View Full Version : Towing on the Highway

23-10-2006, 03:35 PM
Just got back from Rockhampton...went up there yesterday afternoon. Wanna know the most frustrating part of the entire trip...caravans?..nope. Semi's...Nope. Cars towing tinnies..yep. Absolute bloody nuisance they are..either the car and trailer are not compatible or the drivers are incompetent..either way..get moving or get off the bloody highway. I would have been stuck behind 8 to 10 them , at various times, that were travelling between 80 and 90k's...absolute pests on the road they are.

Kiktz
23-10-2006, 03:51 PM
Pinhead,

Cant say that I have struck many of them but the guys that have no consideration for some one that is towing a boat................. Pests they are.

Pet hate cars braking as they go down a hill so you get no run up the hill

Aj

ANYFISH
23-10-2006, 05:57 PM
Gday pinhead

Probly the wrong site to be complaning about people towing boats :) :)

As the fuel prices rose a few months ago i didn't put the right foot down as far when towing my boat around. I would rather take another 15 minutes to go 300k's then put another 15 litres of fuel in the boat when i got there.

Cheers Anyfish

GAD
23-10-2006, 06:08 PM
Me ,I find the Idots who haven't got the brains to stay out from under my outboard, a real worry.
Do 100 kph or there abouts and still always a fool who has got to go around on double lines and blind corners , have a bit of patience.take it easy,get there in one piece.
I recently towed my rig back from Tayors beach , sat on 95-100 and still got passed and had the bird thrown at me a few times by impatient #######s.
My philosophey is If I am towing my boat, I am on my way to go fishing or holidays which is to relax and enoy, if you are in such a hurry, leave earlier and don't try taking risks with my life or property.

23-10-2006, 06:08 PM
Anyfish...there weren't large boats...only 4 metre tinnies..I followed a red TABS..about 6 metres for a while and he had no trouble cruising on 100.

It isn't a matter of saving fuel..it is a matter of a bit of courtesy and at least moving over to let others pass and perhaps prevent someone trying an overtaking manouvre that they shouldn't but do out of frustration.

Why shouldn't I complain about people towing boats on here..are we all that high and mighty that we cannot cop some criticism.

Pitsta
23-10-2006, 06:28 PM
Mate last xmas goin up glenalda range , comin home from hervey bay I did the right thing towing my boat & got in the left lane . But when the lane was ending No BARSTARD would let me back in . So here we are on the gravel , wife screaming, kids screaming & me with white nuckle fever.
So from now on if you want to pass me GOOD LUCK !!!!!

Roughasguts
23-10-2006, 06:44 PM
Well that's the thing isn't it. If you pull over to the left and grab the jagged edge of the bitumen you risk a blow out or worse.

100kph is the max speed you can tow a boat or trailer it's not the speed you have to maintain is it.

My 4wd can not tow my boat uphill at 100kph and even if it could I wouldn't. (for some impatiant jerk behind me) Then I would have to jump on the brakes to negotiate the bends on the way down.

I never heard anyone ever say after rolling there car over and surviving,
I wish I was driving faster.

David_P
23-10-2006, 07:05 PM
G'day Pinhead,

If the boats are only small tinnies then I understand your frustration. I tow a six and half metre platey, weighs over 2.5 tonne and have little trouble sticking to the speed limit, except for the hills :P If I sit on 100kph I burn about 25l/100k, but if I back off to 90kph I drop to 20l/100k. I try to do 90, but generally find myself cruising at 100kph, or 110 where I'm allowed :)

I drive to the road and traffic conditions and do my best not to hold up the traffic. I know that it can be hard to merge after overtaking lanes, so my indicator goes on well in advance and if that means pulling out before the end of the overtaking lane then I do.

At the end of the day I'm on the road to go somewhere. If someone gives me the finger, then ok. Won't change anything! Guess we all just need to chill out a bit.

This probably didn't help a bit.... :-?

redspeckle
23-10-2006, 07:06 PM
Well for me its better to Live Late than be Dead on Time
I know drivers get impatient out there #but its better for people go a little bit slow than what the speed sign saids so the vechile and what their towing uncontrolled and can brake in a emergency
Than having a roll over in-turn block the highway for couple hours then drivers will #be really piss off #[smiley=argue.gif]
when I tow my boat i stay around 10kms under speed on highway or what I think is safe at the time of the road conditions
Mitch ;)

Menion
23-10-2006, 07:07 PM
I have never had trouble with tinnies myself, bigger boats yes, and i understand that, having towed a boat over long distance myself, i know it puts alot more pressure one all the cars systems, from cooling to brakes, so i understand when people want to take it easy. We put alot of cash into our toys, so we want to look after them. My advice is to chill out, relax, and pass when appropriate. You are a dander to everyone else when you wind yourself up.

Kiktz
23-10-2006, 07:09 PM
PMSL at Rough,

How True, but I think we all have to admit that a lil common
courtesy does go a long way and is very hard to find any where let alone on the roads.

