PDA

View Full Version : Which Plotter

skippa
08-11-2005, 08:22 PM
Time to upgrade the old lowrance hand held gps, just too small to read on a bumpy sea. Would love to hear any feedback from current owners of chart plotters. Plus which charts are better.

Partial to lowrance products atm, had many sounders (and the old gps too) so have good knowledge of the lowrance menus etc

Thanks guys,
Tony 8-)

ianspain
09-11-2005, 04:41 PM
Hey, Im new to boating so cant offer an expert opinion, but i just bought a lowrance 3500c with full east coast maps from Bias boating at Tingalpa and i am well pleased with the unit. It offers about the best resolution of anything in the price range, and even a novice like me has been out in the bay a few times using it and returned home safely!!..Dont know if this is any help to you mate...ps..anyone spots a little blue/white haines half cab bobbing about off wynnum/manly..feel free to pop over and show a pom how to fish!!
Regards
Ian

skippa
09-11-2005, 06:24 PM
Thanks Ian,

Actually thats the unit I was looking at 2. Went to Bias at tingalpa today but they had closed, bugger >:(

If ya don't mind how much was the unit?

If I see ya on the water I'll give ya a yell

Thanks,
Tony 8-)

HOOKLINEnSINKER
09-11-2005, 08:10 PM
iam looking for a unit as well. so rang around for the model i want a gps/sounder garmin 178c. but they all have the same fixed price and costs 600 bucks less if i get it in the states. so if i were you and you have a price limit , go via the states youll get double your moneys worth. one of them said if it breaks i have to send it to the states to get fixed...who cares at a $600 saving i could get someone local to fix it and still save loads. good luck daniel

skippa
09-11-2005, 09:03 PM
Yeah thanks Daniel,

Considering all options at the moment. A few of the guys here buy direct from the states, will have to investigate a bit further. Still like the lowrance tho.