View Full Version : Anyone own an AMM 4.5m tiller plate boat??

420topender
19-11-2006, 05:59 PM
hi there guys, just wondering if anyone here owns an australian master marine 4.5cv tiller steer boat. im looking to purshase one in the near future, just wondering if anyone had one, id love to have a chat to an owner :). cheers Beau.

MICHAELG
20-11-2006, 09:45 AM
Beau

Dont have an AMM but there are a few of us with fisher tillers 4.5 & 4.8m

michael

420topender
20-11-2006, 11:13 AM
Michael, yea the fishers were my other choice, i think amm and fisher build the best plate boats going.
There is a few other companies like noble that build nice plate boats also ,but they dont make smaller plate boats.

Only fisher/amm build a 4.5m and thats the size range im after i was tossing up between an amm 4.5 or fisher 4.5. what sold me to the amm was the internal side height. fisher was 520mm ,amm was 630mm i just felt a bit more secure standing in the boat with more side height. having said that, iv never been on the water in neither :-[, so its hard to do a comparison. i just want a 4.5 thats built like a tank and i can take anywhere :)

gotta love the self draining alloy floor deck also. no more carpeted floor boards :)

sid_fishes
20-11-2006, 06:20 PM
mate if it was me i would looking at the fisher. i did some looking around before the bank manager said no, and you cant go past them. have a chat to col[ great bloke] then go from there....... just my 2 bobs worth cheers ian

20-11-2006, 07:25 PM
whats the price and weight diference between the two?

420topender
21-11-2006, 07:29 AM
theirs not much of a price differance between the two their both between 12-13k mark for the basic unpainted hull. weight of hulls, not sure, iv never checked the specs of weight, i would think that would be 400-500kg approx :-?

a_big_red_1
24-11-2006, 07:04 AM
hi, yep i have a AMM, but its a 4.8, it is a great boat, handles the sea very well and the overall finish of these boats is bar to non

good luck with your choise ;)

PM sent

420topender
24-11-2006, 12:51 PM
crackerjack is it a centre console ? how do they handle the big swell, carve it up pretty easy?

a_big_red_1
24-11-2006, 06:48 PM
no mate its a side console, as for rough seas it handles extremely well, two weekends ago comming home from the reef we copped a northerly 15 - 20 knts and we still sat on 38 - 43 Kph and got very wet

LOL........ but there was a glass boat that flew past us ;D

a_big_red_1
24-11-2006, 07:24 PM
oh, are you in the Cairns area? if so id be more than happy to take you for a fish/joy ride in the AMM

420topender
25-11-2006, 06:11 AM
Daz that would be awesome to take you up on that offer, unfortunatly im down in brizz. sounds like you have a nice rig though ;)

a_big_red_1
25-11-2006, 09:15 AM
tis a great boat :D

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v647/4xgold0/100_1874.jpg

done a few mods to the trailer since this shot
new 3" drop axel
13" alloy wheels
just to make launching a little easy

26-11-2006, 05:50 AM
Tuff little rig Daz

26-11-2006, 08:06 AM
G'Day Beau, I know this is not the brand/s you asked about, although at around 1K per metre (eg 5.4m tiller, real size, no bow sprit, long nose or pods in measure, under 6k I think and an awesome BIG BOAT in area) when bought from the factory door, they are a great buy and smartly constructed also. I have yet to see their smaller models but if they compare to the larger one, may suit as an option depending.

www.aquamaster.com.au

Daz thats a neat rig, have saved your pic so if you see another brand of CC running around with an identical T top and bait station in the future come and say G'Day :).

bluefin59
26-11-2006, 10:54 AM
i have a 4.5 bluefin predator plate boat with a 60 mariner it is built like a tank i hae done 300 hrs in 2 yrs and it has got me home every time safely and it is still as good as new i like the A.M.M but for value and build i couldnt go past the bluefin they also do a pod version if thats your thing i taake mine of shore regularly and with the money i saved i bought a better sounder and bow mount electric and still had change i would at least take a look at one i bought mine from MR.Ts at clevland talk to theo he knows his boats and great service ...bluefin59 ;) ;) ;) ;)

a_big_red_1
26-11-2006, 11:28 AM
Tuff little rig Daz

thanx HI-YO

a_big_red_1
26-11-2006, 11:31 AM
Daz thats a neat rig, have saved your pic so if you see another brand of CC running around with an identical T top and bait station in the future come and say G'Day :).

[/quote]
thanx fnq, have you built the T- top yet?
if not i can e-mail you some better pics of it also the bait board if ya like

27-11-2006, 10:22 AM
Hi Daz, still working on the CC about 1/3 done, suspect there will need to be a bunch of Sundays past before I get to the T-Top but get there I will!

Daz will PM my email, some pics would be nice thanks, also interested in your thoughs on your mercury 75?..90?

a_big_red_1
27-11-2006, 05:14 PM
no worries fnq, better still, if your up around northen beaches give me a call and you can check it out if ya like

as for the merc its a 90, have had mercs for quite a few years now and never had any probs, thats why i went with merc this time again, but really each to there own

what size tinny have you mate?
few pics would be good :P

27-11-2006, 06:07 PM
Hi Daz, Might take you up on that sometime, here is a link to the hull just don't count the trailer,paint bimany,engine...hell everything apart from the bare hull and floor. Biggest basic tinny I could find around the traps.

But at the moment it's a float, not yet a boat, so my wife tells me :(

http://www.boatpoint.com.au/DesktopDefault.aspx?UsedBoatID=1690724&TabID=3338&Alias=boatpointau

a_big_red_1
27-11-2006, 07:06 PM
LOL @ your wife ;D

damn thats a great looking boat 8-)
bet ya cant wait