If I could stop and punch the crap outa some people that have ran me off the road or put me is a dangerous position whilst towing due to there
supposed ownership of the rd, I wouldn't be here I would be in the big house.

Aj

Mr__Bean
23-10-2006, 08:53 PM
For interest, did the guys towing little tinnies have stinky little diesel utes?

- Darren

23-10-2006, 09:10 PM
LOL Darren..I have one of those..mainly being towed by sedans or utes of the commodore or falcon variety.

Mr__Bean
23-10-2006, 09:24 PM
Sorry, couldn't help myself.

- Darren

;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

23-10-2006, 09:41 PM
Good read. All I can say is they certainly drive differently in and around Brisbane. The fishing must be better around here or something because the guys in their 4x4 utes with tinnies in tow seem to be in much more of a hurry. I do a coast run with my work every Wednesday and am startled that I could be doing 120klms per hour which is 10 k over the limit and still be getting passed by boats(Couldn't see any Ausfish stickers, probably going too fast to see them). #;D ;D They must have just come from a clairvoyant and been told there is a fish with their name on it. :D
Better get my speedo checked I think. #::)

Obi___Wan
23-10-2006, 09:51 PM
G'Day Pinhead,
Mate i tow my hornet trophy full of gear up to the Whitsunday area twice a year. I tow it with a landcruiser turbo diesel and when i get on the highway i set the cruise control on 102kph sit back and enjoy, goes up all the hills and down the hills at 102kph, when i can do 110 thats what i do. I find that quite often i get smallish cars trying to overtake on hills when i am in the left hand lane in an overtaking area and they just haven'y got the steam to keep up, i also find that they are the ones who bust their a*se just to get past you then they slow down to 80 or 90 kph now thats frustrating. No problems experienced on my recent trip up but on the way back we were held up by two old style caravans doing about 75 kph with a huge line up behind them and not many places to overtake, eventually one of the vans pulled over, good on him but the other kept on eventually we got past only to be held up by several small tinnies like you had in front of you, its not so bad when there are overtaking lanes but when you have to follow mile after mile it certainly becomes very frustrating.
I guess there are drivers and there are other drivers but what ever you do it must be safe and legal.
Obi_Wan

timddo
23-10-2006, 10:21 PM
hmmm, i usually only drive 90 km on the goldcoast highway on the left hand. it's just safer when you need to break. IT takes longer to brake then with your car alone. Besides 15mins is nothing compared to an accident.

Besides there are always overtaking lanes, The speed limit is maximum not recommended.

Eagle
23-10-2006, 10:47 PM
My towing vechicle is a 2 liter 4x4. It is not a greyhound sprinter but it tows my 4.75 tinnie far better than any Commadore or any other car I have had. The hills slow the 4x4 down and the speed often drops to 80k or less. Many ignorant and sefish drivers pass me on the double lines, cut me off and try to not let me come out from the left lane in the overtaking zone. Would you believe that some (many) of the worst drivers are women in the 18 to 25 age group? I refuse to pull off the road onto the dirt/gravel off the shoulder to let these scum pass. I usually cruise at 90k and run at 100k when the road conditions allow the max speed with safety. When I come back onto the main drag on the overtaking zones, I turn on the indicator. check the mirror and pull back into the normal lane. A few times a roadhog has paced alongside of the boat and neither passed or dropped back. Too bad! When there is no more road then there is no more road and I come back onto the highway. I always start to enter the highway again at least 100 meters before the end of the side lane and before the "large squares" start. I came out onto the highway one night and a scumbag woman slob tried to pass me on the left as I reached the end of the overtaking zone. I saw her deliberately accelerate to make the pass on the left but she never made it. I refused to cross the double lines and face the oncomming traffic to let her into the driving lane. The scumbag woman had to go off the road to save her car and herself. How she missed the trees I have no idea. I was doing 95kph when she tried to pass on the left. I tow our boat as fast as possible at a speed that is CONSISTANT with the road conditions and safety. If this is too slow for the impatient scum, thats just too bad. I drive on the Rockhampton/Yeppoon road and I see scum of both sexes overtake on the double lines. drive at 120k plus, undertake other vehicles, tailgate like their car wants to mate with mine, overtake 3 and 4 cars and cut in risking the safety of the other cars. I saw a car do this one day and the car he cut in on (at about 120kph) was a cop car. He was also over the double lines! Tsk, tsk, how sad! # ;D ;D ;D
The worst tailgaters are women, especially the 18 to 20 age group. They dont have two brain cells to rub together! It all comes down to two major behavioral problems many drivers display, total sefishness and egotistical pride.

