View Full Version : Monduran last weekend

eotbmg
30-07-2006, 08:48 AM
I had never fished the lake before, and intend on fishing it regularly over the coming months so i thought i had better do a trip up there ASAP. We found some warmer water in a shallow bay which was about 19.9 degrees and the Barra were there. We had a couple jump off which was dissapointing and we also got smashed up by a horse into a big Lantana snag. There was no chance to catch this guy, as soon as i knew i was on i was stitched up even though I am using 45 lb braid and a 60 lb knotted leader. Gee these things are like trains! We ended up catching a smaller one which was 70 cm. I will be back there as soon as i can.

eotbmg
30-07-2006, 08:48 AM
Barra

bdowdy
30-07-2006, 01:01 PM
:)good stuff, great shots ;)

Poseidon
30-07-2006, 02:56 PM
Well done, we were up there around 3 weeks ago for a few days and came up with zilch. Water temperature for most of the day didn't get above 17 degrees though we spent alot of time casting the smaller shallow bays. We travelled around alot to get familiar with the location for another trip hopefully later in the year. We didn't feel too bad as there were none being talked about in the camping ground each night.

All that timber must equate to some big fish in the warmer months.

Regards Cameron.

warrior
30-07-2006, 08:51 PM
fished there this time last year and finding the warmer bays was the key,we found some 20degrees and the fishwere there and on the chew,got 8 fish for the session and jumped of a few more not big fish but heaps of fun.

barradise
30-07-2006, 09:14 PM
The barra still have to eat, even in winter.

McCod
30-07-2006, 09:38 PM
Congrats on the barra eotbmg. I droped in on Wednesday arvo on the way back from Awoonga Dam. The barra where on the prod.... Great little 4 hr session.... water temp 19 to 21 deg 'C.

Cheers Les

eotbmg
31-07-2006, 08:31 AM
As soon as the weather warms up i will be going again. Sounds like its becoming a very good fishery, not unlike Awoonga a couple of years ago with the average fish a bit smaller with the odd couple of big beasts thrown in. Now the beast's are everywhere.Monduran can only get better as the fish grow in size and the stocking programs continue. Gee it's exciting!!!! And only 3.5 hrs from Buderim.

powderfingers
31-07-2006, 01:32 PM
It should be real good fishing there this year from september onwards, we have had a pretty cold winter so it will take time before it warms up.
The only worry is the amount of traffic on the boat ramps and in the water!

powderfingers
31-07-2006, 01:33 PM
Nice photos!

powderfingers
31-07-2006, 01:42 PM
Any other recent reports?

matt_w
26-08-2006, 10:10 AM
Has any one got recent reports on Monduran if so I would like to hear of them. I cant wait for the warm weather to kick again to fire up the Barra. Does anyone know if the dam is stocked yearly with fingerlings.

beatle
27-08-2006, 07:54 AM
I am going up to Monduran late Oct. any other Ausfishers going around that time (27,28,29,30 Oct.)

eotbmg
27-08-2006, 08:10 AM
Mate drop the guys at Bundy Tackle World an email
fish@saltys.net and they will tell you what you want to hear. I am going up on the 8th 9th and 10th of September and then the weekend after that so i will be able to give some up to date reports

mitch_05
01-09-2006, 07:34 PM
nice barra and sunset pic [smiley=thumbup.gif]

mylestom
01-09-2006, 09:36 PM
Will be up there from 2 to 15 Oct. Yeah know that comp is on that last weekend.

But taking brother up for his first trip and its when he gets his holidays.

You will find us rite up the back in one of the bays. Rite in the sticks.

Trev

black_sheep
04-09-2006, 02:39 PM
Good fishing - no certainty with Monduran. We have fished this dam on days that you would think are perfect. No breeze at all and steamy hot sessions of 35 degrees plus. Gees, we have even found bays that have close to 35 degrees water (way too warm for Barra). We have barely been able to catch a catty. Yet on other trips, it's blown a 30k cold SE'er, rained and overcast and we've had good success.

Basically, if you have line in the water you have a chance - regardless of conditions.

eotbmg
04-09-2006, 04:58 PM
I am heading off for another session this weekend-cant wait. 4 sleeps to go!!!

gunna
04-09-2006, 05:05 PM
Make sure you let us know how you go. I will be up there in 6 - 7 weeks.