View Full Version : BP round up pics.

11-01-2004, 11:22 AM
Peterbo3 with an ' edible ' Bass, Me with a Bass on Touchy's gear and the young ' Jack " with his first Yellowbelly.

all these fish were caught by ' salties '.

11-01-2004, 11:23 AM
meeeeeeeeeee

11-01-2004, 11:23 AM
and Jack

11-01-2004, 11:24 AM
It does appear that Jack is crying, maybe because I told him to throw it back. He wasn't going to as it was his first Yella and wanted to cook it up !

bugga !

Fisherman02
11-01-2004, 11:34 AM
and i was just thinking its amazing what u can do with computer graphics/effects
PHHHHHHIIIIIIIILLLLLL!!!
cheers jack

Gorilla_in_Manila
11-01-2004, 02:28 PM
Phil,
Maybe letting Jack eat that one complete with all the bloody fat round the guts, would have ensured he threw back every other one he ever gets in his life. ;) ;D
Jeff

Justme
13-01-2004, 04:48 PM
Jeff
You obviously don't know how to prepare a golden perch for the table ya big gorilla.
Larry

jeffo
18-01-2004, 05:05 AM
i can think of fish id sooner be eating... mackeral, snapper, sweetlip, parrot, whiting are all at the top of that list ;D but each to their own.

Gorilla_in_Manila
18-01-2004, 11:19 AM
Jeff
You obviously don't know how to prepare a golden perch for the table ya big gorilla.
Larry

Maybe its coz I cook everything with bananas. ;)

Would be interested to hear how Larry?

Had a fellow from a fishing shop in Casino telling me a detailed method.
It went something like this;
1. gut it immediately or keep alive in a net until ready to gut
2. dip straight into ice water to congeal the fat
3. scrape out fat from belly cavity
4. fillet and skin
5. sprinkle with salt and into the freezer for a week or so
6. then cook it with heaps of garlic, ginger and spices so there is not the remotest chance that you ever actually taste the fish.

I'm afraid all this well meant advice was summarised in my head as "Release ALL Yellowbelly". :D

Anyway, I'd be interested to hear how it should (or can) be done. Anyone else with any other tips?
Jeff
PS I've heard the axehead joke. ;)

caveman
18-01-2004, 03:58 PM
yellas r good eating if you get them without the fat in them the same as cod a good way to fix any off taste they have is to soak them in milk overnight

Justme
20-01-2004, 10:28 AM
Gill & gut em as soon as possible.
Put em in the fridge til they're really chilled then fillet & skin & remove all bones. While they're cold the fat is easy to remove because it is quite solid.
Flour & pan fry in clean oil & they are very acceptable.
Jeffo, I like your list of tucker too. I just wouldn't put mackeral at the head of the list. Also the fish you mention are not biting in the Condamine River at the moment.
Larry

Gorilla_in_Manila
20-01-2004, 12:03 PM
Thanks Larry and Caveman, might give them another shot.
Think I'd have to be pretty keen for a feed of fish though. ;)
Better all round if I get a redfin or three out of the system (if I can) and scoff them if I feel like a feed of freshies, and release the yellowbelly.
Grew up eating saltwater fish, so that might have something to do with my lack of enthusiasm for them.
Jeff

agnes_jack
20-01-2004, 12:13 PM
Im with you Jeff
Ive tryed yellas a couple of times, and ive yet to see anything worth all the fuss. Give me a salty anytime! [smiley=disappointed.gif] ;D ;D ;D

Justme
20-01-2004, 04:10 PM
Like I said before, the salties are just not bitin at the moment.
You buggers are spoilt.
Larry

Gorilla_in_Manila
20-01-2004, 09:32 PM
Hardship posting Chinchilla huh? :D

agnes_jack
21-01-2004, 06:53 AM
Larry
Ill cook up a nice slab of mangrove jack tonight, and think about ya while I eat it ;D ;D ;D ;D

Justme
21-01-2004, 12:52 PM
Gday Tony,
Thankyou for your kind thoughts. I can almost smell it cookin from here.
Until I visit your part of the world for my annual visit to the salty later this year I'll just have to stick to yella belly & chips.
There is a bonus but.
Yella belly heads & frames make first class crab bait.
All the best
Larry
PS
Would appreciate any news on the sale of the c/v park.

agnes_jack
22-01-2004, 11:19 AM
Gday Larry
Unfortunatly its all still going ahead mate >:( They have just published an artists impression sort of a thingy in the newspaper, Looks about exactly what you would immagine a replica of hastings st noosa would look like-Obnoxious! Work is tipped to start in july or august. They propose a 70-80 unit residential area and commercial precinct with sidewalk cafes and snob shops.
Once again the familys will be forced out to make way for the investors. Not good in my book at all. Sorry I dont have better news for you :'( :'(

Regards Tony

Justme
22-01-2004, 11:49 AM
Thanks Tony
Keep us posted hey
Larry
PS
Geez that jack tasted bloody good