Eagle

dave22
23-10-2006, 11:13 PM
I'm with you Redspeckle, do people want a highway moving or do they want it jammed up for

hours after a head on/rollover, patience is the key. Everyone's in so much of a bloody rush

these days running around like a blue ass fly. As long as your doing 90kmh i don't give a

shit, whats 10 kmh, is it really worht stressing out getting there 8.333 mins earlier ?

rick_k
23-10-2006, 11:51 PM
Check your speed against a gps. Especially if you have changed your wheels and tyres.

Mr__Bean
24-10-2006, 01:53 AM
Jeepers Eagle,

Are you against bad drivers, or are just against all young women?

- Darren

24-10-2006, 07:17 AM
How dare you tow a boat in the left lane of the m1. That's the fast lane now????
I've given up trying to drive in the right lane.

ONLY IN BRISBANE!!!!!

Keep building highways, but until Australians are taught to drive efficiently it won't matter how many lanes we've got, and the situation continues to worsen.

Bitch over.

24-10-2006, 09:12 AM
I got done because I was trying to be courteous and was speeding up for the next hill by 15km/h so I didn't have to hold people up at 60km/h before the top.

Just so happens I have a trip Cairns to Bris and return soon, not a heavy tow only a tonne or so, but to anyone that thinks I could give even the smallest crap about about how busy they think they are :-?.

If they believe I am traveling too slow anywhere they are on notice- I really just couldn't care less what they think, they will be wasting their time flipping me or tailgating or cutting in - just another bug on the windscreen of highway travel. ;D ;)

Those drivers only exhibit this behavior because they themselves are easily upset when the same happens to them (it's a circle), it's an interesting window into a person personality and behavior.

To this day I have yet to met a calm, solid and centered individual who then gets visibly upset behind the wheel when things just don't go their way - it's nothing but tantrums with the mentality that allows it.

Kiktz
24-10-2006, 09:16 AM
GBC,,,,,,,,,,,, I couldn't agree with you more.

SO often I sit in the far left lane, trucks, caravans and trailers are all in the 2nd or 3rd lane.

I with GBC stay out of our lane.......... ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

mini696
24-10-2006, 09:59 AM
I just drove back from the Sunshine Coast this weekend (back to Gladstone). The pests were actually slow drivers in normal cars. I was following a yellow 'girly car' who was doing 85 for no reason at all, just a careful driver I think.

The other offender was some fella towing a horse float, who wouldn't pull over to let the 25+ cars behind him past.

Its funny to listen to the truckies bitching about them on the CB too.

DR
24-10-2006, 12:57 PM
if you have a decent car you should be able to overtake safely at many spots that do not have overtaking lanes. i say 'should' because what usually happens is you get someone in a sh*tbox with no guts & a couple who are just plain ignorant, or a couple of boats or vans that are together & they all sit up each others backsides leaving no room for those that are capable of safely overtaking, creating a long line of frustrated drivers. if people thought about it a bit more & left more room between vehicles life on the road would be a lot more pleasant.
was heading to hervey Bay a while back, towing the boat & had a slow vehicle in front, it was not safe & impossible to pass, but, mr smartypants commodore driver behind me kept ducking in & out trying to get past, there was plenty of room in front if he could make it, he was carrying on at me like it was my fault, came to passing lane car in front went left , i wanted past so stayed where i was , almost wore smartypants in the outboard as he was so impatient he gave me little or no chance to get going, i gave my girl a bootfull, 90-130 in a short distance, looked back to see him disappearing in the distance.. ;D ;D ;D wasn't you was it pinhead?? ;D

24-10-2006, 01:26 PM
amazing how many get defensive when mentioning boats and trailers..now if I had said caravans instead I bet I would have gotten complete agreement.

I know I can easily sit on 110 with my boat behind...not a problem..and if I cannot I would move out of the way and let other motorists pass...I have done this on numerous occassions when towing the trailer with work gear on it...it is not hard to do if you choose the correct place.

It is actually an offense to hold up traffic without making an effort to let them pass..some woman went to court over it a year or two back and she lost.

No one is talking about tailgating (my pet hate) or any other dangerous manouvres..just some common courtesy

Fast_Freddie
24-10-2006, 01:38 PM
So lets see, if my maths is right, and I don't promise anything in that department . . .

Rocky to Bris is about . . what . . 630klm (give or take)?

at an average of 100klm/hr for the journey = 6hrs 20min,
at an average of 90klm/hr = 7hrs,
at an average of 80klm/hr = 7 hrs 50min.

Mate, if your time is so valuable that you can't afford to take an extra 40 to 50 minutes to cover a 600klm trip, while towing a boat, and make it safer for everyone on that road . . . well then old mate, you need one of those viagra mirrors and have a good hard look at yourself!
[smiley=hammer.gif]

24-10-2006, 01:59 PM
somehow freddie..I think maybe you need to have a good hard look...at yourself and what I wrote...nowhere did I say I was towing a boat to or from Rockhampton...comprehension obviously isn't your best point.

