PDA

View Full Version : Small Sharks Sydney Harbour

curleyweirdo
22-01-2002, 09:50 PM
This is my first time i have ever been interested in sharks, and i am excited

The area i wanna try is the upper reaches of Middle harbour, Which is the water way that is connected to the Main Sydney harbour.
For ages i have been told by my dad and other ppl that the uppper reaches of the harbour are the breeding ground for a number of sharks.
Including whalers, Bull, and hammer heads.

Am i on the right track??

SO considering this i am intending to try my luck at a place called Bantry Bay which is nearlly the furthest up the back waters taht you can go.

AS the tale goes the sharks swim up to the back waters and lay there pups and the small sharks then just chilll and swim around there untill they get bigger and then they start to move off.

I intend to fish for the smaller sized sharks
up to about 6 foot very very max~ ..Probably more 3-5 ft
I am intending targeting either lil whalers, gummmies,bulls or hammerheads that aer said to live up there.

As you may hae noticed this is abit of hear say, so i will give some evidence, a while ago a 3.5 m female bull or whaler was caught just at the entrance near middle head...so they are around

As i said i intend targeting the smaller sharks and will be fishing of my dadss yacht orpossibly th e wharf using a 2.5m medium action pen powerstick with a Abu Ambassader overhead spooled with 9kg line.

Just today i bought some 124 pound single strand game whire[ stainless steel] and two mustard big gun 12/0 hooks.
I intend to be fishing a fillet of fresh mullet a couple of metres down under a ballon float for most of the night.

My questions are...
Is my setup able to catch the intended sized sharks?

Is the mullet fillet a good bait ?

Have i forgotten anything?

Is a berly trail worth while?
I am considering using a large bag of pilchards and some bread and some tuna oil for the berly.
Is this a good combo?
If not what do you ppl use ??