not doing any housework. i was in a typical smartarse mood. so i said gender roles darling, you do the pink jobs(washing cooking cleanig ect) around the house and i do the blue jobs (bins mowing yep thats about it). so since it mainly me in the boat she sujested the name!

Daniel_Trenfield
04-10-2006, 07:01 PM
What about "chicken tonite"

spen175
04-10-2006, 07:06 PM
co-owned boat by Messers Toohey & Baar

simple really

"2e's Bar"

cheers!
spen

reef_king
04-10-2006, 08:34 PM
I know of a trawler called "night stalker" should've been called "night raper" ;D ;D

joremhar
04-10-2006, 09:01 PM
heard a bloke calling in to VMR at hervey bay and his boat was called SHE SAID YES. clever i thought.

littlejim
04-10-2006, 09:15 PM
I liked one I saw called 'Sailbad the Sinner'.

searay215ec
04-10-2006, 10:38 PM
Ours is called # PP's Inapod

Thats because both our first names start with P

hirdy
04-10-2006, 11:31 PM
My mates large sea rays called SEA Ya because that would be the only thing people would see as his large wake hits them lol

aussiefool
05-10-2006, 04:11 AM
used to have a pommy mate call all boats bo-ates, so I called my boat MI-BO-ATE. the one I have now is just Aussiefool II

Kiktz
05-10-2006, 06:32 AM
Have mate that say the same thing, they never callt here boat a boat
they always say Bo-at, used give me the pips at first but now I kinda got
used to it

maztez
05-10-2006, 07:40 AM
Ours is called MISTRESS ::) ::) ;) ;) use she gets more attention than anything else .Father in law calls his LIAR has done so for some 7 boats that he has had over the years .Quite appropriate for the old gentleman.
cheers Terry and Brett

05-10-2006, 03:32 PM
Mates boat was called "Bloody Tourist" ;D

JEWIENEWIE
05-10-2006, 04:06 PM
MY first boat was a little tinny so the name "little tinny" was appropriate. I am the sort of fisherman who has the shitiest gear, no big brands on my boat but i always seem to do alright on the fishing side of things so my mates say the name "little tinny" is more about my fishing skills! My current boat name is "a little tinny 2"
Jewie

Kendall249
05-10-2006, 05:47 PM
I saw this in the latest bnb fishing Oct pg 42 by ben collins. It was the name of the CSIRO electrofisher, which was Donner and Blitzen (german for thunder and lightning). ;D

littlejim
05-10-2006, 06:23 PM
The other one I liked which was explained in the local paper, this is years ago, was the Water Police boat on Canberra's lake Burley Griffin. It was puzzling why the lake needed a water police unit, but somebody obviously knew more about things than me. The police asked the University Professor of Greek for an appropriate name, I guess hoping for the Greek God of Guardians or watchmen or such. He suggested 'Platypus' which we all know is very Australian.

It also translates from Greek as flatfoot.

Grand_Marlin
05-10-2006, 07:10 PM
I like:

O'fishal Business

Site Office

Knot Working

Hot_Snappa
05-10-2006, 08:22 PM
Mate had a dive boat years ago called Muff Diver ;D

petelaska
05-10-2006, 08:34 PM
20 odd years ago we got an old dehavland tinny. it was chrissened "the minnow" since then its been passed around the family through generation to generation. I don't think any one will ever sell it. but its great to pass around. It also gets the young blokes into fishing. One of the nephews even painted it black one time. we stired him up about being a drug runner and crab pot thief( he wasn't for the politicly correct). I got it back and had to put a couple of stripes on it so that we wouldn't be run down at night. Its about a 1963 vintage.