To put it bluntly..I don't give a rats rectum what speed someone wants to drive at..but for f***s sake show some courtesy and move over so others can pass ...or is that too much to ask.

Roughasguts
24-10-2006, 02:22 PM
Anyone hear know what happens when your car stops suddenly and you have a big boat behind you, a trailer full of rollers ain't going to stop it is it.

jim_farrell
24-10-2006, 05:31 PM
Isn't it funny how you can judge someone by what they write on ausfish. Plenty of great personalities, however...................... ;D

toymod
24-10-2006, 05:35 PM
If you cant do the speed limit stay off the road, that simple ;)

24-10-2006, 05:41 PM
Anyone hear know what happens when your car stops suddenly and you have a big boat behind you, a trailer full of rollers ain't going to stop it is it.

yeah..if it is correctly set up then the trailer brakes are applied and if the boat is correctly set up then it just stays there...but RAG...I said small tinnies..they were the headache..the larger boats I came across were no problem at all.
There must have been a fishing comp at one of the dams as i saw quite a few boats on the highway...including the berkley boat in a roadhouse.

Great_White
24-10-2006, 09:37 PM
I know the frustration in getting caught behind all types of cars , trucks, boats, caravans. But I know that I can do the speed limit in my 4 x 4 towing the boat, even so I always try to keep left to allow anyone wanting to pass.

Peter #:)

Jimo
24-10-2006, 09:40 PM
amazing how many get defensive when mentioning boats and trailers..now if I had said caravans instead I bet I would have gotten complete agreement.

I know I can easily sit on 110 with my boat behind...not a problem..and if I cannot I would move out of the way and let other motorists pass...I have done this on numerous occassions when towing the trailer with work gear on it...it is not hard to do if you choose the correct place.

It is actually an offense to hold up traffic without making an effort to let them pass..some woman went to court over it a year or two back and she lost.

No one is talking about tailgating (my pet hate) or any other dangerous manouvres..just some common courtesy

MMMMMMM....easily sit on a 110.....only in that speed limited area or attract the attention of blue people....I would only move over if laned ..

Urban Myth --cannot get booked for sitting 10 k's below speed limit particularly if towing.

Law is must move over only if the road is speed zoned(multi laned) over 80KPH or signposted otherwise no offence.

Mr__Bean
24-10-2006, 09:43 PM
Great White,

I think that's what it is all about, just sharing a bit of courtesy.

The slower driver showing a bit of courtesy to those that wish to travel at the speed limit.

And those that are stuck behind a slower vehicle showing a bit of courtesy to the others that for whatever reason are not travelling at or around the limit.

Anything else is just selfish and impatient on either side.

- Darren.

P.S. Slow drivers that stay in the right hand lane do piss me off though I must say.

Sea-Dog
25-10-2006, 06:08 AM
As an ex-truckdriver I have learned a few things about the roads.

The vehicle in front can better see what is up ahead.

If I was slowed down by my load/vehicle/terrain combination, I would choose when it was safe and reasonable to pull over to allow those behind me to pass.

I would manage the space around my truck as much as I was able by keeping clear spaces in lanes beside me, in front and behind. This is just by careful use of the accelerator.

When going uphill and less than the speed limit, I usually moved onto the shoulder if conditions suited. When it came time to move back onto the road proper - it was sometimes a battle to get the traffic to let me in.

I learned to use my truck to my advantage. I would put on my right indicator early, wait for about 5 seconds then start to merge.

5 seconds is plenty of time for someone who is in the process of passing to get past. Others following would usually try to zoom past and make me run off the road for their convenience. - Bugger that. They were given plenty of notice - I was coming back onto the road.

I believe in being courteous on the roads because what goes around comes around. But I wont be a patsy either.

Use your indicator - (which is to indicate your intentions) allow response time, then start making your move.

It reminds me of the time I was sitting back from a truck stopped in the right lane at a set of lights. The woman in the car behind him wanted to get into the right-turn lane. She tried squeezing past him and in the process, she put a big nasty gouge along the left side of her car where she contacted the back of his tray.

The funny thing was she then pulled up along side his window and started abusing him. :o :o

DR
25-10-2006, 06:53 AM
when you all say that a slower vehicle should move to the left side of the road to allow you to pass, do you mean that if is a single lane road, they actually should get off the road & onto the gravel shoulder just so you can go past???? if so, not in this life people, go around when it is safe or wait untill there is a passing lane. if dual lane, yes, get over..

i must admit i will occasionally drop the trailer wheel onto the gravel in a corner if there is someone tailgating ::) tends to throw a few rocks around & solves the problem..

Roughasguts
25-10-2006, 08:37 AM
Yep best way to p!ss a tail gater off, run the wheels on to the gravel and break his wind screen.
Trucks use to do it all the time 20-25 years ago, but these days the trucks and B-Doubles go like a shower off Sh!t and the drivers are fantastic. I am happy to share there lane as I know they will not do anything stupid.
Funny thing is I find the Truck lanes on the F3 Sydney New castle, a lot quicker and safer than the so called fast lanes, they just bunch up and go nowhere. The other thing I have noticed Driving the F3 for nearly 50,000 km a year is that most all crashes are cars in the fast lanes.

