PDA

View Full Version : Hard to re-start 140hp Yammie after anchoring

Fast_Freddie
06-11-2006, 11:34 AM
Hey guys this nearly drove me crazy yesterday, can you help? [smiley=bigcry.gif]

Got a 140hp Yamaha.

Get to the boat ramp and start her up - no problems.
Drive around to likely spot (about 40mins) - no problems.
Drop the anchor, cup fo tea with Wifey - no problems and no fish.
Had trouble re-starting. Engine turns over, just would not fire.
Finally starts but, wouldn't idle forward (to retreive the anchor) and sometimes when dropped into gear, stopped.
Once underway it never missed a beat but everytime we stopped and tried to restart the same thing happened.

Any ideas?

[smiley=thumbsup.gif]

Fred

TasFisho
06-11-2006, 12:23 PM
Sounds like a fuel blockage, if not in the lines it maybe in the idle circuit of the carbies if it has carbs, if its efi then still sounds like it will be in the idle circuit. Hope that helps :)

JasonT
06-11-2006, 12:36 PM
Hi!
I'm no expert, but I can suggest you check:

Idle mix / Idle adjust
Plugs and plug leads.
Compression.

The fact that it's running ok at revs is good in one way, as it would indicate no catastrophic failure.
Having said that however, I have known a motor to have the same symptoms and the fault ended up being a cracked head.
Hope it's not the case here!
As I said, I'm no expert, but I hope this helps!

JT

Cheech
06-11-2006, 12:46 PM
Simmilar to what I had once. Was because the mix was too rich.

PADDLES
06-11-2006, 12:57 PM
g'day freddie, i have been having the same problems with a 1992 v6 merc. drives ya insane doesn't it. i've found that for me (after being suggested on a post on here) it was simply getting the "knack" of starting it.

i used to panic a little at it not starting and pump up the fuel bulb, use the choke (which is a solenoid that drips fuel directly into the next carby down in a merc) and consequently flood the krap out of the poor thing.