sav
05-10-2006, 09:29 PM
My half cabin boat got the obvious name "CabSav" and I enjoy a good red. Just like a fine wine it has sat in the bloody celler for about 2 years now.
Regards all
Sav

garpe
06-10-2006, 05:36 AM
I saw a trawler at Turkey beach called "sea strainer", bloke must have been a pig.
My son commented on the name of our boat the other day and afterwards said at least it's not called "Unsinkable 2"

ozlongboarder
06-10-2006, 09:55 AM
As part of the refurb I have done on my Betram I stripped the old name off. But years of sun have made it still readable in the gelcoat even with some wet and dry sanding abd polishing. I was think the new name could be " Big Sticker to Cover Old Name". My wife was not amused.

mini696
06-10-2006, 10:55 AM
More of an annoying name than clever. #Taken from a Pink Floyd song and stuck on a Laser (sailing dinghy).

"Several Species Of Small Furry Animals Gathered Together In A Cave And Grooving With A Pict", SSOSFAGTIACAGWAP for short.

Others I have had are made up from my or my families initals.
MaJiK - Mine (MJK)
JeRK - Dads (JRK)
KaMaKasi - Sister (KMK)
LiMericK - Mums (LMK)

drb
06-10-2006, 11:03 AM
I know of a boat from Brissy called

"Norfolk Enchants" (say it out loud and quickly #;D ;D ;D) classic name I reckon

Dazz

Fiji_fish_head
06-10-2006, 11:28 AM
Theres one down the road here called "fog Ducker" :-?

Fiji_fish_head
06-10-2006, 11:31 AM
The best one i have ever seen is "WOFTAM"- Waste of f#@&en time and money!!!!!

Fisher_Boats
06-10-2006, 11:45 AM
My brothers got a 4.4 0C Punt called "PUNT STRUCK" :D

SWFISHER
06-10-2006, 01:35 PM
"Pork Hunt" was me mates boat funny thing is I didn't wanna be seen in it

shayned
07-10-2006, 10:37 AM
There are some bloody clever people out and about, some of those names are just absolute crack ups. ;D

Geoff_Atkinson
07-10-2006, 10:57 AM
I saw one in WA called "PISTON BROKE", another called "FarQ"

Oldies but goodies

poor_mans_barra
07-10-2006, 12:48 PM
Our old ski boat......4 Play

PMB

Dodgy_Back
07-10-2006, 03:02 PM
I always get a laugh when we visit couran cove , theres a big cruiser that visits there called " DEBT PROPELLED"

My little boat is "the slipped disc" named after my Dodgy back, of course

07-10-2006, 04:55 PM
Ex brother in law's was SMB (secret mens business). He's in Darwin ;)

07-10-2006, 05:09 PM
I always get a laugh when we visit couran cove , theres a big cruiser that visits there called " DEBT PROPELLED"

My little boat is #"the slipped disc" named after my Dodgy back, of course

I have had a couple of chats with the bloke from Debt Propelled (pommy bloke..funny bugger)..Glenn Lazarus has a Riveira 430 also...his is called Bliss.
Many years back when we were in the BOAT club there was one member who had a 773 Haines HUnter called...HeadHunter...you work it out.

Weekend_Hooka
07-10-2006, 05:40 PM
Mines Called "Weekend Hooka"

The_Doc
08-10-2006, 02:45 PM
Mines called KNOT@HOME

chuckaroo
08-10-2006, 04:04 PM
My old girl is called WHATS DOIN
not much was doin when i bought it
but she goes alright now

cheers ;D

onerabbit
08-10-2006, 06:23 PM
Seen one called Far Canal,

Almost called mine Knottatinny, but couldn't say it on the radio.

