View Full Version : 2 days on the Tully

Wild_Side
04-01-2006, 07:52 AM
Let me start by saying, happy new year to all the
ausfishers out there. :)
I was lucky enough too spend 2 days over new years
canoeing down the tully river chasing sooties and junglies.
We droped the canoes in at a place the locals call the
ski hole and lured down stream from there.
Although the fish were very lure shy to start off, they soon
warmed up when we reached areas that were more inaccessible
to the single day fisherman. The most productive areas where
aroud the fig trees that were dropping fruit.
All up we caught 92 sooty grunter, 15 J.P's, 8 tarpon and
8 barra.(all were released unharmed)
It was a great trip and we are already planning the next one!!! ;D ;D

Wild Side (Jason)

Girella
05-01-2006, 07:07 AM
Sounds like a great trip mate. Congratulations

I reckon I might give it a go myself if I'm ever up that way.

PK

flickflack
05-01-2006, 11:43 AM
That sounds like an awesome trip, we used to do trips like that heaps in South Africa chasing smallmouth bass in small inflatables.

young_315
15-01-2006, 06:27 PM
how was it camping on the river?