PDA

View Full Version : trolling for flathead?

adza
25-08-2001, 12:08 PM
Hi I am new to the art of trolling lures and I am after some advice, like the best lures, time, tides and lunar phases to catch some flathead.
I will mainly be fishing at pine river and Donnybrook.
Any help would be appreciated.

# # # # # # # # # # # # # # adza 8)

Luke
25-08-2001, 01:08 PM
I've caught more flathead on lures than with bait-I think it's because I can be lazy with bait.I've used Mann stretch range with best success(grey ghosts seem good) and rmg's, but anything that gets close enough should be good enough.Kick up a bit of sand on the way through.

Brett_Finger
27-08-2001, 07:37 AM
Adza,
Try the usual places for lizards,along dropoff on the going out tide is a good place to start ;D
the manns desert sunset has been a fantastic lure for me when targeting these fellas!!
Hookin, Brett

Touchy - R.I.P.
28-08-2001, 12:13 PM
If you are trolling round the 2 to 6ft depths(cross sand banks)run a crawdad a fair way back behind your main lures,quite a lot of the lures closer to the boat will wake up a fish & when the tailend crawdad comes bumping along you can pickup a fish or two with it,I like the red/black or orange/black if you can get them plus when you go round a corner the tailender will cut across a bank into water you would think would'nt hold a fish,it's supprising how shallow some flattie will be hiding.Cheers Touchy.

Brian
01-09-2001, 07:21 AM
Hi,

Trolling for the speedy fella is a top past time and donnybrook is my area to fish although i will be giving the pine area a huge workout this summer as our club is looking at a possible tagging project in this system. Want to get the low down on the fish there ;D

I agree with whats been posted but try an support the Aussie lure industry as there are plenty of top lizard lures to select from.

If your interested in linking up to toss a line or two at some lizards leave a message so i can contact you.

davo
14-09-2001, 04:55 PM