PDA

View Full Version : Nullarbor Fishing

PVG
03-05-2002, 02:10 PM
Over August/September I will be cycling from Perth to Adelaide with some friends. I am interested in doing some fishing on the way. Being reluctunat to cycle about 60 kms (return trip) from the Highway, I was after some good beach locations on the way. Have browsed the net and looked at bookshops, etc, but cannot find any good info. If you know of any good locations on the way across the Nullarbor or books, videos, etc, I would appreciate the help.

Volvo
03-05-2002, 10:27 PM
:oCycling, keen give that much. How ya gunna ferry your fishin gear??.

PVG
04-05-2002, 05:58 AM
Well, this is my first attempt at fishing..... I have been reading a bit about it, talked to a few people and checked out a few shops. I was going to get a 10 foot rod that splits in half. I will be constructing a trailer for the bike and was thinking of putting a pvc tube on the side. The rest is not a problem. I would want to keep it to a minimum, but the trailer will be about an Engel fridge size and would be able to carry about 40kgs.

I do not intend to catch that 'big one'. More to get some fresh fish for dinner and enjoy the beaches and the fish.

Slates
04-05-2002, 09:45 AM
G'day PVG.
Never done it, but would love to!
Yonks ago there was an article in Rex Hunt's old mag about fishing the Nullabour (or near-by area) in the surf. I'm pretty sure Steve Starling wrote it, but can't be sure.

I can remember that in some areas you need to seek permission from the local aboriginal elder to cross the land to the ocean.

Sorry I can't be of more assistance.

Good luck!!

Cheers, Slates

PVG
04-05-2002, 09:48 AM
Thanks Slates for the suggestion and the tip about Aboriginal Land.

jezza
06-05-2002, 07:33 AM