25-10-2006, 04:27 PM
Well I own a campervan (1100kg) and also tow a tinny often with my 4wd, and I have to agree, people show me no consideration at all, if I leave a gap, even half a car, some d1ckweed will jump into it and we all have to brake to avoid him >:(

One time on the way to Pottsville for the family chrissy hols, a guy about a KM up the road from me got the scneario of no one letting him in after the overtaking lane ending, and he and his whole family and unit ended up in the bush, down a ditch, you name it.

Absolutely stuffed up their holiday plan, kids were screaming their heads off, and he and his Mrs MUST have had brown undies.. I really felt sorry for them..

Yes, towing boats and vans can make it a slower trip, and yes, there are way too many impatient buttheads out there who seem to think you will just vanish into thin air.. I think everyone just needs to learn how to share the roads better.

Johnson_Jack
25-10-2006, 08:03 PM
Have to say, Its a limit not a target! If your towing a boat and doing 90 so what?

Thats what overtaking lanes are for... to let the impatient B$#tards thru.

When I'm pulling a tonne behind me, I'm not hooning at 100, I drop back a bit, its the safe thing to do, braked as she is, she wont stop on a dime.

If so called fellow fishermen cant understand that.......... tough, like its been said before, if its such a race leave early!

my 10c

Jack

saurian
25-10-2006, 08:38 PM
Pinhead, sounds like you have not really got a handle on it.
Jimo , you are correct , 2 lanes or when there is normally a sign that says " motorway/ freeway". The Bruce highway in QLD is little more than single lane with no shoulder , sometimes the odd overtaking lane up a hill, moreoften just a sign that says " overtaking lane 5 km".
Do not get on the shoulder of the road guys , just to let pinheads through, if it is safe yeah , but not because of some pinheads pressure.
Pinhead hope you follow me , 60 km/hr at best up hills, 80 km/hr on the flat without a drop of wind.
SLOW, but safe , i do not look at the speedo much , I do not let jerks in a hurry worry me , but yeah i'll have a go..........

25-10-2006, 08:50 PM
saurian..are you trying to tell me that with a 4m tinnie on you go 60k/hr up a hill and 80k/hr on the flat? You either need to get a decent tow vehicle or driving lessons.

saurian
25-10-2006, 09:00 PM
A tinny but not 4m.

25-10-2006, 09:06 PM
Anyfish...there weren't large boats...only 4 metre tinnies..I followed a red TABS..about 6 metres for a while and he had no trouble cruising on 100.

It isn't a matter of saving fuel..it is a matter of a bit of courtesy and at least moving over to let others pass and perhaps prevent someone trying an overtaking manouvre that they shouldn't but do out of frustration.

Why shouldn't I complain about people towing boats on here..are we all that high and mighty that we cannot cop some criticism.

saurian..as per my post..4m tinnies

saurian
25-10-2006, 09:16 PM
I read previous posts , could not care what meterage they where.
If someone wants to go slow , overtake safely or pull over and have a rest, pee, pick some noxious weeds , don't just bitch because you are impatient.

25-10-2006, 09:19 PM
well then ..for the 60k and 80k highway stars...all I can say is..bloody ignorant motorists...cause more accidents than anything else by holding up the traffic.

saurian
25-10-2006, 09:34 PM
Pinhead, ignorant with a clean licence.
When a fellow driver is impatient who is really being the ignorant one ????
And i believe you where a safe distance behind them , where you not ?
Pinhead some guys slow down if an ignorant driver is up the skeg on their 4 m tinny ..

Captain_Starli
26-10-2006, 09:13 AM

so anyone with a bigger than 4mtr tinny can go slow without it bothering you???bit strange..

griz066
26-10-2006, 01:16 PM
Mate last xmas goin up glenalda range , comin home from hervey bay I did the right thing towing my boat & got in the left lane . But when the lane was ending No BARSTARD would let me back in . So here we are on the gravel , wife screaming, kids screaming & me with white nuckle fever.

I agree Pitsta

Hey Pinhead / B@@fhead where the f@#k do you want them to move over too on a 2 lane road, we all pay our rego so what gives you the right to demand that they get over to let you pass, who is on the high and mighty now. Its pr!cks like you that cause accidents by being impatient and trying to overtake a slower vehicle at the wrong time on the wrong piece of road, then probably hit the picks in front of him and slow down for the next 10 klm to teach the guy a lesson.

