PDA

View Full Version : Tell me about "the Pin"

Sweetlip
04-04-2002, 02:26 PM
Guys;

I am a three month newbie to boating and would like to try fishing at Jumpinpin but know very little about it other than you go from Jacob's Well to get there and that it has a great reputation for bream. So here are some really dumb questions...

Where exactly does one fish there? On Kalinga Bank?

I hear that the current runs very strong there. Does that mean that we are talking about dirty big sinkers.

Any safety issues with the current? Can I approach the Pin from any direction?

What is underneath? Sand? Grass? rocks, trees ?? Does a Danforth anchor do the job?

All advice gratefully accepted.

Sweetlip

aquarius
04-04-2002, 09:32 PM
http://www.ausfish.com.au/chat/images/smilies/cwm11.gifHi Sweetlip......Put your boat in at Cabbage Tree Point......its the closest ramp to the pin......yes the tide rips through the pin area........incoming your pretty safe just watch the outgoing....you will be outside in no time !!
I ve fished around the bar severel times but find it much safer to anchor up either at the bottom of crusoe or short Islands.
The bottom structure consists of sand ,mud and some snaggy areas........just a sand anchor will be fine.
Hope this info is of some use to you.
Cheers #Brent http://www.ausfish.com.au/chat/images/smilies/cwm9.gif

Sweetlip
05-04-2002, 03:12 AM
Thanks Brent. I appreciate the advice.

Sweetlip

Touchy - R.I.P.
05-04-2002, 04:28 PM