08-10-2006, 07:39 PM
# # Seen one called Far Canal,

# # Almost called mine Knottatinny, but couldn't say it on the radio.

# # Muzz
Wonder how many people think of this??
I wouldn't like to call the 'Far Canal' one in to log on and off too often. I recon I'd just use the rego number :P

a_big_red_1
08-10-2006, 09:48 PM
LOL, some good ones there

mine is called " kracka-jak"

08-10-2006, 11:02 PM
Ones I saw in pommieland:

"Leave Me Loose Eel" (Fine time to) ;D

"Dab Hand" (A dab is a prolific flatfish rather like sole)

"Just Codding"

"Whiting Around"

"For Heaven's Hake"

"Mantra Ray" (must've belonged to a hippy) ;D

"Tina Tuna" (Owned by a black female singer no doubt) ;D

"Bass Player"

"Worth The Money"

"Money Well Spent"

"Herman's Hermitage" (Owned by a 60's pop singer)

"Don't Ask Me" (I suppose this refers to the blokes that line up at the ramp and say, "caught anything today, mate")

"No, I Bloody Haven't" (owned by the brother of the bloke that owned the boat above) ;D

"Baited Breath"

"Tropic of Capriprawn"

"Hooked On Fishing"

"Happy Hooker"

"Expensive Hooker"

"Float The Pound"

"Tax Evasion" (This was a Biiiiiig Boat)

"Plaice Your Bets" (Another kind of prolific flatfish)

"Ray of Hope"

"Cat-Astrophe" (A catamaran)

Mine are called: Sole Searching and Sole to Sole

maxi
08-10-2006, 11:02 PM
PharkinBloody

snelly1971
08-10-2006, 11:15 PM
Mine is WASN`T ME.... ;D ;D ;D ;D

Hibernator
09-10-2006, 01:39 AM
Dont know if you've heard these before........

Norfolk Enchants
Hoof Hearted
Sofa King Broke
(Say them quickly & loudly)

Com ocean
My Salty Johnson (It had a johno on the back)

Cheers.......Hibernator

murf
09-10-2006, 02:08 PM
the name on my boat is Good SPOT
the missus loves it when i'm on it ;D

leezor
09-10-2006, 03:03 PM
There is a 40 odd footer up our way called "Fringe Benefits"

themisses
09-10-2006, 04:07 PM
Saw a poly at Tweed boat ramp on saturday called
"Pee Vee Sea" ;D ;D

Cruize
09-10-2006, 05:28 PM
What about NAWN SUYAB ;)

"Not at work now, so up your arse boss" ;D

Gunfish
09-10-2006, 06:40 PM
mates boat is called Spit or Swallow....

Mabo.

fishing_mik
09-10-2006, 06:54 PM
seen a classic one a massive trailer boat

STUFF THE MORTAGE

cooky
09-10-2006, 07:55 PM
My son commented on the name of our boat the other day and afterwards said at least it's not called "Unsinkable 2"

you having a go at me? ;)

i8Krusty
16-10-2006, 12:36 PM
"MV TITAN URANUS"

16-10-2006, 02:57 PM
"Great Big Cock"

I've never been a fan of witty nuances

frosti
16-10-2006, 03:27 PM
fella i knew call edd had a boat called "edd job" and i saw another real big boat called " she left" ;D

Darren_D
16-10-2006, 03:35 PM
I used to get sick and tired of people coming out with me getting sick and tired so the name QUITCHA BITCHIN came about. Not easy for the coast guard to understand on the radio. I have seen a boat reasently called FARQUIRK . ;D

plat-a-puss
16-10-2006, 08:29 PM
my 1st boat was called BIG CODS lol think bout it .my my new boat is called PLAT-A-PUSS think outside the square

plat-a-puss
16-10-2006, 08:30 PM
my 1st boat was called BIG CODS my new boat is called PLAT-A-PUSS ,get some strange looks

cosmo
23-10-2006, 12:57 PM
I called mine "Therapy".

Cruize
23-10-2006, 04:19 PM
I was thinking "Fur Ball" cause I gotta keep coughin up $$.

boodo
23-10-2006, 06:26 PM
"beernuts" a lady friend had nipples just like them ;)

Rabies
21-06-2008, 06:31 PM
This is quite an old thread, but I'll post a reply anyway..

