View Full Version : 30hp 2 Stroke for 4.2 Dory??
moater
16-01-2007, 11:45 AM
G'day all,
As some would know I'm wanting to convert my quinnie to a forward control job...most likely centre console.I've recently come into a few dollars courtesy of the pokies ($9,687 jackpot! #;D ;D) and I'm now entertaining the idea of powering up as I've got a 20p merc at present and would like a bit more oomph.I've been thinking about the maximum recommended 40hp but now I'm thinking about saving a few dollars 'cause there're other things I want/need to do...therefore I'm wondering if I might be better off with a new 30hp???...I mainly fish by myself and I want to use the boat outside a bit.I'm also looking at getting some of the Airofloat stabilizers for extra bouyancy & safety etc.Sorry about the ramble,just need some opinions.
Thanks,Darren #:)
16-01-2007, 12:05 PM
Who's a lucky boy ;D congrat's, wish I could come across some free money somehow -still waiting.
How well does the 4.2 suit you, would you like to go bigger? I have an option for a new 5.4m tinny (on the water) that would probably fit your payout ;) If you decided to blow it all on boating that is.
16-01-2007, 01:34 PM
remember that a 30 over a 20 is 50% more power, but in saying that if the boat will take 40 then 30HP is just about right and 40 would be good, but you do not want the outlay, so, go the 30HP and be happy with a 50% increase which is considerable.
Basil2
16-01-2007, 01:45 PM
G'Day Moater, a friend of mine has 4.2mtr ally craft with a 30hp yamaha tiller it gets along quite well with 2 people in it. If your looking for a console checkout "Tucker Services" on aerodrome rd caboolture 54956788. They make a standard console that you maybe able to use cost roughly $350-400. Have you considered a side console it won't take up as much room and probably wouldn't cost as much. You will have to balance the boat out with the fuel and live bait tank on the opposite side to the console so it rides level. Good luck with your project Basil2
Stubbie_Holder
16-01-2007, 03:59 PM
Hey Moater:
I used to have a Quinnie 420 Dory with a 30hp Yamaha, it got along very nicely with 2 people aboard. However after using mine quite a bit with 2 people I would agree with Basil 2 regarding a side console as room is definitely a factor with that size boat. Anyhow if you get the '30 you will be quite happy with the performance increase.
Stubbie!!
For comparison purposes, I run a 4.3 stessl with 50hp. It lopes along nicely. I wouldn't want anymore weight on the transom though. Mine has forward lockers/and platform to help balance the weight. I also have battery and fuel aft which doesn't help.
I'd go the 40. 30 seems a little underpowered to me for the kind of stuff I do.
16-01-2007, 04:09 PM
G'day moater, I have a 4.2 with a 30hp tohatsu, great for solo fishing, fast enough and very cheap to run.
Did 30 ks this am, 5km down river over bar, 10km up coast, then return, mostly at speed, cost me less than $10 in fuel. Just as well, caught no fish! ::)
No probs with 2 up, either.
16-01-2007, 06:07 PM
I owned a Quinnie 4.2 Dory for a couple of years with a Yammie 30 CV and it was great with two on board and some fishing gear. I'd only opt for a 40 if fishing with three or more regularly (which you indicate you won't be) or if its speed your after ;D
Custaro
16-01-2007, 09:10 PM
30hp should be plenty, though consider a 40hp. Go by the weight of the motor, if there is not much difference between 30 and 40 in the make you are looking at definitely go for the 40. If you use it sensibly it will save you in fuel costs later on plus will give you those extra horses required when loaded up with those big ones.
As your going to forward controls, and want to fish outside you should also consider putting an engine well in.
Good to see you spending your winnings wisely ;)
JEWIENEWIE
17-01-2007, 10:32 AM
Mate, i have a 4.2m stacer seahawk forard controls and is powered by a 30light weight merc brand new. I was very close to putting a 40 on her but after a test run and using it solidly for 6 months now the 30 light weight merc is great, I generally fish with two in the boat. I tested a similar boat with a forty on it and to tell yu the truth i couldnt open her right up as it was a bit bumpy on the water and it felt a bit over powered by the forty, couldnt see myself using the extra power of the forty in cost fishing situations. Go the 30, plenty of power cheaper to run to.
Jewie
17-01-2007, 12:25 PM
Mate thats exactly the rig I had up until mid last year when the guy I was halves with moved to Hervey Bay :o(
It goes just fine, we'd go from River heads ramp to western side of Fraser in about 15 minutes on the plane, so approximately 40Km/h I guess.
Fumes were a bastard though, for a few bucks more maybe a 4 stroke 40hp would be a good move ?
Russell
Red_Nut
17-01-2007, 12:30 PM
Team - I have the 4.2 Quinny WB Dory with a 30 Merc. I always fish with 2 in the boat, and sometimes it feels like a bit more power would be great. The 30 does the job nicely, as we don't usually fish with 4 in the boat. I have fished with 3 adults and a child in the tinny, and it was still ok with the 30, but the 40 would have been good in this instance.
After reading some of the posts above, I would agree that the 30 is sweet with one or two people in the boat. As for fuel usage, during the Barra Bounty last year I didn't use a full 25L tank over 2 days of moving around chasing fish.
My thoughts.
Ed.
TheSaint
17-01-2007, 04:49 PM
I would go the 40hp if i was you cause i run 30hp Merc on my 390 trophy hornet & I think that little extra would come in handy at times..
My friend has 06' Yamaha 40hp & think you would be more than happy with that on the rear of your boat!
moater
18-01-2007, 12:10 PM
G'day all,Thanks for your help...very valuable indeed!After reading replies and weighing it up I reckon that I'll go the way of a 30hp most likey,either merc,yamaha or tohatsu.I would like a slightly bigger boat FNQ but I reckon I'll be OK with the 4.2.I think an outboard well is definitely a good option too as it can cut up a bit down here in VIC and I'm not in a hurry to die!
Yeah a good win on the pokies but I wouldn't recommend them to anyone and I don't think I'll ever win as much in any gambling/competition...best to save your money:-)
Thanks for your help everyone...a top site this!
Mick King
18-01-2007, 10:10 PM
Gday Moater i have a 4.1 Quinnie dory Had a 30 cv yammie on it got along ok with me and the boy in it.It is a bit heavier than your factory as it optioned as a top ender. Put a 40 yammie on it as 30 got stolen. Sits a lot lower in the water at rest now. As someone else said take into consideration the wieght diferrence, there is about 30 kgs between the 30 and 40. I now wish i had just put the 30 3 cylinder on it. I wish you all the best which ever way you go. You have taken the time to ask ppls advice that have been around the traps for a while and from what i have seen the ppl on this site are open with there advice. All the best Mick.