I set my cruise controll on about 95klm when towing anything my boat or caravan and off I go, there are pleanty of clueless w@nkers out there who do 80klm one minute so I overtave next minute they are right up your clacker and go around you only to stop at a servo 2 k up the road or to be caught up to again, f@#kin hopeless they are

26-10-2006, 01:35 PM

I agree Pitsta

Hey Pinhead / B@@fhead where the f@#k do you want them to move over too on a 2 lane road, we all pay our rego so what gives you the right to demand that they get over to let you pass, who is on the high and mighty now. Its pr!cks like you that cause accidents by being impatient and trying to overtake a slower vehicle at the wrong time on the wrong piece of road, then probably hit the picks in front of him and slow down for the next 10 klm to teach the guy a lesson.

I set my cruise controll on about 95klm when towing anything my boat or caravan and off I go, there are pleanty of clueless w@nkers out there who do 80klm one minute so I overtave next minute they are right up your clacker and go around you only to stop at a servo 2 k up the road or to be caught up to again, f@#kin hopeless they are

when all else fails go the name calling..all class. Call me what you want..if you look in your rear vision mirrors and see a line of vehicles behind you and you just shrug and don't care..that is ignorance.

26-10-2006, 01:37 PM
Why do people get impatient..simple..because some cannot drive to somewhere near the speed limit not care..that is what causes the impatience.

timddo
26-10-2006, 01:59 PM
The speed limit is a guide, not the MUST Travel Speed, That's why there are overtaking lanes. Hmm another 10 minutes late to your favourite fishing ground , compared to not going at all. What's the rush for.

26-10-2006, 01:59 PM

so anyone with a bigger than 4mtr tinny can go slow without it bothering you???bit strange..

Whiskers..as I said earlier..the bigger boats we encountered were all cruising at the speed limit...the ones that were holding up the traffic flow were all small tinnies..that was what made it all the more odd...the bigger ones had no problems...a couple of the smaller ones would have had problems because they had everything but the kitchen sink packed into the boat..perhaps the trailer set up was not conducive to all the additional weight in the boat...not a very safe thing to do either.

Roughasguts
26-10-2006, 02:06 PM
Thats probably the problem over loaded tinnies and there trailers.
It's likely the tyres are out of round from sitting to long.
And shake like shi!t over 60K'S

saurian
26-10-2006, 04:16 PM
It is really a shame that , some of you people just do not get it.....
The majority seem to understand fine.
Find a comfortable speed , all differences taken into account , and
then just travel to your destination.
The fact that all the bitches complain about others going to slow
would probably mean that they , "YES THE FAST ONES" are the problems .
SPEED KILLS, I've heard that one before .
Why do you blame slow vehicle combinations for your inability to have
a little bit of self control , and not act out of frustration.(IGNORANCE)
Thus speeding etc ...... Causing problems as you go.
I will admit the Bruce h'way is not good , but not worth hurting yourself
or others for a few modern fast paced minutes.

26-10-2006, 04:39 PM
a good comfortable speed is 100k/hr..LOL

toymod
26-10-2006, 05:02 PM
I dont know why people justify that speeding is the be all and end all of saftey. How about you turn the tide and look at it from another angle, going under the speed limit even as litle as 10k's an hour can cause more issues as speeding of the same amount. Have a good think about it. Im not saying in all cases, but there are places and situations.

As said before in previous post it is just as illegal not to do the speed limit ( but if you are under keeping up with traffic all is good). The issue is when you impead on the speeds of the other motorists, this is when you cause dangerous situations.

I love how people can have there blinkers on, reading through the posts people are whinging how other drivers are cutting them off, yelling abuse etc.......open your eyes they are doing this for a reason, you are going to slow and/or impeading the flow of traffic, you are the one causing a dangerous situation, they are just acting like idiots. But if it was not for you on the road would they have acted like that? I doubt it.

As before when i said, if you cant do the speed limit stay off the road........I really should have said if you cant keep up with the flow of traffic (wheather it be 80, 90, 100, 110) STAY OFF THE ROAD, YOU ARE A DANGER.

FOOD FOR THOUGHT

TOYMOD ;)

Jimo
26-10-2006, 06:34 PM
Nowhere is it illegal to travel under the speed limit, the limit is set for average drivers in ideal conditions, which is not often achieved. I agree that half the people towing vans, boats, trailers should not be on the road. Unfortunately if they went faster they would probably cause more accidents than by travelling a little slower. As a heavy vehicle driver of 30 years experience I have seen most of it but would prefer someone a little slower on the right side of the road than faster and on the wrong side. It would appear that most of this debate is about slow drivers on single lane roads, just drive north and see how many areas are suitable for moving over, can you imagine all the accidents caused by incompetents dropping the left hand side wheels on the dirt with unbalanced loads. Just go back a few years when most semis were restricted to 80 kph (not that many stuck to it) and they allways went flat out down hills and crawled up them. you just waited untill you got a signal to pass or the road allowed it. Not much road rage then.......glad I'm not driving for a quid now................to many impatient bastards out there whether your doing the speed limit or not most want to pass because you look big you must be slower........

