View Full Version : Servicing your own outboard

Fast_Freddie
23-11-2006, 09:38 AM
Guys,
Where can I go to learn how to service my own outboard?

I am soooo sick of shonky mechanics! [smiley=rifle.gif]

I'm not too mechanically challenged but have never bothered to lay a spanner on an outboard other than to change plugs.

Do you think it is worth doing?

[smiley=thumbsup.gif]

Fred

23-11-2006, 11:02 AM
I definatly think its worth doing, I think some of the local TAFE's run shot courses.

Roughasguts
23-11-2006, 11:08 AM
Get a service manual, Seloc or haines for your motor that will get you started, for removing the leg, water pump replacement etc.

Might be better to do a course on removing rusty bolts, how to break studs, then try and drill out, and then tap a new thread in.

Sometimes a 5 min job on a outboard can take all day, if you break a stud.

Fast_Freddie
24-11-2006, 08:54 AM
Cheers Guys,
Thanks.

Didn't think of the old TAFE courses Dave.

Roughas . . . My dear old Dad was an engine guy. When he passed away I got all his tools.
Had a look throught them last night and found the best set of tap & dies I have ever seen.

Thanks boys

[smiley=thumbsup.gif]

Fred

BaysideMarine
24-11-2006, 11:02 PM
Sounds like we need to orgainse a Home Servicing 101 for you QLD lads. (Toying with it here in Melb at present)

Nicholas

Kendall249
24-11-2006, 11:21 PM
having watched a reputable mechanic with 20yrs experience do the annual service on my outboard, theres definately more to it than changing filter, plugs and impeller. But a course as mentioned above would be worth its weight in gold.

25-11-2006, 05:19 AM
Sorry fellas but I reckon everyone to their trade.
Takes years to do an apprenticeship with any trade. There's a reason for that.
But if you want to learn about simple basic repairs such as impellor or plug replacements or carby drain or simple oil changes (and what to look for in the oil when you do this), simple electrics or even how your outboard works then go for it [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]
But anything to do with timing or synchronisation or diagnostics (which is done with a service) or the such I'd leave it to the pro. You can really stuff the performance of an outboard too easily with a 1/4 twist of a screwdriver. Especially the larger ones.
I know it's hard to find a good mechanic but ask here who recommends who. Word of mouth is the best advertiser.

Fast_Freddie
27-11-2006, 02:47 PM
I think I tend to agree with you Finga.
Its not like tuning the old 186 Holden donk is it!

Still I would like to know more about the basics if for nothing else than being able to communicate better with the mechanics.

Lot of the time, the only feedback I get back from them is "No probs mate, we changed the plugs and cleaned the carbies and she's good as gold."

I was just wondering if this is something I could actually do?

[smiley=thumbsup.gif]

Fred

Reef_fisher
27-11-2006, 08:48 PM
Trouble is Fred , you could do it all the right way, and not notice that something else looks sus, excess metal in oil, frayed lines/wiring. All these sort of things that only experienced people notice or know to look for.

I agree with finga, I could probably tell you what to look for on an F111 or F18 or helicopters but stuffed if I know anything about OB motors. And yes I was in the aircraft trade, airframes and engines.

rainbow_runner
27-11-2006, 09:02 PM
A little bit of knowledge is a dangerous thing......nothing worse when you think you have fixed something or even worse think you know what you are doing by reading the manual

and the engine dies when your in the middle of now where.

Anyway TAFE offers from time to time courses

I have used the manual etc but you are genrally limited to what you can do, such as gear box oil plugs etc.

Most require specialised tools and a computer degree to tune

By the time your finished it is cheaper at the end of teh day to keep trying to find a good mechanic even if you have to drive further

BaysideMarine
27-11-2006, 09:32 PM
Outboards are actually very simple to work on once you understand how they operate. Typically the only area that really baffles people is the ignition system which is actually very simple.

In reality, an outboard is faster to tune than your 186....

27-11-2006, 10:18 PM
Fred, My only advice from mucking with these addictive machines is..and it's great advice...when you change the gearbox oil and remove the screws and washers always replace the washers with a new ones no matter how good they look. Lesson learn't the hard way once :-X.

