View Full Version : Cania the week befor Christmas

davo
30-12-2005, 12:39 AM
After giving the punt a make over we decided to go to Cania for a trip.
It was our first trip up there.

Cania was excellent. We caught 10 saratoga for the week and heaps of bass, yellow belly, spangle perch, and even a big ell tail catfish.

The toga took a little working out as they weren't really on the bite but in the whole time there I saw 36 fish swimming around on the surface. It was a great buzz to see them. The biggest was 63cm and we caught them using all methods. On one day I even used an unweighted soft plastic on a worm hook to fool one. Cate as usual caught some nice yellows on spinnerbaits and by mistake discovered the best surface lure for togas. She had an overrun and the boat was drifting with her Rapala Fatrap on the end of her line. It must have been slowly wiggling on the surface when a toga grabbed it. After that she developed her technique and started to catch fish. I switched over and had similar success.

We met a local "expert" who continually went to the top of the dam each day for very little result. He said that soft plastics were no good here. Cate and I caught 90% of our bass on slider grubs about 50m off the boat ramp!!!! They were there plain as day on the sounder.

Cate with a yellowbelly

davo
30-12-2005, 12:40 AM
My 63cm Toga on a Fat Rap

davo
30-12-2005, 12:43 AM
The toga were shutdown on the bottom one day but Cate managed one on a softplastic with a leadhead jig

davo
30-12-2005, 12:46 AM
My first fish on an unweight softplastic

davo
30-12-2005, 12:48 AM
Cate with a nice 60cm toga on a Fat Rap again!

davo
30-12-2005, 12:50 AM
The punt after a new motor and mods

yellahunter
30-12-2005, 01:12 AM
how much did that rig cost u to setup etc,
looks good hey,

:) :)

davo
30-12-2005, 03:04 AM
The boat was about $1500 and that is with all the extras. It's a 3.6m Aquamaster cartopper. I repowered with a 9.8HP Tohatsu for $1850 and the electric motor was from a prior boat. Paul at Aquamaster is very good. His heavy duty model is not much more expensive than the cartopper and is very solid. The only reason I went for a cartopper is that I have a larger boat too and I wanted to cartop it and run a nice light weight engine. With Aquamaster because it's factory direct you get what you want and a good price and it's well built.

davo
30-12-2005, 03:06 AM
I've kept it basic but lightweight and functional

davo
30-12-2005, 03:08 AM
The new motor. I fished Cania for the week on 10litres of fuel. I'm still on 25:1 oil but it's going fine

yellahunter
30-12-2005, 03:22 AM
nice setup,

how many yellas u get up there and what was their average size like?

flickflack
30-12-2005, 06:28 AM
sounds like a great trip mate well done ;) ;)

Jeremy87
31-12-2005, 07:55 AM
Good to see a few larger toga. Interesting that the bass where still hanging just off the boat ramp. Personally i prefer the extra challenge of landing fish in timber so i also spent most of my time at the top of the dam and fished spinnerbaits. To say softies are no good in that dam is a little extreme, i also caught a good number of fish on plastics but a beetle spin blade did seem to bring them to the lure more oflen.

davo
31-12-2005, 07:20 PM
Actually spinnerbaits and beetle spins drew a blank on the bass up there. Mate the fish are where you find them. Why travel the distance for them when were that close?

davo
31-12-2005, 07:25 PM
We caught three yellowbelly but they were between 40-45cm. All were very lean fish and the one that we ate was excellent. One was caught on a spinnerbait, one on a rattling crank, one one the troll while having morning smoko.

caught-ya
06-01-2006, 04:47 PM
some nice yellowbelly and toga u caught, im hoping that i can catch some togas too.