fishing spots around Cairns in FNQ if they could
leave a post on this thread that would be
great. thankyou ;)

TinarooTriumph
25-05-2006, 07:46 PM
Plenty of them mate.

Rivers = Mulgrave, Russell, Johnstone
Dams = Tinaroo, Copperlode, Koombooloomba, Quade

Just let us know if you need any more info mate... id be more then happy to help.

TinarooTriumph 8-)

Dodgy_Back
25-05-2006, 09:09 PM
I had a lot of fun at the Tully river over Christmas, chasing Sooty Grunters, just went and fished all the access points that the rafters use.

TinarooTriumph
25-05-2006, 09:29 PM
Dam, forgot about Tully! Wheres my head today ;D

Tully, Mossman, Daintree! It depends how far you are prepared to travel mate.

You got a boat for the impoundments up here mate?

TinarooTriumph 8-)

Dyl
25-05-2006, 09:47 PM
Thanks for that TinarooTriumph.

i am new to the hole freshwater fishing thing could you fill me in
on any good lures to use. And the signs to look for where the fish
are thankyou for your help TinarooTriumph look forward to receiving
some more info from you cheers Dylan ;)

TinarooTriumph
26-05-2006, 09:38 AM
G'day Dyl,

Well what fish are you thinking about targetting mate? Sooties? Perch? Barra? N-Toga'? Jacks? Plenty of good lures out there to use - just need to know what you'll be chasing.

TinarooTriumph 8-)

Dyl
28-05-2006, 07:26 PM
Thanks TinarooTriumph,

i am targeting Bara and perch
Cheers Dylan 8-)

TinarooTriumph
28-05-2006, 08:15 PM
G'day again mate,

For those impoundment Barra, your gonna need some tough rods and reels, and for those big barra, some entising lures. Grab some Predatek Vipers/Sandvipers, Rod Gaden Classics, Gold Bombers, and some Killalure Terminators in a range of diff colours. I find some brightish colours work well, and as we all should know, Gold is a barra colour, so get those Vipers and Bombers in goldish shades. Also Soft Plastics, some large Squidgie Slick Rigs in 'Drop Bear' colouration will do the trick, get them in 130mm for best results.

Perch... mhmm. Some Kokoda lures. Kokoda Lipples G-Vibes, Fat R's, and the new Kokoda Spinnerbaits. They are in-expensive lures that WILL catch. Go to Big-W to get them cheap - ET teamed up with Kokoda to put there lures on the scene, and they have ET Series lures on Big-W shelves, so you can pick up Kokoda lures for half price! Also the Surecatch Surebite Series lures will get ya some nice perch - Some poppers, some 80mm Minnows, they've got a good range. The Surebite series you can find dirt cheap now'a days as they are 'redundant', but get them anyway! They are good - aslong as you replace the rings on them!

I reckon that should do ya mate. Have a ball

Theo 8-)

Dyl
04-06-2006, 08:43 PM
Thanks for the info on that Theo
I went fishing today on the inlet and was bringing in the new gold bomber that
i bought from Cairns Tackle and Bait during there sale
the lure was a about 1metere away from me when a huge bara (Est 80cm)
swam past missing the lure by a couple of centimeters
So thanks for the info

Cheers Dylan ;)

TinarooTriumph
04-06-2006, 09:17 PM
No prob Dyl.

Brought a few gold bombers from the same sale on Saturday morning.

Unlucky about the Barra mate. But hey, thats fishing!

Theo 8-)

Dyl
04-06-2006, 09:42 PM
Thats Right Theo,

The sale was alright i also bought a new shimano reel for 60$ reduced from 120$
it was good o well. nice chatting to you theo

Ps: i might go down to the Mulgrave River on the weekend and hire a boat.
Could you tell me if there is some good spots round there and any that
can be resched on land

Cheers Dylan ;)

TinarooTriumph
05-06-2006, 04:49 PM
G'day again mate...

Mulgrave.. i havnt done a lot of fishing there mate, but... if your interested i can send you a link (i dont think i can post it, cos it wont work), but i can pm you a link to a website ran by a local who has ventured those area's quite abit and would be alot more knowledge-able then me when it comes to the coastal streams. He is a weekend user of AusFish (Gold Member), by the name of Bad_Bubby (Dan). He has posted a lot of pics and info up on all local coastal hotspots where he has fished.

If your after info before the weekend (as i think thats the only time he has access to a computer) then i can offer a little help.

What will you be chasing mate?.

Theo 8-)

manangatang
07-06-2006, 08:52 PM
bad bubby has a link you can go on his web site,if that helps,cheers.

TinarooTriumph
08-06-2006, 04:50 PM
Yep, Dyl check ya Inbox here on Ausfish mate, i sent you the link on Monday...

Theo 8-)

Dyl
10-06-2006, 10:45 AM
Thanks for the link theo