26-10-2006, 07:19 PM
Ding!! Popcorn is ready ;D

Everyone just get of the road will ya! I want it all to myself, driving to Bris tomorrow and my blood-pressure is rising already!!! :D

saurian
26-10-2006, 07:26 PM
I'll be waiting for you , look out fnq ,at about mobil mill veiw..!!!!

troy
26-10-2006, 07:31 PM
This is only my thoughts on this and that is if you are not towing anythink then maybe you should go close to the recommended speed.
But when you are towing anything i think it is only common sence to go at the speed you feel comfortable with.
It might be 60 klms or 110 klms it all comes down to what you consider that is safe for you and other people that share the road with.
Troy

toymod
26-10-2006, 07:40 PM
its not ilegal to travel under the speed limit ;D what a joke, you may be suprised to find that it is........its just not inforced to often......i am not saying not to drive to what speed you are feel safe at, just that it is just as dangerous to drive slowly as it is to drive over the speed limit.

But on highways in particular you should be going as fast as the trafic, if you are slowing trafic down you are not driving saftley. Its not rocket science. :o

saurian
26-10-2006, 07:48 PM
Hi Troy , I agree totally with you.
Toymod , check up about highways versus motorways/freeways in regards to speed limits , let me know if i am wrong ...????

Jimo
26-10-2006, 07:52 PM
Toymod, mate, there is no such offence as travelling under the speed limit, go to your local police station or transport office and ask for the Regulation that covers it. All you will get is strange looks.
(a small side bet of a slab and bundy if interested ) you can be charged if you were travelling at some ridiculous slow speed but never for under the limit by 10 or so k's. another urban myth like driving with no shoes.

toymod
26-10-2006, 07:53 PM
As i said before it is called restricting the flow of traffic, the law shows that its 15km/h and under is a finable offence, which is another story compared to ristricting the flow of trafic

saurian
26-10-2006, 08:00 PM
toymod , those speed cameras on the side of the bruce hwy , they
take a picture of your vehicle when you are speeding .
Are you trying to tell us that if you go 15 km/hr under the limit it
will take a picture of you as well ?????

toymod
26-10-2006, 08:03 PM
Pease read my comments, I said it is rarley enforced ;)

saurian
26-10-2006, 08:06 PM
Sounds like another that needs to LOL.

Jimo
26-10-2006, 08:17 PM
s 125
Transport Operations (Road Use Management—Road
Rules) Regulation 1999

Part 11 Keeping left, overtaking and
other driving rules

Division 1 General
125 Unreasonably obstructing drivers or pedestrians
(1) A driver must not unreasonably obstruct the path of another
driver or a pedestrian.
Maximum penalty—20 penalty units.
(2) For this section, a driver does not unreasonably obstruct the
path of another driver or a pedestrian only because—
(a) the driver is stopped in traffic; or
(b) the driver is driving more slowly than other vehicles
(unless the driver is driving abnormally slowly in the
circumstances).
Example of a driver driving abnormally slowly—
A driver driving at a speed of 20km/h on a length of road to
which a speed limit of 80km/h applies when there is no reason
for the driver to drive at that speed on the length of road.

Mate if you can find or point me to any other regulation (in Qld) other than above I would be most interested.

saurian
26-10-2006, 08:24 PM
JIMO , TOYMOD OWES YOU A CARTON OF THE FINEST.
COME ON TOYMOD COFF UP , NO INDIAN GIVERS HERE....

Mr__Bean
26-10-2006, 09:02 PM
For interest........

When you blokes tow "really slow" on the highway, do you wear a hat?

- Darren

Jimo
26-10-2006, 09:12 PM
A great big hat, and the tow vehicle is a Volvo :)

saurian
26-10-2006, 09:26 PM
BEAN , WE ALSO CHEW ON 6 FEET LONG BITS OF SUGARBUSH
( SUGARCANE) AND SPIT ALL THE HUSKS AT THE SPEEDING IGNORANT SUTHANERS THAT GO BY OUR ETHONEL POWERED 318 DODGE TRUCKS WHICH WE TOW OUR 773 HAINES WITH...

IcemanII
26-10-2006, 11:46 PM
Always tow my 6.4 fibreglass behind the cruiser at 100/110 as it saves me stressing about a radiator getting attached to prop and ruining my holiday, if 2/3 cars queue behind me I normally find a place within a couple of k's to let them past, sort of common sense realy isn't it !
Often see caravan's with 20 or 30 cars stuck behind them and also some times boats doing the same and not even attempting to pull over when there is room, they also often speed up when there is passing lanes. Just nothing like following someone with boat in tow at 80 then finally get to the passing lane and they decide they're going to do 110.....
Think it is just wrong when someone thinks they own the road and stuff everyone else.

griz066
27-10-2006, 06:40 AM
[/quote]

when all else fails go the name calling..all class. Call me what you want..if you look in your rear vision mirrors and see a line of vehicles behind you and you just shrug and don't care..that is ignorance.
[/quote]

No need to name call I guess, your name says it all Pinhead. I always check what is behind me, but there is no way in hell that I will pull over and let anyone pass just to have them hold me up with there shitty driving skills. I you don't have the skills to safely overtake a car and a small tinny get of the road yourself.