Actually I have a couple of other rather brutal lessons best left for another time :-[.

Good luck and just jump in you will either sink or swim, most people swim.

Roughasguts
27-11-2006, 10:29 PM
It doesn't hurt to use some lock tite sealer on those threads for keeping the water out, and oil in, on the gearbox either.

28-11-2006, 06:01 AM
After having maintained/repaired my cars for all of my life, I swore that by the time I reached 50 years old that I would never ever again crawl under a car. #

I have #a similar mindset about outboards since my life depends on my Merc 4 stroke, especially because I do a lot of solo night fishing in the bay. In the five years since I have owned my (first) boat, I have never lifted a finger to maintain the outboard except for flushing and greasing the few nipples that it has every few weeks.

Instead, every pay day, I slip a few bucks into an ING online account (which pays 6%) at the rate of $25 per week to pay for maintenance, rego, and insurance.

That is the smartest thing that I have ever done. #I don't miss $25 per week but over a year it amasses to be quite a #fortune such that when I take the boat in for service or repairs to my dealer (who I know is not cheap but with whose work I am happy) and they ask me about whether they should replace such-and-such, I reply "Nike" - just do it. #I don't even notice the servicing cost. #That ING account is quarrantined from every other expense in my life so it only has the one purpose.

Having said all of that, I do own a factory workshop manual and I do carry a full set of tools tucked up under the bow of my boat with a few spare fuses, spark plug and water pump impellor. #Supercheap sells very cheap sets of spanners and screwdrivers which are a long way from being Sidchrome quality but giood enough - and left in their sealed plastic packaging so that the salt air does not get into them - they only need to work once for me in an emergency situation.

For some crazy reason though, I will still repack wheel bearings. #Ah well, a man would feel useless if he did not do something mechanical on the boat and trailer. #;D

28-11-2006, 07:15 AM
freddie, if the tafe course helps you understand outboards a little better then it's a good thing i reckon. it'll help you figure out if a mechanic is a bit shonky easier because you'll know what you're talking about better and it'll also give you another set of experienced set of eyes (as well as the mechanic's) to hopefully pick out any faults before they become life threatening. the knowledge will also be stuck in your head for the time that you really may need it, in an emergency. i'm a bit mechanically minded but still get an outboard mechanic to do the job because he's an expert in his field and his years of experience will let him see stuff that i would never see. :)

28-11-2006, 08:42 AM
freddie, if the tafe course helps you understand outboards a little better then it's a good thing i reckon. it'll help you figure out if a mechanic is a bit shonky easier because you'll know what you're talking about better and it'll also give you another set of experienced set of eyes (as well as the mechanic's) to hopefully pick out any faults before they become life threatening. the knowledge will also be stuck in your head for the time that you really may need it, in an emergency. i'm a bit mechanically minded but still get an outboard mechanic to do the job because he's an expert in his field and his years of experience will let him see stuff that i would never see. :)
Well said paddles.
Also when I get my outboards I sit down and go throught he owners manual to see what's where and where's what. I familarise myself with the outboard just in case.

No harm in knowing where the fuses are, or where the relays or solenoids are for the tilt/trim (and knowing how the get the leg up or down if they stuff up), or knowing where the fuel filter is and how to clean it etc just in case something very simple goes wrong on the water.

28-11-2006, 11:20 AM
An owner part servicing the sophisticated machine that is todays outboard motor is a lot like getting a woman a little bit pregnant ::)

I ask you "Whats the point in doing either, even if you could?

Its all or nothing. and a manual aint going the cut it in either case;)

Fast_Freddie
29-11-2006, 08:42 PM
All good stuff guys,
Very relevant points made - Thanks.

Hey Rainbow Runner - sorry mate but I don't agree with the term "A little bit of knowledge is a dangerous thing." I reckon and little bit of knowledge is better than complete ignorance. No offense mate, its just what I reckon.

So here's what I think I'll do.

Pick up a manual for the 140hp Yammie just so I am familiar with layout - get a basic understanding.
Might even do TAFE course if I'm still motivated when one comes around.
I'll leave all the techo stuff to the experts as suggested.

Thanks again

[smiley=thumbsup.gif]

Fred