PDA

View Full Version : New to GPS

bcb20
23-11-2005, 02:42 PM
I'm new to GPS and wanting to get some advice. I have looked at numerous brands, mainly Garmin and Raymarine, but don't really know enough to make and informed decision, and don't really trust salesman too much.

I've been looking at the Garmin 76 or 76S and the Raymarine 400. Preference is for colour, but budget will dictate that. Also I've looked at sites in the US, and even with exchange rate, shipping, etc. still work out cheaper than retail here. Bit concerned about warranty/service issues though......

Anyone have any thoughts??????

Owen
24-11-2005, 05:08 PM
G'day BCB20,
I can't comment on the model(s) you quote, but I just got a Garmin GPSMAP 178C and the GPS functions and detail on the Bluechart are pretty amazing.
To me the interface is extremely easy to use.
I haven't had any other units to compare it with, but for the most part I didn't need the manual to figure out what everything did.
Pity Garmin didn't make my VCR! Had it for two years and still can't figure out how to get it to record the right channel at the right time :-[
If I'd had the room I'd definately have gone for two seperate units as running in split screen mode makes things a bit small, but I knew that'd be the case so it's not something I can complain about.

cheers,

Owen

propdinger
24-11-2005, 07:20 PM
i prefer the garmins over raymarine for ease of use and detail just seems so much better. i just bought a 172c with bluechart which has really made life so much easier yesterday we could hit the same pinnacle within a few feet of where we passed over it a few minutes ago they are just a easy and mostly reliable unit imo.

cheers
jeff
p.s i have had raymarine (with chart) and navman and would never go back unless they really make a better one

redspeckle
25-11-2005, 08:27 AM
bcb20