Somehow I have acquired a few boats:

6' dingy - 'never enuf'
13' tinny - 'barely enuf'
14' sailing cat - 'not enuf'
24' powercruiser - 'just enuf'
16' sharkcat - 'almost enuf'
24' baycruiser 'enuf'

of course I'll have to buy more boats to finalise the naming regime....

more than enuf, enufs enuf, enuf already ... LOL

goggles
21-06-2008, 07:18 PM
called mine CONVINCEDA as in convinced her . just got to convince her to let me have a bigger one. goggles

21-06-2008, 08:53 PM
I still think the most clever name I have ever seen was a big black polycraft that went screaming past one time in the Pin named "Microwave Safe."

My boat's namne as most will already know is Nauti~Gal.

John Buoy
21-06-2008, 09:08 PM
IH8MYX I hate my ex !!! was a good one I seen.

Donny Boy
21-06-2008, 09:08 PM
I came up with "SITE" cause i'm always on site, or alternatively could be "Floating around on site somewhere..."
(I know there's someone on here that has "ON SITE")

But I settled for " XMIRS ! " ..................Think about it !!!

VMR might not like it but ....lol..................

griz066
21-06-2008, 09:51 PM
A mate spent around 3 years lookin through boat books lookin for thr right boat, the only place he had time to read them was on the dunny. He finally settled on a 36" flybridge and started lookin for a name for her, I suggested "Porcelain Dreams" and it stuck.

wadeo
21-06-2008, 10:15 PM
i called my rig THE OTHER WOMAN

samsnap
21-06-2008, 10:38 PM
A few Doctor Friends of mine have the following: - "reel therapy" "Doctors Orders"
and one only Health workers would understand "7210" - this is the medicare item Number for a "mental health plan" - Mine "Pelagic Magic" - Cheers Sammy

strongy
21-06-2008, 10:58 PM
American sports car builder (cobra/mustang) Carrol Shelby had a boat he called c-shell

sparkyice
22-06-2008, 01:28 AM
when i was a kid my older brother bought a used up dry rotted old 21' cuddy cabin cruiser, circa 1940, with tail fins, etc., with the name on the side "Floron".
it sat in the back yard for some months while he "worked" on it.
my sister made a cardboard letter "M", placed it strategically and snapped some photos.:)
he's still mad.>:(

dad had a boat he named "Yaught-a-Do One"

MyEscape
22-06-2008, 06:06 AM
I recently bought a Seajay Escape CX so I called it "My Escape"

dreemon
22-06-2008, 08:35 AM
saw one that i liked called " Sick Days "

OFF CHANCE
22-06-2008, 09:00 AM
After a few months of deliberating names we came up with "OFF CHANCE"....seemed appropriate as thats when it gets used.

mookyandlumpy
22-06-2008, 09:25 AM
called my tinnie "heavy metal"
my dad's boat is "show time"
old boat "supa-brick",
mate's formosa "yellow raincoat"

22-06-2008, 12:36 PM
Mate has a 22' haines he bought about 15 yrs ago and used it about 6 times since. After two yrs of unuse his daughter painted very nicely on the side of it "Hydrophobia".

johnny roger
22-06-2008, 01:11 PM
is gone wishin' a little too corny? or how bout rhum chaser?

BILLY THE KID
22-06-2008, 04:13 PM
between work and weather mine is real close to being called " DRIVEWAY WARRIOR " >:(

Snapp
22-06-2008, 05:00 PM
I named the boat "InTheRed"
as it has red sides or..........
that's where it keeps my budget.

