View Full Version : Norwegean going to Australia:D
Borre
09-08-2006, 08:25 PM
Hi! On Oct. 24. I'm on my way to Australia. I'm going on a 1 year "work and travel" tour, and plan to stay in Southern Queensland (not quite decided yet). Been fishing since I could walk, all kinds of fishing. Fly,jerkbait, spin, baitfishig, deepsee, you name it! I was hoping to get some pointers here in this forum :) Also, I'm looking for a job, probably my final destination will be decided out from where I can get a job, and I was hoping that my job could have something to do with fishing ;)
I'm from Norway, as you can read from the topic, 21 years old, travelling with my girlfriend, currently working in the biggest hardware-store i Norway. Involved in economy, sales, marketing and IT. I make lots of money at my current job, but I want to do something different. So my girlfriend and I immediately though; AUSTALIA! ;D And so we did. Tickets are booked for flight and we are all set to go:) If you, anyone, needs a helping hand in a tackleshop or something related to fishing, I'm VERY interested. I speak fluently english, better than my writing ::) , and have good experience from sales and running a shop. Big paycheck NOT nessesary! :)
Feel free to send me an e-mail, wich i think should be displayed?
Greetings from Norway! (for now 8-) )
Yours in fishing
Tomas Andersen
serene_lady
09-08-2006, 08:53 PM
Gooday Mate, Have a look at the Hervey Bay Fraser Island area, we have just about every type of fishing here, I wont go into all the details here but if you look up H ervey Bay on the net you will see what is on offer here. I dont know how you would go about work, but Hervey Bay is the 4th fastest growing city in Australia and there is a lot of work about. Bob.
Borre
09-08-2006, 10:48 PM
Thank you for that reply :) Hervey Bay looks really nice!
major-defect
09-08-2006, 11:46 PM
A lot of backpackers come and work on the banana farms in Tully north Queensland,things should be pretty well in full swing again after the cyclone.Good fishing in N.Q.
Borre
10-08-2006, 12:53 AM
Picking bananas is probably not on the top of my "things to do before I die" list, but surely a good suggestion major-defect ;)
If i was to get myself an apartment around Hervey Bay, where should I look?
Sites on the internet?
What can I expect if I want to spend about 800 Australian dollars pr. month for rent? Quality?
And; if someone needs a helping hand around the Hervey Bay area, let me know :)
10-08-2006, 05:45 AM
G'day borre
As for real estate, a good natoinal site is www.realestate.com.au
Has heaps of listings and a good place to start searching there.
Daver
Burley_Boy
10-08-2006, 06:57 PM
Welcome down mate. #;)
tjenare kompis...
Where in Norway are you from?
You'll find work for sure but easier once you're here.
Same goes for rentals but you can certainly check the local papers on the internet. Share accomodation is probably the way to go to easily get in and out and not pay a fortune and thats commonly advertised in the papers.
Realize that once you're north of Nosa just north of Brisbane you are out of the surf beaches as Frazer island and the reef stops any surf and the beaches change from sand to coarse gravel then south of this you have Moreton Island outside of Brisbane until you get to the fabulous Gold Coast ;D ;D ;D where we have the beaches and the sun and the nightlife. Then south of us comes Byron Bay and the hippies in northen NSW, worth a look.
Many people on this site are Gold Coast to Brisbane based.
Enjoy your stay.
...................Austalia :o :o :o :o
You better check your ticket ;D
Adamy
11-08-2006, 09:10 AM
Hi Borre... welcome to the site... and eventually Australia. I think you will like the fishing - but on the job front - its pretty tough getting into the fishing industry - even in a tackle shop - but you never know.
Also retail doesnt pay very well here.... while labouring jobs pay quite well. Banana picking might not sound fun - but it has demand (probably... I wouldnt know I dont live up north - but it should as the farmers are in a hurry to take advantage of high banana prices). There are heaps of other jobs around though so you shouldnt have a problem.... if you have the visa etc. if not you better keep it on the low... go pick bananas or strawberries or other typical backpacker type jobs.
Enjoy your stay and you've found a great place here (Ausfish) - plenty of people willing to show you around and help you get on to the local piscatorial wildlife.
Borre
11-08-2006, 05:07 PM
Burley-boy; I'm from a city called Gjovik. We hosted the winter olympics in -94 together with Lillehammer if that tells you anything:)
I have my visa in place, no problem there. I'm probably just going to take the first job that I can get my hands on. And use my spare time fishing :) Most likely my girlfriend and I will go to the area around Frasier Island, so if anyone lives in that area and wants to take a norwegan viking fishing, be in touch ;) I'll probably not afford buying a boat, so I would really be glad if someone could take me out some day ::) .
Please write more replies, I really get a lot of useful information here!
Thanks!
Tomas Andersen
Burley_Boy
11-08-2006, 08:52 PM
I supplied lighting equipment for Lillehammer in 94 so yes i know it well but not Gjovik.
BB
Borre
11-08-2006, 09:14 PM
And might i add; Lillehammer was well lit up ;)
Burley_boy; where in Australia do you live?
major-defect
12-08-2006, 08:06 AM
If you do end up this way on the bananas give me a yell i'll take ya for a run.
Burley_Boy
13-08-2006, 08:01 PM
Gold Coast ;)
Alex9797
14-08-2006, 04:48 PM
Hey Thomas,
I work at the University of Queensland where we have the following website www.accommodation.uq.edu.au # . Its got heaps of information that you may find useful as well as listings of share accommodation.
Alex
hussy
15-08-2006, 06:43 PM
hey thomas how hard was it getting a working visa? .be prepared for some hot weather, it starts to heat up in october. best of luck.
hubby
Borre
16-08-2006, 05:02 PM
Hubby: It was pretty easy. Atlantis is a company that can get you a working visa. This visa allows me to work for 6 months at each empoyer. Until 1.july 2006 you were allowed to work for only 3 months at each place but this was extended to 6 months. I pay my 27% taxes to Australia and 9% to Norway. This may sound really bad, but still it's MUCH better than Norway, where I pay about 45% taxes :o
major-defect
17-08-2006, 01:10 PM
Hey Borre you said you wanted to do something different to what you've been doing and you can't say bananas wouldn't be different.It's never boring for long there's always something[snake,spider huge green frogs,rats etc] comes along to liven things up.LOL.
major-defect
17-08-2006, 01:22 PM
Oops and I forgot the drop bears they really liven things up.
Borre
17-08-2006, 06:01 PM
I will probably crap myself and die before a snake or spider even sting me.. :P
Bananas are for eating, not picking ;)
snapperbasher
12-09-2006, 04:30 PM
We have a norwegian au pair living with us at the moment. She came over in February & loves it over here. She is not looking forward to going home. She also loves fishing so she has enjoyed going out on the boat.
NEWBY
12-09-2006, 07:30 PM
I have a car dealership 550klm north of Brisbane and often have detailing/car washers jobs available if it helps. also have a 35'Bertram and would be happy to take you out for a fish if ya get up this way.
Burley_Boy
14-09-2006, 07:19 PM
hmm newbie, not too shabby an offer but if he won't pick bananas will he wash cars ;D ;D ;D