PDA

View Full Version : Crab Pot Bait

Wayne
23-01-2002, 07:06 AM
I would be interested to know what your favourite Crab Pot Bait is for both Muddies and Sandies. It used to be that mullet was always the best but nowdays it seems people are using any kind of bait from Pillies to Chooks. Also, it would be good to know what doesn't work. There was a theory that reef fish frames should be avoided. What do ya recon. Cheers.

Slates
23-01-2002, 08:32 AM
G'day Wayne.
I heard red fish (reef fish) were the best!! ???
ha!
There goes that theory!
Personally, I've caught them using live bait (rod and reel), liver, dog bones and just about any fish carcass.

I don't do it very often, so I am no expert.
Interesting to see others comments.

Cheers, Slates

jaybee
23-01-2002, 10:10 AM
My bro down bruns does well with the muddies in the river..he uses whatever is on the reef at the time..mackeral, snapper, cobia, head or frames you name it..or whatever he is catching in the river. When he was living up here we found squire frames excellent bait in the brisbane river and the bay for muddies n sandies... I have also heard that cans of fish with holes in the can also catch em..havent tried it tho...getting of the crabs tho..a few years ago up blackall my older brother sent me off to catch shrimp and yabbies to catch some yellow bellie..he loaded me up with a heap o fresh meat..i met an old aboriginal living on the side of the creek..right or wrong he wanted to swap the meat for a 20 ltr drum of live shrimp he had just caught..guess he was sick of eating fish :P his bait was a piece of sunlight soap...tied into the drum.

krazyfisher
23-01-2002, 03:21 PM
FISH FRAMES any and all they do say not to used fish that are prediators but I use any frames

Roman
23-01-2002, 04:37 PM
Can someone tell me what you guys mean by fish frames?

Volvo
23-01-2002, 11:20 PM