BrewGuru
22-06-2008, 05:03 PM
I liked "Saltshaker" I often see it down the coast

22-06-2008, 05:06 PM
The one that I liked was Yellow Polycraft called "Otto"

My mates boat is "Story Teller" ...... sums it up perfectly ;D

Nagg

Chookman
22-06-2008, 06:41 PM
Aquaholic
Krackkatinnie
Saroses of the river

the plumber
22-06-2008, 07:49 PM
Seen on an oldr style Ski boat, SKANKY HO,explain that to the mother inlaw on a sunday morning?????

tenzing
22-06-2008, 10:13 PM
saw a ski boat: ARGUS TUFT

coucho
23-06-2008, 10:10 AM
sofa king we todd it
6ul-dv8
Don't panic
didyabringyagrogalong
smells fishy
chiropractors dream

Jungle Jim
23-06-2008, 10:40 AM
mines The Office...

rough day at...
slow day at...
if you need me i'll be in...
the boys and i are still at....
i need to buy this for...

im sure its been done before but i couldn't resist...

Mtx
23-06-2008, 10:57 AM
My brother in law had a v nosed punt.
called "Puck N' Punt"

Mine is Kay-Lee II
last boat was Kay-Lee
just a combination of my two daughters names, they are 5 and 2 and got a real kick out of it.

thelump
23-06-2008, 12:54 PM
Mate was gunna call his Pollycraft "Polly Wanna Snapper" but he never did buy it so I guess its there for someone to use.

Stinger
23-06-2008, 01:28 PM
My missus seems to name my boats for me and buys the stickers for it.
A previous one I had she named Garden Knome because I was always at work and it just sat there.

She named my new boat "The Last One"
I think I'll have to get an extra sticker to put in front of that "Not"

Roo
23-06-2008, 01:41 PM
The one that I liked was Yellow Polycraft called "Otto"

My mates boat is "Story Teller" ...... sums it up perfectly ;D

Nagg

Some Friends had a Yacht called "Raconteur"
this essentially comes from and Old French word for a good Story Teller.

CHAPPY
23-06-2008, 02:54 PM
My last boat was an acknowledgement of the typical kiwi drinkers problem

LAK-A-NUKI

Wife wont let me name this one. Dont know why? Something about not wanting to wear sunnies when we tow it.

Perhaps Y-TING MARU or THE HOUSE BOAT because it spends most of its time behind the house.

Chappy

thelump
23-06-2008, 03:30 PM
Forgot to mention my boats name "CRIKEY". Named in memory of the great man himself.;D

23-06-2008, 03:48 PM
there is still a lot to be taken

I GOT CRABS
23-06-2008, 07:07 PM
my Bluefin is called Crafty

BREEZE470
23-06-2008, 07:33 PM
my little boat is currently called 'MASTA'... was considering calling it FLIPPHER but figured since it was a Centrelink overpayment refund that paid for it we're going to call her "Loose Change"

Mubtew
23-06-2008, 07:58 PM
Whem my rig, Carribean Crestcutter Finally hits the water,

"Mubtew"

Spell it backwards :)

bigjimg
23-06-2008, 09:28 PM
My new Haines 580F. FIN-alt-ALLY.It goes from Fin-alt-Ally too FinaLeigh.Can u
guess what the missus's name is? Gotta make em happy.Jim

Xahn1960
23-06-2008, 11:22 PM
It was the name of the boat that convinced my wife to let me get it.

" Whatever "

I'm still pondering her logic :)

bama79
24-06-2008, 06:04 PM
seen one around dilligaf

Grunter71
24-06-2008, 08:13 PM
Got a Shark Cat called "FarKat". Have to say it slowly when talking to the Coastguard.

bbayjohn
24-06-2008, 10:14 PM
My Boat is called
Sir Reel

work2fish
24-06-2008, 11:37 PM
A mates boat is called

NO BANANAS

W2F

paul cooper
25-06-2008, 06:07 PM
old boat was called dangler new boat aquaholic coop

sctj88
25-06-2008, 06:12 PM
I saw a boat while getting my boat licence at Boondoomba 2 weekends back called
Wet and Fishy

BOMBIE
25-06-2008, 07:48 PM
prisoner officer mate got one called "screwloose"

SNAPPAFLICKA
25-06-2008, 09:39 PM
SNAPPAFLICKA more of a name you can say on the radio but it looks slightly different to look at .