PS I don't even own a tinny

Captain_Starli
27-10-2006, 08:25 AM
Always tow my 6.4 fibreglass behind the cruiser at 100/110 as it saves me stressing about a radiator getting attached to prop and ruining my holiday, if 2/3 cars queue behind me I normally find a place within a couple of k's to let them past, sort of common sense realy isn't it !
Often see caravan's with 20 or 30 cars stuck behind them and also some times boats doing the same and not even attempting to pull over when there is room, they also often speed up when there is passing lanes. Just nothing like following someone with boat in tow at 80 then finally get to the passing lane and they decide they're going to do 110.....
Think it is just wrong when someone thinks they own the road and stuff everyone else.

to me this is a lot of what causes this problem. this & the following drivers are just as ignorant, the first follower will sit up the boat/vans bum, not really leaving enough room for good visability for them to see if they can pass, let alone room for a vehicle behind to fit in if they pass, the one behind also doesn't have the ability to pass so they stay there & everyone following does exactly the same thing, they don't have the balls to pass or the brains to leave space for someone that does. The lead boat then speeds up when the straights come, this compounds the problem.
so basically you are all to blame, & I BET YOU CAN'T MERGE ONTO THE MOTORWAY PROPERLY EITHER!!!!! ::)

27-10-2006, 10:50 AM
LOL griz..I have the skills..i did overtake them all..and all perfectly safely..not a problem there..I don;t take stupid options on the road...but you probably don't understand so I will leave it there.

Hellmannn
27-10-2006, 02:27 PM
There are a lot of selfish impatient people on the road in general.

Road Rage occurs when there is miscommunication. When we are in our cars there is no /limited body language which might not be seen by a fellow motorist.

hence misunderstandings compound which leads to excessive anger.

i reckon people need to be more understanding to each other.

my two cents worth ;)

Deiter
27-10-2006, 03:32 PM
i would like to ask this question,

i don't know if its still the case, but when i was an "L" plater, my speed was restricted to 80kph, even in 100 zones.

Now if i was doing 80k's along a single lane road w/ out many passing opportunities, and you were sitting behind me and wanted to do 100, some of you are saying that you wouldn't get bothered, even if i slowed to 60k's sometimes and braked going down hill.

Some people are saying this wouldn't worry them at all and they would happily sit behind me all the way from Brissy to Rocky. ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

Now i don't know about you, but if i am driving on a highway doing 80kph, where i know ppl want to do 100, then i try and hold up the traffic as little as possible.
I don't get behind the wheel and dissapear into my own little world and say "stuff everyone else, they can wait for me" THAT is ignorance.

I am sorry, but if you do not feel safe keeping up with the traffic, you should have some driving lessons untill you build your confidence

If you are towing a load that does not permit you to reach and maintain at least 80% of the posted speed, you should not be on the road.

that's way cane harvesters are not allowed on the gateway, COZ THEY HOLD UP TRAFFIC. and if you want to drive like you are in one, STICK TO THE PADDOCKS, the cows are happy to follow you all day.

My $1.20

Damo

Jimo
27-10-2006, 07:29 PM
Deiter, "
If you are towing a load that does not permit you to reach and maintain at least 80% of the posted speed, you should not be on the road." 100% agree with you but apparently some people HAVE to travel at the posted speed limit. I still state that speed limits are set for average drivers in ideal conditions. Perhaps we need a graduated licence system (to hard for the authorities) you need to sit an additional licence test for trucks but can hook up a 6 metre boat or caravan without any other qualification than a normal car licence. Just go to any boat ramp on Sundays and watch them try and reverse.

GAD
27-10-2006, 09:44 PM
Well is this a hot subject, claws are out, few people getting letting off some steam , vent boys vent, better than seeing you get in the s..t for bashing someone with a baseball bat..
Just got to keep your cool, yes there are enough a..holes on the road and they seem to be getting more in number, but the roads in queensland could do with a bit more width an a few less bumps and pot holes and then maybe the gov could teach driver ed in school and we could also get one set of road rules for this country of ours and the tax from fuel could be spent on roads and and and and we could live in utpoia.
The best bet is tow your boat as fast as you are comfortable with but don't be a dill about it, and if you see a bloke towing his pride and joy , remember you wouldn't want somebody up your clacker trying to read the prop size on your outboard , beeping and carrying on like afool trying to upset you. Or would you? do u

mod5
28-10-2006, 07:28 AM
Off topic replies have been moved to This Thread

Members are are asked to refrain from inflaming posts and personal insults.