View Full Version : Fraser Is. here we come
ANYFISH
24-10-2005, 09:03 PM
Well it has been a bit of a weight but i am off to fraser on saturday.
I am staying with a few mates that have got a house at orchid beach for a week.
I will be driving a white holden rodeo towing a 4.55m quintrex side consile, with big tyres and newly painted black guards on the trailer.
Come and say gday if you se us getting about. And have #beer or 2 ;D ;D
I hope the weather plays the game and we get a few days out wide. (it will have to be pretty good to get out wide in my boat)
Hope to see some ausfishers up there
Cheers ANYFISH
Good luck anyfish, you'll have a great time no doubt. Watch that inskip sand and the indian head cut in. 12 psi :)
Expect some current on the reefs also, i found a heavy ball sinker rig to the hooks was easier to floatline out in the heavy current. Almost needed a few house bricks to keep the patternosta straight.
sempre
24-10-2005, 09:25 PM
good luck boys,wish i was going too :'( :'( :'(
sam....
ANYFISH
24-10-2005, 09:28 PM
Thanks JB
The tow up will be made a bit easier with two cruisers to give me a tow if needed. You gotta love that low tyre pressure ;)
Thanks for the tips on the rigs. I will give the big ball sinker a go.
Cheers Anyfish
Brejen
24-10-2005, 09:41 PM
Have a ball boyz, real hard not to up there.
When we where up there 2wks back the road up the middle was real good. The sand around Hook point was deep and soft and full of weed even at half tide so be carefull there. Look forward to a full report.
ANYFISH
24-10-2005, 09:46 PM
What sort of fish do you blokes think will be around up there offshore (15-20K)at this time of year?
Do you reckon 50lb braid will stop most things?
Anyfish
sempre
24-10-2005, 10:01 PM
Most of your catch is likely to be parrot,job fish,wire netting cod,husser and the like.You can catch reds that close but, they dont seem to be in any great numbers close in.It depends on how far you want to travel, or more importantly how far the weather lets you.
sam...
Brejen
24-10-2005, 10:03 PM
No. Mate we where using anything from 30-50lb and could not stop most stuff, only the smaller ones came aboard. Snapped a 15kg rod, straightened hooks, lost gear spooled reels, what a ball. We were about 17k's north of Waddy. SOme of the other boyz where fishing the Gardners and were getting everything possible they were using 80lb. Next trip up i will not be going so light.
Even the locals told us heavy, heavy, heavy.
World of it's own.
I have never been bricked so hard and so often as this mark we were on. Go get em.
ANYFISH
24-10-2005, 10:15 PM
WELL sh!t
Looks like a trip to the tackle shop is in order. I don't know weather the tld 20 will handle 80lb line though....
Only 5 more sleeps to go!!
Thanks Sam i can check up on the rules and id the fish we are likely to be catching before we go now.
thanks
Anyfish
sempre
24-10-2005, 10:29 PM
Im not sure about this but check the ban on keeping coral reef fin fish at this time of year around the new moon. I havent been up there this time of year so have never looked into it.I could be horribly wrong....ANY HELP.....
ANYFISH
24-10-2005, 10:41 PM
yep already looked at that.
We can't fish north of 24degrees 50 minutes(spelling) for the whole time we are there, excluding the last day.
I hope to cover a bit of ground and find a couple of good spots south of that line while i am up there
cheers anyfish
Brejen
24-10-2005, 10:42 PM
Mate you could catch near anything up there. We saw Reds, Parrot , Snapper, Cobia, Perlies, AJ's, Coral trout, Fingermark, few types of Cod, Sharks. Mate don't forget the Tailor as well. We were getting some monsters in the gutter where you launch the boats late arvo, also got a few off the headland at WAddy. Mate the line your using might do the trick but for me i'll be using nothing under 80lb next trip.
24-10-2005, 10:58 PM
some marks are overrun with rubbish like ajs and sharks, dont get carried away thinking you need more than 50 for reefys. youll find out pretty quick that snags will take on a new meaning.
chemmy
24-10-2005, 11:14 PM
have a ball and wait for it, wait for it take plenty of pics ;D
Robs on the money there, i was using 65pd braid and i found it more than enough.
ANYFISH
25-10-2005, 06:25 PM
Thanks mackmauler and JB i will give the 50lb a go
Chemmy i hope to take some photoes of glassy seas and big fish ;D ;D
Is there any AUSFISHER'S #heading up there next week? #We don't want to drink all by ourselves. Might have to go out and meet some locals to have a couple of golds with ;D ;D
Only 4 more sleeps
ANYFISH
25-10-2005, 08:00 PM
I will be there, but ! DOH ! I work at Kingfisher Bay Resort. Bugga ! wrong side of the Island !
I only used 30lb Braid on my many trips to the close reefs and Gardners. Only lost one fish, that was straight after boating a 8kg Red. Good rod, good technic, good line and right drag settings should see you through !
Have fun
ANYFISH
26-10-2005, 05:13 PM
Gday phill
We might be coming down to kingfisher for the melbourne cup on tuesday.
Where do you work there?
gawby
27-10-2005, 08:04 PM
One sleep to go anyfish.
Good luck
Graeme
ANYFISH
27-10-2005, 09:02 PM
Thanks Graeme
Will give a report of flat seas and monster fish wen we get home.
We might even take some picks for chemmy ;D
Gotta go pack
Back in a week