Paradoxx
26-06-2008, 09:59 AM
I wanted too call mine 4.75 seajay "BALLS DEEP", Guess what the missus said :-X

BREAMBOSS01
26-06-2008, 03:58 PM
unsinkable II

BrettyJ
26-06-2008, 04:37 PM
Mate of mine had R DE OH.

26-06-2008, 04:54 PM
Far Kall would be very appropriate.

Crunchy
02-07-2008, 12:30 PM
As a kid we had a ski / race boat called "Superbitch" which lived up to its name (Caught fire with 5 pax incl 3 kids - that was fun)

Had a trailer sailer called "Little trouble" which unfortunately didn't live up its name

Saw a big unpainted platey at the ramp once called "Metallica" which I liked

Jackinthebox
02-07-2008, 01:18 PM
Was gonna call the new one "KWITCHABICHEN!" , in the end, decided on "SHUT UP & FISH!"

Finally got the new stickers on yesterday after 6 months of stuffing around. Even the missus likes it, she's not too happy about the name for the next one though ... it's gonna be a bigger unpainted platey centre console/cab called .......

"The Tin Pig";D

Mick.

Timfishin4fun
02-07-2008, 04:57 PM
Have seen a boat called costa lotta.
My old boat was out n about.

Still trying to come up with a good one for the new boat

anthonyc
04-08-2008, 01:04 PM
my mate just purchased a bright orange tinny - he has named it "Jew-Sea" (juicy).

ryank
04-08-2008, 06:30 PM
our boat name is 5 kings. 5 ppl in our family and last name king.

plaztix
04-08-2008, 10:33 PM
I've got a vinyl cutter at work so my boats had a few names over time.

Latest is SNAPATAKA.

getin'catty
05-08-2008, 01:04 AM
Last one was wotyamakodat, kinda liked it not sure if i'll carry it on to this one as wotyamakodis

1lastcast
06-08-2008, 10:22 AM
Mine is called - something fishy -

I was going to call it - master baiter - i changed my mind at the last minute

Also seen a good one called - the basstibator -

BUCA T
06-08-2008, 03:52 PM
my cruise craft rogue is called k-otic ( chaotic)

Luke G
07-08-2008, 08:33 PM
'Cunning Stunt' or 'Dickins Cider'

There some of the best i've seen.

matmuller85
07-08-2008, 08:55 PM
Mine is called Got Crabz

RAEDAR40
08-08-2008, 02:52 PM
Long time ago a doctor in Kingaroy had a boat which he named Sinep. Took a long time for anyone to twig.

Gagga08
08-08-2008, 03:08 PM
My boats called 'Tackle Happy'

fish-n-dive
06-09-2008, 05:15 PM
Well thanks to Brett at the Townsville BBQ last night, I now have a name for my new boat which is going to be hot orange & black coloured.

licorice allsorts

Wahoo
06-09-2008, 07:54 PM
few i like

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v647/4xgold0/gotcrabs.gif

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v647/4xgold0/breakwind.gif

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v647/4xgold0/biteme.gif

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v647/4xgold0/beeracuda.gif

sharkcat one
06-09-2008, 08:39 PM
Had A Ski Boat Many Years Ago Called " Office Bitch "
Saw Another One Called " Stink Finger "

danny412
06-09-2008, 08:55 PM
Boat cost 20k (20 grand+ actually) so was thinking of 20G Spots, wife said NO!!!

Rumrunner2
10-09-2008, 11:45 AM
Mates boat called "Cop you Later"

szakacs
10-09-2008, 02:37 PM
Had a V8 inboard ski boat about 15 years ago registered with the name
FAR-QUE

Current fishing boat is called
Buddy

jwd000
10-09-2008, 02:57 PM
Saw one the other day on the way out of the heads.

"Screamin' Seamen"