PDA

View Full Version : Johnson regulator problems

1975fflh
23-10-2006, 05:58 PM
Hi People

I have a 1999 model 90HP Johnson I have replaced the regulator and it worked for a while the died then worked. the next time out it didnt work at all.

I guage it is not working because the tacho is works sometimes and not others as described above.

I had the tacho checked by a mechanic before he installed the regulator ( I am new to playing with outboards).

Can anyone help me find out why this is happening as I dont want to replace the regulator againa as they are $500 new.
So I would like to find out why they are dying on me.

I run a dual battery system if this helps.

Thanks

Gordon

Spaniard_King
23-10-2006, 06:18 PM
Gordon,

Get the mechanic to check the running output of the stator against the specs for the engine.

The regulator needs to be installed as per the manual ensuring a good earth is made on the earthing wire.

These regulators can be damaged by turning the battery switch off during swapping batteries.. could this be your problem??

I take it you don't get warranty on the regulator just fitted??

cheers

Garry

1975fflh
23-10-2006, 07:10 PM
Hi

I have a double switch installed and when swapping batteries, both are turned on and then one turned off.

Where would I find the earth wire to check?

Thanks

Spaniard_King
23-10-2006, 07:33 PM
Look at the regulator, it will have a black wire with a ring terminal on it which needs to go to a clean earth on the block somewhere.

Garry

BaysideMarine
23-10-2006, 09:21 PM
If your blowing regulators the first thing I would be checking is how clean and tight the battery connections are.

And as you have a battery switch in th emix, I'd be pulling that off its bulkhead and checking the connections on the back of it.

Even if its a "make before break" type switch I personally wouldnt want to be switching between batteries with the engine running. Not cool.....